Tuberculosis, Stigma and Drug Control: A case from Russia

By Mikhail Golichenko, Senior Policy Analyst, Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network

February 4, 2016

In December 2015, I attended a judicial workshop on human rights and tuberculosis (TB) organized by the University of Chicago Center in Delhi. It was a great gathering of civil society activists, judges, lawyers and medical practitioners from more than ten countries including Australia, Canada, Russia and South Africa. Participants discussed the legal and human rights challenges concerning TB, including the human rights of the most vulnerable populations, which very often overlap with populations of people living with or vulnerable to HIV. Stigma and discrimination were among the topics of the two-day discussion. I shared my long experience with a case which represents one of the clearest examples of how stigma and discrimination against people who use drugs, people living with HIV and people living with TB feed into the state’s inability to ensure an adequate response to TB.

I wrote this piece [edited in English for clarity] on behalf of the Moscow-based Andrey Rylkov Foundation (ARF) over a year ago, but the issue is still current and just as important. The original text is published in Russian on the ARF website.

ARF is a long-time strategic litigation partner of the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network in Russia. I wrote the piece with great respect and sympathy for all the civil society activists in Moscow, Yekaterinburg and other Russian cities who continue fighting for the human rights of vulnerable populations in Russia.

This entry was posted in Blog, Drug policy, Our Work, Russia and Rights. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Tuberculose, stigmatisation et contrôle des drogues: un cas pratique en Russie

Par Mikhail Golichenko, analyste principal des politiques au Réseau juridique canadian VIH/sida

le 4 février 2016

En décembre 2015, j’ai assisté à un atelier judiciaire sur les droits humains et la tuberculose (TB) organisé par l’Université de Chicago Center à Delhi. Ce fut une belle rencontre de militants de la société civile, de juges, d’avocats et de médecins de plus de dix pays différents, notamment de l’Australie, du Canada, de la Russie et de l’Afrique du Sud. Les participants ont discuté des défis juridiques et de droits humains liés à la TB, y compris des droits humains des populations les plus vulnérables à la TB, soit des populations qui recoupent souvent celles qui vivent avec le VIH ou qui y sont vulnérables. La stigmatisation et la discrimination ont fait partie des sujets discutés au cours de cette discussion de deux jours. J’ai parlé de ma longue implication dans une affaire qui est l’un des meilleurs exemples de la façon dont la stigmatisation et la discrimination à l’égard des personnes qui utilisent des drogues, des personnes vivant avec le VIH et des personnes vivant avec la TB alimentent l’incapacité de l’État de répondre adéquatement à la TB.

J’ai rédigé cet article (en anglais) au nom d’un organisme moscovite, l’Andrey Rylkov Foundation (ARF). Bien que je l’aie écrit il y a plus d’un an, la problématique est encore d’actualité et toujours aussi importante. Le texte original est publié en russe sur le site web de la ARF.

L’ARF est un partenaire de litige stratégique de longue date du Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida en Russie. J’ai rédigé l’article avec un profond respect et une grande sympathie pour tous les militants de la société civile de Moscou, d’Yekaterinburg et d’autres villes russes, qui continuent à se battre pour les droits humains des populations vulnérables en Russie.

Cet article a été publié dans Blog, Politiques sur les drogues, Our Work, La Russie et les droits. Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.