Remembering Peter Collins, 1961–2015

August 17, 2015

PCollinsThe Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network is remembering Peter (Pete) Collins, an activist for the health and human rights of people in prison. Pete passed away from cancer on August 13, 2015, in Bath Institution near Kingston, Ontario, having been denied compassionate release by the Parole Board of Canada despite many appeals.

Pete was an ally and friend of the Legal Network, and also the recipient of the 2008 Canadian Award for Action on HIV/AIDS and Human Rights. He was recognized for his work as a peer health counsellor, conducting HIV prevention education with other inmates since the late-1980s. Pete was a strong and vocal advocate on prisoners’ rights, including the necessity for adequate harm reduction services, which currently do not exist for those living behind bars. This often put him at odds with prison authorities, but it did not stop Pete from sharing his message and garnering support from the outside community.

Pete was also a talented and prolific artist. He taught himself how to play guitar while in prison and produced hundreds of amazing illustrations that reflected his perspective on the struggle against degrading conditions in prison.

The Legal Network extends its deepest condolences to the family, friends and community supporters of Peter Collins, including Giselle Dias, one of his closest friends and the person who nominated him years ago for the award honouring his work. We will honour Pete’s memory by continuing to advocate for harm reduction services in Canadian prisons.

We encourage you to watch a moving piece Pete co-created on solitary confinement in Canadian prisons and its dehumanizing effect on prisoners.

This entry was posted in Blog, Drug policy, English, French, Our Work, Prisons. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

À la mémoire de Peter Collins, 1961–2015

17 août 2015

PCollinsLe Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida se souvient de Peter (Pete) Collins, activiste pour la santé et les droits humains des personnes incarcérées. Pete est décédé du cancer le 13 août 2015 à l’Établissement Bath, près de Kingston, Ontario, après s’être vu refuser (malgré de nombreux appels) la libération pour des raisons humanitaires par la Commission des libérations conditionnelles du Canada.

Allié et ami du Réseau juridique, Pete était lauréat de notre Prix 2008 de l’Action contre le VIH/sida et pour les droits humains. Reconnu pour son travail de conseiller en éducation des pairs, il faisait de l’éducation à la prévention du VIH en prison depuis la fin des années 1980. Pete défendait haut et fort les droits des détenus, notamment la nécessité de services adéquats de réduction des méfaits en prison – qui ne sont toujours pas une réalité. Ses efforts lui ont souvent causé des tensions avec les autorités carcérales, mais cela ne l’a jamais empêché de partager son message et de solliciter l’appui de la communauté.

Pete était un artiste talentueux et prolifique. Pendant son incarcération, il a appris seul à jouer de la guitare et a réalisé des centaines de magnifiques illustrations représentant sa perspective sur la lutte contre des conditions dégradantes en prison.

Le Réseau juridique transmet ses plus sincères condoléances à la famille, aux amis et aux supporteurs communautaires de Peter Collins, notamment Giselle Dias, une de ses amies les plus proches, et l’auteure de sa candidature au prix hommage qu’il a remporté il y a plusieurs années. Nous honorerons la mémoire de Pete en continuant de militer pour des services de réduction des méfaits dans les prisons canadiennes.

Nous vous invitons à visionner une vidéo émouvante, cocréée par Pete, au sujet de l’isolement cellulaire dans les prisons canadiennes et de son impact déshumanisant sur les détenus.

Cet article a été publié dans Blog, Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Français, Our Work, Prisons. Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.