Promoting Smart Policy on Drugs: Brief to the Minister of Health

“The UN General Assembly Special Session on the World Drug Problem (UNGASS) in April 2016 is a significant opportunity for Canada, in collaboration with other Member States, specialized UN agencies and civil society organizations, to:

  • engage in an open and honest discussion about how the international drug control treaties are — and are not — working;
  • explore and debate the rationale for considering alternative approaches; and
  • promote the development and implementation of more effective responses to “the world drug problem” based on public health principles, respect for human rights and scientific evidence.

[…]

“The National UNGASS Working Group has put together 10 priority issues for consideration as negotiations proceed in the lead up to the UNGASS and to the upcoming session of the UN Commission on Narcotic Drugs (CND) (March 9-17, 2016), where much of the substance of the UNGASS outcome document will be decided.”

This entry was posted in Advocacy, Drug policy, English, French, Home Feature, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications. Publication Topics: . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
Author
Topics
Doc Type
Language

Promouvoir des politiques sensées sur les drogues: Mémoire à l’intention de la ministre de la Santé

« La Session extraordinaire de l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies sur le problème mondial de la drogue (UNGASS) d’avril 2016 est une occasion importante pour le Canada, en collaboration avec les autres États membres, les agences onusiennes spécialisées et les organismes de la société civile :

  • d’engager une discussion ouverte et franche sur les réussites et les échecs des traités internationaux relatifs au contrôle des drogues;
  • d’explorer les raisons d’envisager de nouvelles approches, et d’en débattre; et
  • de favoriser le développement et la mise en oeuvre de réponses plus efficaces au « problème mondial de la drogue », en se fondant sur les principes de santé publique, le respect des droits humains et les données probantes.

[…]

« Le Groupe de travail canadien sur l’UNGASS a développé dix recommandations, que nous vous invitons à considérer à l’occasion des négociations préparatoires de l’UNGASS et de la prochaine session de la Commission des stupéfiants (CND) des Nations Unies (9-17 mars 2016). Une partie importante des fondements du document final de l’UNGASS seront décidés lors de ces événements. »

Cet article a été publié dans Plaidoyer, Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Français, Home Feature, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications. Publication Topics: . Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.
Auteur
Sujet
Type de document
Langue