UN rights experts criticize Canada’s failure to end racist drug policies affecting Black and Indigenous people

TORONTO, August 28, 2017 — The Government of Canada must take immediate steps to implement recommendations by the United Nations’ highest body for combatting racism calling for an end to punitive drug policies that disproportionately impact Black and Indigenous Peoples, the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network said today.

In its Concluding Observations on its review of Canada, which occurred from August 14–15, 2017, the UN Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD) expressed serious concern about the disproportionately high rate of incarceration of Indigenous and Black people for drug crimes in Canada — a violation of the government’s obligations under the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination. The expert body called on Canada to re-examine its drug policies and provide evidence-based alternatives to incarceration for non-violent drug users.

This entry was posted in Discrimination, Drug policy, English, French, News, Our Work, Prisons, Pub Language. Publication Topics: , , . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
Author
Topics
Language

Des experts des droits de l’ONU critiquent l’échec du Canada à abolir ses politiques racistes sur les drogues qui affectent les personnes noires et autochtones

TORONTO, 28 août 2017 – Le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida a déclaré aujourd’hui que le Gouvernement du Canada doit adopter des mesures immédiates pour mettre en oeuvre les recommandations de la plus haute instance onusienne de lutte contre le racisme, qui demande de mettre fin aux politiques punitives sur les drogues affectant de manière disproportionnée les personnes noires et autochtones.

Dans ses Observations finales concernant l’examen du Canada, réalisé les 14 et 15 août 2017, le Comité des Nations Unies pour l’élimination de la discrimination raciale (CERD) exprime de vives préoccupations quant au taux disproportionné d’incarcération de personnes autochtones et noires pour des infractions liées aux drogues au Canada – une violation des obligations du gouvernement en vertu de la Convention internationale sur l’élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination raciale. Le comité expert appelle le Canada à réexaminer ses politiques sur les drogues et à offrir des avenues de rechange à l’incarcération pour les utilisateurs de drogues non violents.

Cet article a été publié dans Discrimination, Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Français, News, Our Work, Prisons, Pub Language. Publication Topics: , , . Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.
Auteur
Sujet
Langue