Publication Topics Archives: harm reduction

The Good Samaritan Drug Overdose Act: The Good, the Bad, and the Ineffective

In Canada, people who use drugs are dying in record numbers. Between January 2016 and September 2019, more than 14,700 people died of apparent opioid overdoses in this country. In Ontario alone, more than 1450 people died from opioid-related causes in 2018. The overwhelming majority of these overdoses and deaths involve fentanyl or its analogues, […]

Posted in Advocacy, Drug policy, English, French, Our Work, Reports | Tagged , , | Publication Topics: , | Comments closed

Gendering the Scene: Women, Gender-Diverse People, and Harm Reduction in Canada – Full report

At writing, Canada is facing an unprecedented overdose crisis that is killing at alarming rates. Canada’s ongoing fixation on criminal prohibition as the primary approach to addressing drug use has led to a situation in which people who use drugs continue to face criminalization, political and social hostility, and limited access to harm reduction and health […]

Posted in Drug policy, English, French, LGBTQ Rights, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Reports, Women’s Rights | Tagged , , , , | Publication Topics: , , , | Comments closed

Gendering the Scene: Women, Gender-Diverse People, and Harm Reduction in Canada – Summary report

There are marked differences between men, women, and gender-diverse people in terms of their drug use and how laws and policies affect them. However, insufficient attention is paid to the needs of women and gender-diverse people who use drugs and their access to health services, including harm reduction services. This is especially true for gender-diverse […]

Posted in Drug policy, English, French, LGBTQ Rights, Our Work, Prisons, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Reports, Women’s Rights | Tagged , , , , | Publication Topics: , , , | Comments closed

Overdue for a Change: Scaling up Supervised Consumption Services in Canada – Full report

The Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network is pleased to share with you the full report of Overdue for a Change: Scaling Up Supervised Consumption Services in Canada. This report documents a research project that was undertaken in 2018 to explore the current state of supervised consumption services (SCS) in Canada, to monitor legal and policy changes affecting […]

Posted in Advocacy, Drug policy, English, French, Our Work, Reports | Tagged , , | Publication Topics: , , | Comments closed

Overdue for a Change: Scaling up Supervised Consumption Services in Canada

The Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network is pleased to share with you Overdue for a Change: Scaling Up Supervised Consumption Services in Canada. Our summary brief describes the key findings and recommendations of a research project that was undertaken in 2018 to explore the current state of supervised consumption services (SCS) in Canada, to monitor legal […]

Posted in Advocacy, Drug policy, English, French, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Publications, Reports | Tagged , , | Publication Topics: , , | Comments closed

Open letter to Ontario Minister of Health about the newly proposed “Consumption and Treatment Services” model

October 31, 2018 Dear Minister Elliott: We write to you as organizations concerned about the health and welfare of some of the most vulnerable Ontarians, in response to the October 22 announcement that your government plans to replace supervised consumption sites (SCS) and low-barrier overdose prevention sites (OPS) with “Consumption and Treatment Services.”

Posted in Advocacy, Drug policy, English, French, Our Work | Publication Topics: , , | Comments closed

Publication Topics Archives : harm reduction

La Loi sur les bons samaritains secourant les victimes de surdose: Le bon, le mauvais et l’inefficace

Au Canada, les personnes qui consomment des drogues meurent en nombre record. Entre janvier 2016 et septembre 2019, plus de 14 700 personnes y sont mortes d’une apparente surdose d’opioïdes. En Ontario seulement, en 2018, plus de 1 450 personnes sont décédées de causes liées aux opioïdes. La très grande majorité de ces surdoses et […]

Publié dans Plaidoyer, Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Français, Our Work, Rapports | Mots-clefs : , , | Publication Topics: , | Commentaires fermés

Le genre est à prendre en compte : les femmes, les personnes de genres divers et l’accès à la réduction des méfaits au Canada

Au moment d’écrire ces lignes, le Canada est confronté à une crise de surdoses sans précédent qui tue à un rythme alarmant. La fixation continue du Canada sur la prohibition pénale comme principale approche pour répondre à la consommation de drogues a conduit à une situation dans laquelle les personnes qui consomment des drogues demeurent […]

Publié dans Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Français, LGBTQ Rights, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Rapports, Droits des femmes | Mots-clefs : , , , , | Publication Topics: , , , | Commentaires fermés

Le genre est à prendre en compte : les femmes, les personnes de genres divers et l’accès à la réduction des méfaits au Canada – Rapport sommaire

Il existe des différences marquées entre les hommes, les femmes et les personnes de diverses identités de genre, en ce qui a trait à la consommation de drogues et à la manière dont les lois et les politiques les affectent. Les femmes et les personnes de genres divers qui consomment des drogues peuvent également avoir des […]

Publié dans Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Français, LGBTQ Rights, Our Work, Prisons, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Rapports, Droits des femmes | Mots-clefs : , , , , | Publication Topics: , , , | Commentaires fermés

SERVICES DE CONSOMMATION SUPERVISÉE AU CANADA : DES CHANGEMENTS QUI TARDENT À VENIR – Le rapport complet

Le Réseau juridique canadien VIH / sida est heureux de partager avec vous le rapport complet, Services de consommation supervisée au Canada: des changements qui tardent à venir. Ce rapport documente un projet de recherche entrepris en 2018 afin d’explorer l’état actuel des services de consommation supervisée au Canada, de surveiller les changements juridiques et […]

Publié dans Plaidoyer, Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Français, Our Work, Rapports | Mots-clefs : , , | Publication Topics: , , | Commentaires fermés

Services de consommation supervisée au Canada : des changements qui tardent à venir

Le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida est ravi de partager avec vous le document intitulé Services de consommation supervisée au Canada : des changements qui tardent à venir. Ce bref document d’information présente les principales conclusions et les recommandations issues d’un projet de recherche réalisé en 2018, qui consistait à examiner la situation actuelle des services […]

Publié dans Plaidoyer, Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Français, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Publications, Rapports | Mots-clefs : , , | Publication Topics: , , | Commentaires fermés

Lettre ouverte à la ministre de la Santé de l’Ontario concernant le nouveau modèle proposé de « sites de consommation et de traitement »

31 octobre 2018 Madame la Ministre, En tant qu’organismes préoccupés par la santé et le bien-être des Ontarien-nes parmi les plus vulnérables, nous vous adressons la présente en réponse à l’annonce de votre gouvernement en date du 22 octobre de remplacer les sites de consommation supervisée (SCS) et les sites de prévention des surdoses (SPD) […]

Publié dans Plaidoyer, Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Français, Our Work | Publication Topics: , , | Commentaires fermés