Publication Topics Archives: Indigenous Communities

Comments on Canada’s Draft Third Report Under the Universal Periodic Review (UPR)

In this brief, the Legal Network provides information about Canada’s implementation of its international human rights obligations as raised in the draft report, organized under subheadings included in the draft report. It expands on issues presented in the Legal Network’s Submission to the United Nations Human Rights Council’s UPR Working Group in advance of the […]

Posted in Advocacy, Drug policy, English, HIV Criminalization, Indigenous Communities, Prisons, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , | Comments closed

Brief to the Standing Committee on the Status of Women: The need for drug policy reform and comprehensive prison-based harm reduction

The Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network, Prisoners with HIV/AIDS Support Action Network, CATIE and the Canadian Aboriginal AIDS Network work to promote the human rights of people living with, at risk of or affected by HIV and hepatitis C (HCV), including Indigenous women in prison. We appreciate the opportunity to make this submission on Indigenous women […]

Posted in Advocacy, English, French, Indigenous Communities, Prisons, Publications | Publication Topics: , | Comments closed

Indigenous Women, HIV and Gender-Based Violence

This report synthesizes resources that jointly consider Indigenous women, HIV and gender-based violence and relevant recommendations for law reform.

Posted in English, French, Indigenous Communities, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Reports, Women’s Rights | Publication Topics: , | Comments closed

Harm Reduction Services for Indigenous People Who Use Drugs: Questions and Answers

In Canada, Indigenous people experience higher rates of injection drug use and less access to health care than non-Indigenous people. For many Indigenous people, drug use offers a means of coping with traumatic life circumstances, including those related to their experiences with the residential school and child welfare systems in Canada, legacies of colonialism and […]

Posted in Booklets, Drug policy, English, French, Indigenous Communities, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Q&A | Publication Topics: , | Comments closed

Indigenous Communities and HIV and HCV in Federal Prisons: Questions and Answers

This ‘Question and Answer’ booklet is for prisoners who identify as First Nations, Inuit and Métis, and who are imprisoned in a federal prison or healing lodge run by the Correctional Service of Canada (CSC).

Posted in Booklets, English, French, Indigenous Communities, Our Work, Prisons, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: , | Comments closed

Indigenous communities: HIV, privacy and confidentiality

Knowing your rights and responsibilities when it comes to HIV disclosure, privacy and confidentiality is an important way to protect your privacy. This guide provides answers to common questions on disclosure, privacy and confidentiality in the health care settings, workplaces, post-secondary institutions and other settings — places where many Indigenous people living with HIV have […]

Posted in Booklets, English, French, Indigenous Communities, Our Work, Privacy, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: , | Comments closed

Letter to Minister of Canadian Heritage Re: Reinstatement of the Court Challenges Program

“We commend your government’s decision to restore funding to the Court Challenges Program (CCP). We applaud your commitment to ‘work continuously to make Canada more diverse, inclusive and equitable.’ And we share the Minister of Justice’s expectation that reinstatement of the CCP ‘will increase access to justice for vulnerable groups and official-language communities.’ “However, in […]

Posted in Advocacy, English, French, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: , | Comments closed

Indigenous Communities: Summary of Legal Needs Assessment

In 2014, the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network (“Legal Network”) and the Canadian Aboriginal AIDS Network (CAAN) began collaborating to produce a series of legal information resources for Indigenous communities living with and affected by HIV and/or hepatitis C (HCV). In support of this effort, a legal needs assessment was carried out to determine priority legal […]

Posted in English, French, Indigenous Communities, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Reports | Publication Topics: | Comments closed

Indigenous Communities and HIV Disclosure to Sexual Partners: Questions and Answers

While the criminal law is a blunt instrument to deal with complex issues such as disclosure or the root causes for HIV in Indigenous communities, it is the law in Canada, and it is important for you to know about it so you can make informed decisions about your sexual life. This brochure has been […]

Posted in Booklets, English, Featured Publications, French, HIV Criminalization, Indigenous Communities, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Q&A | Publication Topics: | Comments closed

Submission to Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls Pre-Inquiry Process

“We are pleased to see the new federal government’s commitment to recognizing the legacy of colonization on Indigenous peoples and its direct relationship to the widespread violence that Indigenous women suffer. We make this submission to urge the Inquiry to ensure the meaningful participation of Indigenous women who sell or trade sex and/or use drugs, […]

Posted in Advocacy, English, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Sex work, Women’s Rights | Publication Topics: , , , | Comments closed

Publication Topics Archives : Communautés autochtones

Les femmes autochtones, le VIH et la violence sexospécifique

Le présent rapport offre une synthèse des ressources qui abordent de façon conjointe les femmes autochtones, le VIH et la violence sexospécifique; il offre également un résumé des recommandations pertinentes pour une réforme du droit.

