Sandra Ka Hon Chu

Sandra

Director of Research and Advocacy

Sandra joined the Legal Network staff in September 2007.

At the Legal Network, Sandra works on HIV-related human rights issues concerning prisons, harm reduction, sex work, women, and immigration. She has authored numerous publications, including an innovative legislative resource on women’s rights in the context of HIV, a compendium of affidavits describing prisoners’ experiences with injection drug use behind bars and briefing papers on sex work, and HIV and the law in Canada and internationally. She has also led the Legal Network’s involvement in lawsuits challenging the Canadian government’s failure to adopt prison-based needle and syringe programs and criminal laws governing sex work.

Previously, she worked in The Hague for the Women’s Initiatives for Gender Justice, an international women’s human rights organization advocating for gender-inclusive justice before the International Criminal Court. Her broad international experience has also included assignments for development, human rights and UN agencies in Libya, Timor-Leste, Hong Kong and Vancouver.

Sandra holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Sociology from the University of British Columbia, an LL.B. from the University of Toronto and an LL.M. from the Osgoode Hall Law School of York University. She was called to the bar of British Columbia in 2003.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Sandra Ka Hon Chu

Sandra

Directrice de la recherche et du plaidoyer

Sandra s’est jointe au personnel du Réseau juridique en septembre 2007.

Au Réseau juridique, son travail concerne les droits de la personne liés aux enjeux des prisons, de la réduction des méfaits, du travail sexuel, des femmes ainsi que de l’immigration. Elle a écrit maintes publications, notamment une ressource novatrice pour la législation sur les droits des femmes dans le contexte du VIH, un recueil d’affidavits où sont décrites des expériences personnelles de détenus concernant l’injection de drogue en prison, de même que des documents d’information sur le travail du sexe, le VIH et le droit au Canada et dans le monde. Elle est par ailleurs responsable de l’implication du Réseau juridique dans des actions en justice contestant le refus du gouvernement canadien d’adopter des programmes de seringues dans les établissements correctionnels, de même que les lois criminelles relatives au travail du sexe.

Elle a travaillé pour Women’s Initiatives for Gender Justice, un organisme international pour les droits humains des femmes, établi à LaHaye, qui fait la promotion de la justice inclusive du genre à la Cour pénale internationale. Sa vaste expérience internationale inclut des mandats dans les domaines du développement ainsi que des droits de la personne, et concernant des agences onusiennes en Libye, au Timor-Leste, à Hong Kong et à Vancouver.

Sandra est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès arts en sociologie de l’Université de Colombie-Britannique, d’un baccalauréat en droit (LL.B.) de l’Université de Toronto et d’une maîtrise en droit (LL.M.) de l’Osgoode Hall Law School de l’Université York. Elle a été admise au Barreau de la Colombie-Britannique en 2003.

Cet article a été publié dans Uncategorized. Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.