Section 6: The case against overcriminalization (Lawyers’ Resource Kit)

This is Section 6 of Responding to the Criminalization of HIV Transmission or Exposure: Resources for lawyers and advocates. Access the full kit at aidslaw.ca/lawyers-kit.

This section provides information about the criminalization of HIV non-disclosure, exposure and/or transmission across the world as well as actions taken to reduce inappropriate use of the criminal law against people living with HIV. The section includes materials describing the challenges associated with HIV criminalization and its impact on public health and human rights.

Global Advocacy

Policy Considerations

Key position statements against criminalization

Impact on Public Health and People Living with HIV

Videos

  • Positive Women: Exposing Injustice, 2012 (free online documentary produced by the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network and Goldelox Productions on the criminalization of HIV and its impact on women in Canada).
  • More HARM Than GOOD, 2013 (free online documentary produced by the HIV Justice Network on HIV criminalization and its impact on public health).
  • Consent: HIV non-disclosure and sexual assault law, 2015 (free online documentary produced by the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network and Goldelox Productions on the problems of using sexual assault law to prosecute alleged non-disclosure of HIV).

Articles and Reports

The Latest Information: Keep Yourself Informed!

This entry was posted in HIV Criminalization. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Section 6 : Lutter contre la surcriminalisation (Ressources pour avocats)

Ceci est la Section 6 de Faire face à la criminalisation de l’exposition au VIH ou de sa transmission : Ressources pour avocats et militants. La trousse complète de ressources est accessible à aidslaw.ca/kit-avocats.

Cette section contient des informations sur la criminalisation de la non-divulgation, l’exposition et/ou la transmission du VIH à travers le monde et les actions entreprises pour lutter contre un recours excessif au droit criminel contre les personnes vivant avec le VIH. Cette section inclut des documents décrivant les défis posés par la criminalisation et son impact sur la santé publique et les droits de la personne.

Plaidoyer international

Considérations politiques

Énoncés de position contre la criminalisation:

Impact sur la santé publique et les personnes vivant avec le VIH

Vidéos

  • Femmes et séropositives : Dénonçons l’injustice, 2012 (un documentaire de 45 mn produit par le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida et Goldelox Productions sur la criminalisation du VIH et son impact sur les femmes – disponible gratuitement en ligne)
  • More HARM Than GOOD, 2013 (un documentaire de 30 mn produit par le HIV Justice Network sur la criminalisation du VIH et son impact sur la santé publique – disponible gratuitement en ligne)
  • Consentement : La non-divulgation du vih et la loi sur l’agression sexuelle, 2015 (un documentaire de 27 mn produit par le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida et Goldelox Productions sur les problèmes que soulève le recours à la loi sur l’agression sexuelle dans des poursuites pour des allégations de non-divulgation du VIH – disponible gratuitement en ligne)

Articles et rapports

Dernières informations: tenez-vous informés!

Cet article a été publié dans Criminalisation du VIH. Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.