HIV testing raises numerous human rights issues. When a test for HIV was first developed, there were calls for compulsory testing and quarantine of those testing positive. Ever since, political, technological and medical developments in testing for HIV and treating HIV infection have continued to raise serious legal and ethical questions.

Human rights law requires that HIV testing include:

  • informed consent;
  • pre- and post-test counselling; and
  • guaranteed confidentiality of test results.

These elements are crucial to the success of HIV testing as a public health measure to reduce HIV transmission and to provide care, treatment and support for people who test HIV-positive.

We work on numerous legal and human rights dimensions of HIV testing, including:

  • access to anonymous HIV testing;
  • HIV testing and immigration policy;
  • rapid HIV testing;
  • home testing for HIV and access to HIV testing outside health care settings;
  • testing within Aboriginal communities in Canada;
  • routine testing of women during pregnancy and testing of newborns;
  • testing of specific populations such as prisoners, sex workers, military personnel; and
  • forced testing in instances of occupational or non-occupational exposure to HIV.

Know Your Rights

This series of 8 brochures (now available in 7 languages, including Arabic, Chinese and Spanish) addresses the privacy rights and disclosure obligations of people living with HIV in a variety of day-to-day contexts.

No Comments

Women and HIV – “Women and HIV Testing”

This is one in a series of four info sheets on the human rights of women living with or vulnerable to HIV in Canada.

No Comments

Forced HIV Testing: Questions and Answers

Many Canadian provinces have passed legislation that authorizes testing someone for HIV without his or her consent. This document provides information about occupational exposure to HIV, and the legal and human rights concerns raised by forced HIV testing.

No Comments

Undue Force: An Overview of Provincial Legislation on Forced Testing for HIV

This booklet looks at existing provincial legislation in Ontario, Alberta, Nova Scotia, Saskatchewan and Manitoba allowing forced testing for blood-borne diseases such as HIV. We conclude with a commentary on why forced testing is unjustified and unnecessary, and what measures are really needed to deal with workplace exposure to HIV.

No Comments

HIV Testing

This is a series of 12 info sheets on HIV testing in Canada. Evolution of HIV testing policy and technology in Canada Shifting HIV testing policies Consent to HIV testing Counselling Anonymous HIV testing Confidentiality Access to HIV testing HIV testing and pregnancy Rapid HIV testing Home HIV testing Mandatory and compulsory testing for HIV […]

No Comments

Test

Test

aidslaw.ca/test

Test

Aperçu

Le test de sérodiagnostic du VIH soulève de nombreux enjeux de droits de la personne. Dès l’avènement d’un premier test du VIH, des appels au test obligatoire ont été formulés ainsi que des propositions de mettre en quarantaine les personnes trouvées séropositives. Depuis, les développements politiques, technologiques et médicaux en matière de test et de traitement du VIH demeurent liés à de sérieuses questions juridiques et éthiques.

Le droit des droits humains requiert que le test du VIH inclue :

  • le consentement éclairé;
  • le counselling pré-test et post-test adapté à la personne testée, pour qu’elle puisse exprimer son consentement éclairé et comprendre le résultat; et
  • la garantie de confidentialité du résultat du test.

Ces éléments sont cruciaux à l’utilité du test du VIH en tant que mesure de santé publique, pour réduire la transmission du VIH et pour fournir des soins, des traitements et du soutien aux personnes dont le résultat est positif.

Nous travaillons sur plusieurs aspects juridiques et des droits humains en lien avec le test du VIH, notamment :

  • l’accès au test anonyme du VIH;
  • les politiques relatives au test du VIH et à l’immigration;
  • le test rapide du VIH;
  • les tests du VIH à domicile et l’accès au test du VIH hors du milieu des soins de santé;
  • le test dans les communautés autochtones du Canada;
  • le test « de routine » pour les femmes enceintes et les nouveau-nés;
  • le test de populations spécifiques, comme les détenus, les travailleuses et travailleurs du sexe, le personnel militaire; et
  • le test forcé après une exposition au VIH, en situation professionnelle ou non professionnelle.

Connaître ses droits

Cette série de brochures (disponible en 7 langues, y compris l’arabe, le chinois et l’espagnol) traite des droits en matière de vie privée et de confidentialité ainsi que des obligations de dévoilement, dans divers contextes du quotidien, pour les personnes qui vivent avec le VIH.

Pas de commentaire

Les femmes et le VIH – « Les femmes et le test de sérodiagnostic du VIH »

Ce feuillet fait partie d’une série de quatre, sur les droits humains des femmes qui vivent avec le VIH, ou qui y sont vulnérables, au Canada.

Pas de commentaire

Le dépistage obligatoire du VIH : questions et réponses

Plusieurs provinces canadiennes ont adopté des textes de loi qui autorisent le dépistage obligatoire du VIH sans le consentement de la personne visée. Le présent document fournit des renseignements sur l’exposition professionnelle au VIH et les questions relatives aux droits de la personne que soulève le dépistage obligatoire.

Pas de commentaire

Force excessive : survol de la législation provinciale sur le dépistage obligatoire du VIH

La présente brochure examine les textes de loi, en vigueur ou à l’étude en Ontario, en Alberta, en Nouvelle-Écosse, en Saskatchewan et au Manitoba, qui autorisent les tests obligatoires pour des maladies transmissibles par le sang comme le VIH. En conclusion, nous expliquons pourquoi le test obligatoire n’est ni justifié, ni nécessaire, et décrivons les […]

Pas de commentaire

Test de sérodiagnostic du VIH

Voici une série de douze feuillets d’information sur le test de sérodiagnostic du VIH au Canada. L’évolution de la technologie et des politiques relatives au test du VIH au Canada L’évolution des politiques sur le test du VIH Le consentement au test de sérodiagnostic du VIH Le counselling Le test anonyme du VIH La confidentialité […]

Pas de commentaire