Reckless Endangerment — Q&A on Bill C-36: Protection of Communities and Exploited Persons Act

In December 2013, the Supreme Court of Canada unanimously decided that several parts of Canada’s Criminal Code dealing with prostitution are unconstitutional because they violate the rights of sex workers by undermining their health and safety. The Supreme Court decided that its ruling would take effect in one year’s time, at which point those unconstitutional parts of the law would no longer be in force.

In response, the federal government introduced Bill C-36 in early June 2014. This document answers key questions about what changes Bill C-36 would make to the law if it were passed: What conduct related to sex work would be prohibited? In what circumstances? Who could be prosecuted?

N.B.: This document includes an October 2014 update on the final amendments to Bill C-36.

This entry was posted in English, Featured Publications, French, Our Work, Publications, Q&A, Sex work. Publication Topics: . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
Author
Topics
Doc Type
Language

Mise en danger téméraire — Questions et réponses sur le Projet de loi C-36 : Loi sur la protection des collectivités et des personnes victimes d’exploitation

En décembre 2013, la Cour suprême du Canada a décidé à l’unanimité que plusieurs parties du Code criminel canadien abordant la prostitution sont inconstitutionnelles parce qu’elles portent atteinte aux droits des travailleuse(-eur)s du sexe en nuisant à leur santé et leur sécurité. La Cour suprême a décidé que sa décision prendrait effet un an après avoir été rendue, moment auquel les parties inconstitutionnelles de la loi cesseront d’être en vigueur.

Le gouvernement fédéral a répondu en introduisant le Projet de loi C-36 en juin 2014. Le présent document répond aux principales questions concernant les changements que le Projet de loi C-36 apporterait à la loi s’il était adopté : quels comportements liés au travail du sexe seraient interdits? Dans quelles circonstances? Qui pourrait être poursuivi?

N.B. : Ce document inclut une mise à jour (octobre 2014) sur les derniers amendments au Project de loi C-36

Cet article a été publié dans Anglais, Featured Publications, Français, Our Work, Publications, Questions-réponses, Travail du sexe. Publication Topics: . Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.
Auteur
Sujet
Type de document
Langue