INCOME SECURITY

Income Security

aidslaw.ca/incomesecurity

Income Security

Overview

For people living with HIV, discrimination in employment can make it difficult or impossible for many of them to stay at work when they are ill, or to return to work when their health improves. As a result, they often rely on income security programs to meet their basic needs for food, housing, and medication.

We bring a legal and policy focus to this issue by analyzing and recommending reforms to the laws and policies that underpin income security programs, such as:

  • Employment Insurance sickness benefits;
  • Canada Pension Plan or Quebec Pension Plan disability benefit;
  • Private long-term disability insurance; and
  • Provincial and territorial social assistance programs.

Federal, provincial and territorial governments and the private insurance industry need to rethink and restructure disability income and related benefit programs. Income support programs must meet the needs of people living with HIV/AIDS and other disabling illnesses in a coordinated and comprehensive way.


Housing rights case dismissed — but a door remains open

February 4, 2015 It is estimated that 1.3 million people have experienced homelessness in Canada over the past five years. The country’s streets are host to some 235,000 people on any night, and many more struggle in inadequate or unreliable housing. Yet despite these unconscionable numbers, Canada does not have a federal housing strategy — […]

No Comments

More than a Motion: Tanudjaja and the Fight for Affordable Housing (Part 2)

November 21, 2014 Read Part 1 here In May 2014, social justice activists and lawyers, representatives of non-profit organizations, federal and provincial government lawyers and interested public crowded into the Ontario Court of Appeal to hear an appeal of a motion to dismiss in Tanudjaja v. Canada. The courtroom was so packed that a satellite […]

No Comments

HIV and the Right to Housing: An Intro to the Tanudjaja Case (Part 1)

November 13, 2014 In Canada, November 22nd is National Housing Strategy Day, an important time to reflect on housing and homelessness in our country. #NationalHousingDay — You can read more here. There’s nothing quite like the feeling of coming home. Sliding the key into your door lock, you enter a space that’s yours and protects […]

No Comments

HIV, Disability and Human Rights – Opportunities offered by the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities

There are many links between HIV and (other) disabilities. As a result, there are growing calls for partnership between HIV activists and disability activists in responding to human rights concerns, including discrimination. Related Publications VIH, Discapacidad y Derechos Humanos: Oportunidades que Ofrece la Convención de las Naciones Unidas sobre los Derechos de las Personas con […]

No Comments

Support for survival: barriers to income security for people living with HIV/AIDS and directions for reform

With this report, the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network seeks to contribute to the informed development of the laws, policies and programs people living with HIV/AIDS in Canada rely upon to provide them with income security when they are unable to meet their income needs through paid work. This goal is achieved in two ways. First, […]

No Comments

Sécurité du revenu

Sécurité du revenu

aidslaw.ca/revenu

Sécurité du revenu

Aperçu

Pour les personnes vivant avec le VIH/sida, la discrimination en milieu de travail peut rendre difficile, voire impossible, de conserver un emploi lorsqu’elles sont malades, ou de réintégrer leur emploi lorsque leur santé s’améliore. En conséquence, elles comptent souvent sur des programmes de sécurité du revenu, pour leurs besoins élémentaires de nourriture, de logement et de médicaments.

Nous analysons et recommandons des réformes aux lois et politiques qui sous-tendent des programmes de sécurité du revenu comme :

  • les prestations de maladie du régime d’assurance-emploi;
  • les prestations d’invalidité du Régime de pensions du Canada ou de la Régie des rentes du Québec;
  • l’assurance privée en cas d’invalidité à long terme; et
  • les programmes d’assistance sociale des provinces et territoires.

Les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ainsi que l’industrie de l’assurance privée doivent repenser et restructurer les régimes de revenu en cas d’invalidité et les programmes de prestations qui y sont associés. Les programmes de soutien du revenu doivent satisfaire, d’une manière coordonnée et complète, les besoins des personnes vivant avec le VIH/sida et avec d’autres problèmes de santé, y compris ceux qui peuvent causer une invalidité épisodique ou à long terme.


Une affaire sur le droit au logement est rejetée — mais une porte reste ouverte

4 février 2015 On estime que 1,3 million de personnes ont été sans toit, au Canada, au cours des cinq dernières années. La nuit, dans les rues du pays, 235 000 personnes dorment à la belle étoile, et un nombre encore plus important est touché par des enjeux de logement inadéquat ou instable. Malgré ces chiffres […]

Pas de commentaire

Bien plus qu’une requête en justice – Tanudjaja et la lutte pour le logement abordable (deuxième partie)

21 novembre 2014 Voir la première partie En mai 2014, des militants pour la justice sociale, des avocats, des représentants d’organismes sans but lucratif, des avocats des gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux, de même que des membres du public s’intéressant à l’enjeu ont convergé à la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario pour entendre un appel interjeté relativement […]

Pas de commentaire

Le VIH et le droit au logement – Introduction à l’affaire Tanudjaja (première partie)

13 novembre 2014 Au Canada, le 22 novembre est la Journée nationale pour une stratégie sur le logement – une date importante pour réfléchir à l’enjeu du logement et à l’itinérance dans notre pays. #NationalHousingDay Vous pouvez lire d’autres informations ici (en anglais). Rien ne se compare au sentiment de rentrer chez soi. Vous tournez la clé […]

Pas de commentaire

Le VIH, le handicap et les droits de la personne : Occasions offertes par la Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits des personnes handicapées

Plusieurs liens existent entre l’infection à  VIH et divers (autres) handicaps. Par conséquent, on souhaite de plus en plus que des partenariats s’établissent, entre activistes du domaine du VIH et activistes du domaine des handicaps, pour répondre aux préoccupations touchant les droits de la personne, y compris la discrimination. Publications Connexes VIH, Discapacidad y Derechos […]

Pas de commentaire

Du soutien pour la survie : obstacles à la sécurité du revenu pour les personnes vivant avec le VIH/sida et orientations pour une réforme

Par le présent rapport, le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida souhaite contribuer au développement éclairé de lois, de politiques et de programmes indispensables à la sécurité du revenu des personnes vivant avec le VIH/sida qui sont incapables de combler leur besoin de revenu par un travail rémunéré. Cet objectif est atteint de deux façons. Premièrement, le […]

Pas de commentaire