Ron Rosenes

Ron Rosenes joined the Legal Network’s board of directors in 2015.

Ron has been living with HIV for over 30 years. As a consultant, his work is centred on a framework of social justice, equitable access and an understanding of the social determinants of health. His commitment to the promotion of human rights strongly aligns with the work of the Legal Network.

Ron became an active volunteer member of the HIV/AIDS community in Toronto in 1991. He chaired AIDS Walk in the early-1990s, and served as Board Chair of the AIDS Committee of Toronto (ACT) from 1995 to 1998. In September of 1999, he was appointed ACT’s first Honorary Director. Ron is a long-time member of AIDS ACTION NOW! and a founding Board Member of the Sherbourne Health Centre, a primary care clinic serving the needs of a Toronto inner-city community. In 2000, Ron served as a member of the Steering Committee of the Canada AIDS Russia Project.

A founding Board Member and Vice-Chair of AIDS 2006 Toronto Local Host, Ron has since served as the Community Activist Liaison at every International AIDS Society conference. He is a member of the Scientific Review Committee at the Ontario HIV Treatment Network and is currently serving a second term on the CIHR HIV/AIDS Research Advisory Committee. Ron holds an appointment to the Ontario Advisory Committee on HIV/AIDS to the Ontario Minister of Health. He recently stepped down after 14 years as Vice-Chair of the Canadian Treatment Action Council, one of the national NGOs working on access to therapies for people with HIV/AIDS or co-infected with hepatitis C.

Fluent in English, French and Russian, Ron is also the recipient of numerous awards, including the Ontario AIDS Network Honour Roll, the Queen’s Jubilee Gold Medal, the Order of Canada, and an honorary doctorate from Carleton University.

This entry was posted in Board Member, English, French. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Ron Rosenes

Ron Rosenes s’est joint au conseil d’administration du Réseau juridique en 2015.

Ron vit avec le VIH depuis plus de 30 ans. Son travail à titre de consultant est centré sur un cadre de justice sociale, d’accès équitable et de compréhension des déterminants sociaux de la santé. Son engagement à la promotion des droits humains est en grande harmonie avec le travail du Réseau juridique.

Ron est devenu membre bénévole actif de la communauté du VIH/sida à Toronto en 1991. Il a présidé la Marche du sida au début des années 1990 puis a été président du conseil d’administration de l’AIDS Committee of Toronto (ACT) de 1995 à 1998. En septembre 1999, il en a été nommé le premier membre honorifique. Ron est membre de longue date d’AIDS ACTION NOW! et membre fondateur du conseil d’administration du Centre de santé Sherbourne, une clinique de soins primaires répondant aux besoins d’une communauté défavorisée à Toronto. En 2000, il a siégé au Comité directeur du Projet sida Canada Russie.

Membre fondateur du conseil d’administration et vice-président de l’Hôte local de SIDA 2006 à Toronto, Ron a été agent de liaison des activistes communautaires lors de chaque congrès subséquent de l’International AIDS Society. Il est membre du Comité d’examen scientifique du Réseau ontarien de traitement du VIH et en est à son deuxième mandat au Comité consultatif de la recherche sur le VIH/sida des IRSC. Il siège également au Comité consultatif sur le VIH/sida du ministère de la Santé de l’Ontario. Il a récemment quitté ses fonctions, après 14 années, à la vice-présidence du Conseil canadien de surveillance et d’accès aux traitements, un ONG national œuvrant à l’accès aux traitements pour les personnes vivant avec le VIH/sida ou la coïnfection à l’hépatite C.

Maîtrisant l’anglais, le français et le russe, Ron est lauréat de nombreux prix, y compris le Tableau d’honneur de l’Ontario AIDS Network, la Médaille du jubilé de la Reine, l’Ordre du Canada et un doctorat honorifique de l’Université de Carleton.

Cet article a été publié dans Board Member, Anglais, Français. Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.