Towards a New NAFTA: Safeguarding Public Health and Access to Medicines: Submission to the House of Commons Standing Committee on International Trade

“The Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network welcomes this opportunity to provide submissions to the House of Commons Standing Committee on International Trade (the “Committee”) as part of its upcoming consultations regarding the priorities of Canadian stakeholders having an interest in bilateral and trilateral trade in North America between Canada, the United States and Mexico.

“Given the potential impact, domestically and globally, of a new trade agreement between these three countries, this briefing focuses on how respect for human rights, including safeguarding public health and ensuring equitable access to affordable medicines, has a crucial role to play in saving millions of people from dying of AIDS and preventing millions of new HIV infections. This public health imperative is reflected in the global Sustainable Development Goals agreed by all countries, including Canada, at the United Nations.”

This entry was posted in Access to Medicines, Advocacy, English, French, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications. Publication Topics: . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
Author
Topics
Doc Type
Language

Vers un nouvel ALENA : Préserver la santé publique et l’accès aux médicaments: Mémoire présenté au Comité permanent du commerce international de la Chambre des communes — Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network

Vers un nouvel ALENA : Préserver la santé publique et l’accès aux médicaments: Mémoire présenté au Comité permanent du commerce international de la Chambre des communes

« Le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida (le « Réseau juridique ») se réjouit de cette occasion de présenter un mémoire au Comité permanent du commerce international de la Chambre des communes (le « Comité ») dans le cadre des consultations qu’il tiendra prochainement au sujet des priorités des intervenants canadiens ayant un intérêt dans le commerce bilatéral ou trilatéral en Amérique du Nord, entre le Canada, les États-Unis et le Mexique.

Compte tenu de l’impact potentiel, à l’échelle nationale et internationale, d’un nouvel accord commercial entre ces trois pays, le présent mémoire traite principalement du rôle crucial que joue le respect des droits de la personne, y compris la préservation de la santé publique et la garantie d’un accès équitable à des médicaments abordables, afin d’éviter des millions de décès liés au sida et de prévenir des millions de nouvelles infections par le VIH. Cet impératif de santé publique est énoncé dans les objectifs mondiaux de développement durable adoptés par tous les pays, dont le Canada, aux Nations Unies. »

Cet article a été publié dans Accès aux médicaments, Plaidoyer, Anglais, Français, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications. Publication Topics: . Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.
Auteur
Sujet
Type de document
Langue