PREVENTION TECHNOLOGIES

Prevention Technologies

aidslaw.ca/prevention

Prevention Technologies

Overview

Mass vaccination of populations is one of the most effective ways of fighting infectious disease — but there is not yet any effective vaccine against HIV.

Developing and distributing globally one or more effective HIV vaccines is crucial to ending the epidemic. Vaccine research and development efforts are only one part of a comprehensive response to the epidemic. Other complementary HIV prevention strategies, including microbicides that would help block sexual transmission of HIV, are equally important.

We encourage greater collaboration among activists in the fields of HIV treatments, microbicides and vaccines through our research and advocacy.

Legal questions and human rights issues include

  • ensuring informed consent to participate in clinical trials;
  • ensuring meaningful involvement of people living with HIV and marginalized people in decision-making about vaccine and other clinical trials in communities where trials are taking place;
  • human rights concerns specific to women, children or vulnerable persons involved in such trials (for example, gender inequality puts many women at greater risk of HIV infection because they are often unable to insist on condom use or other safer sex practices with their sexual partners, making vaccines and microbicides particularly important as a means of protection against HIV); and
  • ensuring universal access to microbicides and vaccines, once they are developed.

Canada’s HIV Vaccine Initiative: An open letter from Canadian organizations fighting HIV/AIDS

“We are people living with HIV, researchers, service-providers and community organizations working to prevent the spread of HIV and ensure care, treatment and support for those living with HIV, here at home and abroad. We call on you to ensure that these funds will remain committed to strengthening the response to HIV, and to ensure […]

No Comments

HIV Vaccines and Human Rights: Community Action Kit

This is a series of 12 info sheets: HIV/AIDS vaccines: The basics HIV/AIDS, vaccines and human rights Getting started: Approval of HIV vaccines trials Ensuring community participation in making decisions about HIV vaccine trials Informed consent and voluntary participation in HIV vaccine trials The right to prevention, care and confidentiality for HIV vaccine trials participants […]

No Comments

Technologies de prévention

Technologies de prévention

aidslaw.ca/laprevention

Technologies de prévention

Aperçu

La vaccination préventive est l’un des moyens les plus efficaces de lutter contre les maladies infectieuses — mais il n’existe encore aucun vaccin efficace contre le VIH.

Le développement et l’éventuelle distribution mondiale d’un ou de plusieurs vaccins anti-VIH efficaces sont cruciaux pour vaincre l’épidémie. Or les efforts de recherche et de développement de vaccins ne sont qu’un aspect d’une réponse complète à l’épidémie. D’autres stratégies complémentaires pour la prévention du VIH, notamment des microbicides qui contribueraient à bloquer la transmission sexuelle du VIH, sont également importantes.

Nous militons pour le développement d’une gamme élargie d’outils de prévention du VIH, et pour l’accès à ceux-ci, et nous encourageons la collaboration entre les militants des domaines des traitements, des microbicides et des vaccins anti-VIH.

Les enjeux juridiques et de droits de la personne incluent de :

  • Veiller à ce que la participation à des essais cliniques soit assujettie à un consentement éclairé;
  • Assurer l’implication significative des personnes vivant avec le VIH et des personnes marginalisées, dans les décisions au sujet des essais vaccinaux et autres essais cliniques dans les communautés où ils sont réalisés;
  • Prendre en considération des enjeux de droits humains spécifiques aux femmes, enfants et personnes vulnérables qui participent à des essais cliniques (p. ex., l’inégalité entre les sexes implique un plus grand risque pour les femmes de contracter le VIH car plusieurs ne sont pas en position d’insister sur l’usage du condom ou sur d’autres pratiques du sécurisexe, auprès de leurs partenaires sexuels — ce qui fait des vaccins et microbicides des moyens d’autant plus importants de se protéger contre le VIH); et
  • Assurer l’accès universel aux microbicides et vaccins lorsqu’ils seront au point.

Initiative canadienne de vaccin contre le VIH/sida : Lettre ouverte d’organismes canadiens de lutte contre le VIH/sida

« Nous sommes des personnes vivant avec le VIH, des chercheurs, des fournisseurs de services et des organisations communautaires qui travaillent à  prévenir la propagation du VIH et à  fournir des soins, des traitements et du soutien aux personnes qui vivent avec le VIH, ici et à  l’étranger. Nous vous prions instamment de faire en […]

Pas de commentaire

Vaccins anti-VIH et droits humains : Trousse d’action communautaire

Voici une série de 12 feuillets d’information portant sur les enjeux de droits humains liés aux vaccins anti-VIH. Vaccins anti-VIH/sida : notions de base VIH/sida, vaccins et droits humains Point de départ : l’approbation des essais cliniques de vaccins anti-VIH Assurer la participation communautaire aux décisions sur les essais cliniques de vaccins anti-VIH Consentement éclairé […]

Pas de commentaire