Veronica Cenac

Veronica Cenac joined the Legal Network’s board of directors in 2015.

Veronica is an Attorney-at-Law in Saint Lucia. She has over 17 years’ experience in legal work, including civil litigation, public law, constitutional law, immigration law, labour law, human rights law (with a focus on refugees and HIV and AIDS), and real estate and corporate law. Following a six-year term as Crown Attorney, Veronica established her own legal practice, through which she is committed to providing pro bono legal services to people living with HIV, the LGBTI community in Saint Lucia, and regional networks such as the Caribbean Regional Network of People Living with HIV (CRN+) and the Caribbean Vulnerable Communities Coalition (CVC).

In addition to a full court schedule, Veronica has led many consultancies, legal process and assessments for local, regional and international agencies, including UNAIDS, United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), Pan American Health Organization (PAHO), CARICOM/PANCAP, Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS), and the governments of Saint Lucia, St. Kitts and Nevis, among others. She has also served on the Constitutional Reform Commission, reviewing the 1979 Constitution of Saint Lucia.

Currently, Veronica serves as Board Member for the AIDS Action Foundation (AAF) and for CVC. She also serves in an advisory capacity on legal and technical issues for the Regional Coordinating Mechanism of the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States Global Fund Project, and is a member of the UNAIDS Reference Group on HIV and Human Rights.

Veronica holds an LL.B (Hons.) from the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, Barbados, a Legal Education Certificate (L.E.C.) (Bar qualification) from the Sir Hugh Wooding Law School in Trinidad and Tobago and a Masters of Law (LLM) from McGill University in Montréal, Canada.

This entry was posted in Board Member, English, French. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Veronica Cenac

Veronica Cenac s’est jointe au conseil d’administration du Réseau juridique en 2015.

Veronica est avocate à Sainte-Lucie. Elle détient plus de 17 années d’expérience en droit, notamment en contentieux civil, en droit public et constitutionnel, en droit de l’immigration, du travail et des droits humains (avec un point de mire sur les réfugiés et le VIH/sida), et en droit de l’immobilier et des sociétés. Après un mandat de six ans à titre de procureure de la Couronne, elle a fondé sa propre pratique juridique, par laquelle elle est engagée à fournir des services juridiques pro bono aux personnes vivant avec le VIH, à la communauté LGBTI de Sainte-Lucie et à des réseaux régionaux tels que le Réseau caraïbe des personnes vivant avec le VIH (CRN+) et la Coalition des communautés vulnérables de la Caraïbe (CVC).

En plus de son horaire complet à la cour, Veronica a dirigé plusieurs consultations, processus juridiques et évaluations pour des organismes locaux, régionaux et internationaux, notamment l’ONUSIDA, le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement (PNUD), la Pan American Health Organization (PAHO), la CARICOM/PANCAP, l’Organisation des États de la Caraïbe orientale (OECS) et les gouvernements de Sainte-Lucie et de Saint-Kitts-et-Nevis, entre autres. Elle a également siégé à la Commission de réforme constitutionnelle ayant examiné la Constitution de 1979 de Sainte-Lucie.

À l’heure actuelle, Veronica est membre du conseil d’administration de l’AIDS Action Foundation (AAF) et de la CVC. Elle fournit des conseils juridiques et techniques à l’Instance de coordination régionale du Projet de l’OECS pour le Fonds mondial, en plus de siéger au Groupe de référence de l’ONUSIDA sur le VIH et les droits de l’homme.

Veronica est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en droit (avec distinction) de l’University of the West Indies, Campus Cave Hill, en Barbade, d’un certificat d’éducation juridique (L.E.C.) (qualification pour le Barreau) de l’École de droit Sir Hugh Wooding à Trinité-et-Tobago, et d’une maîtrise en droit (LLM) de l’Université McGill à Montréal, Canada.

Cet article a été publié dans Board Member, Anglais, Français. Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.