Richard Elliott

Richard

Executive Director

Richard joined the Legal Network staff in January 1999 as Director of Policy and Research, following an 18-month term on its board of directors. He became Deputy Director in 2005 and Executive Director in 2007.

At the Legal Network, Richard is responsible for the Legal Network’s effective overall operation and implementing the organization’s mandate. He advises and supports the Board of Directors, especially in formulating strategic directions and organizational plans, and developing policy. He has also helped guide the Legal Network’s litigation in key HIV-related court cases in Canada and internationally. He has authored numerous reports, papers and articles on a range of legal and human rights issues in the context of HIV, and appears regularly in the media as an expert in the field.

Previously, he worked as a civil litigator in private practice, appearing before all levels of Ontario courts and the Supreme Court of Canada. He has appeared before legislative committees, served as an expert resource and technical advisor to UN agencies, taught or lectured at several law schools, and presented extensively on HIV and human rights across the country and internationally.

Richard served on the boards of directors of the HIV & AIDS Legal Clinic Ontario (HALCO) and the Prisoners’ HIV/AIDS Support Action Network (PASAN), and co-founded and chaired a local Amnesty International group in Toronto advocating for the rights of sexual minorities and people living with HIV. He is a founding member of the Global Treatment Access Group (GTAG), an affiliation of Canadian civil society organizations advocating for access to medicines in developing countries, and a member of the International Advisory Committee of the International Centre for Human Rights and Drug Policy.

Between 2001 and 2007, Richard was a member of the Ministerial Council on HIV/AIDS, the advisory body to Canada’s Minister of Health. In 2010–2011, he served as a member of the Technical Advisory Group of the Global Commission on HIV and the Law, and in 2015-16, as a member of the Expert Advisory Group to the UN Secretary General’s High-Level Panel on Access to Medicines. In 2012, he received a Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal for his contributions to the advancement of human rights related to HIV.

Richard holds an Honours Bachelor of Arts in Economics and Philosophy from Queen’s University, and both a Bachelor of Laws (LL.B., 1995) and Master of Laws (LL.M., 2006) from Osgoode Hall Law School (York University). He was called to the bar of Ontario in 1997.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Richard Elliott

Richard

Directeur général

Richard s’est joint au personnel du Réseau juridique en janvier 1999, à titre de directeur des politiques et de la recherche, après avoir siégé dix-huit mois à son conseil d’administration. Il est devenu directeur adjoint en 2005 et directeur général en 2007.

Au Réseau juridique, il a la responsabilité de l’efficacité du fonctionnement général de l’organisme et de la réalisation de son mandat. Il conseille et appuie le conseil d’administration, en particulier dans la formulation des orientations stratégiques et des plans organisationnels ainsi que dans le développement des politiques. Il contribue également à guider les actions en contentieux du Réseau juridique dans d’importantes affaires touchant le VIH, devant des tribunaux canadiens et d’autres pays. Il est l’auteur de nombreux rapports, documents et articles concernant un vaste éventail d’enjeux juridiques et de droits humains en lien avec le VIH, et il se trouve fréquemment sur la scène médiatique à titre d’expert dans ce domaine.

Auparavant, il a été avocat de litige civil, en pratique privée, plaidant devant des tribunaux ontariens de tous les niveaux et à la Cour suprême du Canada. Il a témoigné devant des comités législatifs, a été consultant expert et conseiller technique auprès d’agences des Nations Unies, a enseigné ou été maître de conférence dans des facultés de droit et a fait de multiples présentations sur le VIH et les droits humains, partout au pays ainsi qu’à l’étranger.

Richard a siégé au conseil d’administration de la HIV & AIDS Legal Clinic of Ontario (HALCO) et à celui du Réseau d’action et de soutien des prisonniers et prisonnières vivant avec le VIH/sida (PASAN); il a cofondé et présidé un groupe local d’Amnistie internationale, à Toronto, pour la défense des droits des minorités sexuelles et des personnes vivant avec le VIH. Il est membre fondateur du Groupe pour l’accès mondial aux traitements (GAMT), un regroupement d’organismes canadiens de la société civile militant pour l’accès aux médicaments; il siège également au Comité consultatif international de l’International Centre for Human Rights and Drug Policy.

Entre 2001 et 2007, Richard a siégé au Conseil ministériel sur le VIH/sida (le comité aviseur du ministre de la Santé du Canada); en 2010-2011, il a été membre du Groupe consultatif technique de la Commission mondiale sur le VIH et le droit; et en 2015-2016, il fait partie du Groupe consultatif d’experts du Panel de haut niveau sur l’accès aux médicaments auprès du secrétaire général des Nations Unies.

En 2012, il a reçu la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la Reine Elizabeth II pour ses contributions au progrès des droits de la personne en lien avec le VIH.

Richard détient un baccalauréat spécialisé en économie et philosophie de l’Université Queen’s, ainsi qu’un baccalauréat en droit (LL.B., 1995) et une maîtrise en droit (LL.M., 2006) de l’Osgoode Hall Law School (Université York). Il a été admis au Barreau de l’Ontario en 1997.

Cet article a été publié dans Uncategorized. Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.