Publié dans Anglais, Français, Communautés autochtones, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Rapports, Droits des femmes | Publication Topics: , | Commentaires fermés

Services de réduction des méfaits pour les personnes autochtones qui consomment des drogues : questions et réponses

Au Canada, les taux d’injection de drogue parmi les personnes autochtones sont plus élevés et l’accès aux soins de santé est plus limité que chez les non-autochtones. Pour bon nombre d’Autochtones, la consommation de drogues est un moyen de composer avec des circonstances de vie traumatisantes, notamment des expériences liées aux systèmes de pensionnats et […]

Publié dans Livrets, Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Français, Communautés autochtones, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Questions-réponses | Publication Topics: , | Commentaires fermés

Les Communautés Autochtones, le VIH et le VHC dans les prisons fédérales : Questions et réponses

Ce livret de questions et réponses s’adresse aux détenus qui s’identifient comme appartenant aux communautés des Premières Nations ou comme Inuits et Métis, et qui sont incarcérés dans une prison fédérale ou un pavillon de ressourcement géré par le Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC).  

Publié dans Livrets, Anglais, Français, Communautés autochtones, Our Work, Prisons, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: , | Commentaires fermés

Communautés autochtones : VIH, vie privée et confidentialité

Connaître vos droits et vos responsabilités concernant le dévoilement du VIH, la vie privée et la confidentialité est une importante façon de protéger votre vie privée. Ce guide offre des réponses à des questions courantes sur le dévoilement, la vie privée et la confidentialité dans le système de soins de santé, le milieu de travail, […]

Publié dans Livrets, Anglais, Français, Communautés autochtones, Our Work, Vie privée, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: , | Commentaires fermés

Lettre à la Ministre du Patrimoine canadien — Object: Restauration du Programme de contestation judiciaire

« Nous nous réjouissons de la décision qu’a prise votre gouvernement de rétablir le financement du Programme de contestation judiciaire (PCJ). Nous vous félicitons pour votre engagement à « travailler sans relâche pour que le Canada soit plus diversifié, inclusif et équitable ». Nous partageons en outre les attentes de la ministre de la Justice selon […]

Publié dans Plaidoyer, Anglais, Français, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: , | Commentaires fermés

Les communautés autochtones: Résumé d’évaluation des besoins juridiques

En 2014, le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida (le « Réseau juridique ») et le Réseau canadien autochtone du sida (le « RCAS ») ont amorcé une collaboration pour produire une série de ressources d’information juridique à l’intention des communautés autochtones vivant avec le VIH et l’hépatite C (VHC) et affectées par ceux-ci. Pour appuyer cet effort, une analyse des […]

Publié dans Anglais, Français, Communautés autochtones, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Rapports | Publication Topics: | Commentaires fermés

Les communautés autochtones et la divulgation du VIH aux partenaires sexuels : Questions et réponses

Le droit criminel n’est pas un instrument efficace pour composer avec des enjeux complexes comme la divulgation ou les causes profondes du VIH dans les communautés autochtones – mais c’est la loi, au Canada. Il est donc important que vous soyez renseigné pour prendre des décisions éclairées concernant votre vie sexuelle. Cette brochure a été […]

Publié dans Livrets, Anglais, Featured Publications, Français, Criminalisation du VIH, Communautés autochtones, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Questions-réponses | Publication Topics: | Commentaires fermés

Pas de « fin au sida » sans les droits humains : les cinq principaux enjeux du Canada pour la Journée mondiale du sida de 2014

Publié dans Anglais, Français, News, Our Work | Publication Topics: , , , , , | Commentaires fermés

Action en justice contre le gouvernement du Canada pour défaut de protéger la santé des détenus fédéraux

Publié dans Anglais, Français, News | Publication Topics: , , | Commentaires fermés

VIH et droits de la personne au Canada : 5 enjeux majeurs pour la Journée mondiale du sida de 2011

Publié dans Anglais, Français, News | Publication Topics: , , , , , | Commentaires fermés