Quebec: An outbreak of HIV/AIDS-related stigma and discrimination – HIV/AIDS Policy & Law Review 9(1), August 2004

In the space of a few weeks in January 2004, actions by three different institutions in Quebec combined to threaten the human rights of people living with HIV/AIDS, raise the spectre of mandatory HIV testing, and create unnecessary public fears about the spread of HIV infection.

In response to what they called “the worst weeks in recent history for people living with HIV/AIDS in Quebec,” the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network and COCQ-Sida (the Quebec coalition of community-based organizations fighting AIDS) called for a provincewide campaign against HIV/AIDS-related stigma and discrimination.

A victory was achieved when a Montréal catholic seminary announced that it had backed down from its initial proposal to mandatorily test all applicants for priesthood for HIV, but much more is needed to fight the rapid outbreak of mandatory-testing proposals.


This entry was posted in English, French, Journal Articles, Publications. Publication Topics: , . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
Author
Topics
Doc Type
Language

Québec – Torrent de stigmate et de discrimination liés au VIH/sida – Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques 9(1), avril 2004

Dans un intervalle de quelques semaines, en janvier 2004, la combinaison d’actions et de décisions venant de trois institutions, au Québec, a créé une situation de grande incertitude pour les droits humains des personnes vivant avec le VIH/sida, hantée par le spectre du test obligatoire du VIH et par l’éveil, au sein du grand public, de craintes mal placées quant à la propagation du VIH.

En réaction à ce qu’ils ont appelé « les pires semaines de l’histoire récente, pour les Québécois-e-s qui vivent avec le VIH/sida », le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida et la Coalition des organismes communautaires québécois de lutte contre le sida (COCQ-Sida) ont revendiqué une campagne provinciale contre le stigmate et la discrimination liés au VIH/sida.

Un progrès a été marqué par l’annonce du séminaire catholique montréalais qu’il abandonnait son intention d’imposer le test du VIH à tous ses éventuels séminaristes. Toutefois, il faudra beaucoup de travail et d’éducation pour endiguer le flot récent de propositions de tests obligatoires injustifiés.


Cet article a été publié dans Anglais, Français, Articles de périodiques, Publications. Publication Topics: , . Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.
Auteur
Sujet
Type de document
Langue