The Missing Millions: Stopping and Reversing the Steady Erosion of Federal HIV Funding

In recent years, the Government of Canada has renewed a commitment to ongoing dialogue and constructive engagement with civil society in the response to HIV, hepatitis C virus (HCV) and other sexually transmitted and blood-borne infections (STBBIs). In response to calls from national HIV organizations, the federal government—in collaboration with provincial and territorial governments, researchers and community organizations—is developing a new, updated “national framework” to guide Canada’s response to HIV and other STBBIs, and, as part of that larger framework, an updated action plan for the federal government.

But the commitment to fund that made-in-Canada strategy is missing. In fact, to date there has been no commitment even to simply reverse the chronic underfunding of the HIV response that has dragged on for more than a decade.

For more information, see our press release.

This entry was posted in Briefing Papers, English, French, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Testing. Publication Topics: , , . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
Author
Topics
Doc Type
Language

Les millions manquants : Arrêter et renverser l’érosion constante des fonds fédéraux en VIH

Depuis quelques années, le Gouvernement du Canada a ravivé son engagement à un dialogue continu et constructif avec la société civile, pour répondre au VIH ainsi qu’au virus de l’hépatite C (VHC) et aux autres infections transmissibles sexuellement et par le sang (ITSS). Sur l’insistance des organismes nationaux du domaine du VIH, le gouvernement fédéral développe un nouveau « cadre national » actualisé, en collaboration avec les gouvernements des provinces et territoires et des organismes communautaires, pour guider la réponse au VIH et aux autres ITSS, de même qu’un plan d’action à jour pour le gouvernement fédéral au sein de ce cadre général.

Mais l’engagement à financer cette stratégie canadienne demeure absent. De fait, il n’y a jusqu’ici aucun signe d’intention de même simplement renverser la tendance de sous-financement chronique de la réponse au VIH, qui traîne depuis plus d’une décennie.

Voyez ici pour plus de renseignements.

Cet article a été publié dans Documents d'information, Anglais, Français, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Test. Publication Topics: , , . Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.
Auteur
Sujet
Type de document
Langue