HIV Criminalization

HIV Criminalization

aidslaw.ca/criminalization

Criminalization | Criminalisation

Overview

In many countries, including Canada, people living with HIV are being convicted of serious criminal offences and sentenced to significant time in prison for not disclosing their HIV status — even when there is no transmission and people have taken highly effective precautions that mean the risk of transmission is exceedingly small. In other cases, people are facing more serious, discriminatory charges simply because they have HIV — even when there is no risk of transmission.

More

These misuses of the criminal law are often done in the name of public health. Yet there’s no good evidence that the criminalization of HIV non-disclosure and of people living with HIV is effective at preventing HIV transmission. In fact, HIV criminalization:

  • undermines effective public health initiatives, such as HIV testing, counselling and support, and partner notification;
  • creates a false sense of security that the law can and will protect people from HIV infection;
  • contradicts the message that every person is responsible for their own sexual health; and
  • leads to human rights abuses by increasing the stigma and discrimination faced by people living with HIV.

We’re working to limit the negative consequences of HIV criminalization by:

  • intervening in proceedings before Canadian courts and providing support to defence attorneys and people living with HIV;
  • engaging relevant policy-makers in developing evidence-informed guidance for police and prosecutors;
  • helping community-based HIV organizations to understand the legal landscape; and
  • providing comment and assistance to journalists reporting on this issue.

Less

Indigenous Communities and HIV Disclosure to Sexual Partners: Q&A

Indigenous Communities and HIV Disclosure to Sexual Partners

This brochure has been prepared by the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network with the Canadian Aboriginal AIDS Network. It will provide you with important information about the law in Canada as it relates to HIV disclosure.

Read more

lawyers-kit

Responding to the Criminalization of HIV Transmission or Exposure: Resources for lawyers and advocates

This kit provides both informative documentation to support lawyers in the preparation of their cases and selected publications that can ultimately be presented in court.

Read more

document-green

Canadian consensus statement on HIV and its transmission in the context of criminal law

A team of six Canadian medical experts on HIV and transmission led the development of a consensus statement on HIV sexual transmission.

Read more


Indigenous Communities and HIV Disclosure to Sexual Partners: Questions and Answers

While the criminal law is a blunt instrument to deal with complex issues such as disclosure or the root causes for HIV in Indigenous communities, it is the law in Canada, and it is important for you to know about it so you can make informed decisions about your sexual life. This brochure has been […]

No Comments

Turning Point: Annual Report 2015–2016

Highlights of our work in Canada and around the world from April 1, 2015, to March 31, 2016.

No Comments

Women living with HIV and intimate partner violence: Questions & Answers

This guide is for women, including trans women, who are living with HIV and who experience or are at risk of experiencing violence from their intimate partner. Intimate partner violence can be physical, emotional, psychological or sexual abuse from someone with whom you have or had an intimate relationship. Abuse by an intimate partner is not […]

No Comments

Consent: Community engagement discussion guide

This Discussion Guide was created for people who want to use the film Consent: HIV non-disclosure and sexual assault law to engage colleagues, clients, students and communities on the use of sexual assault law to criminalize HIV non-disclosure in Canada. It is meant to be used as a companion piece to the film. To watch Consent online, […]

No Comments

What Does Consent Really Mean? Rethinking HIV non-disclosure and sexual assault law

In April 2014, the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network hosted a ground-breaking workshop, Rethinking HIV Non-Disclosure and Sexual Assault: A Feminist Dialogue. Approximately 30 socio-legal scholars, criminologists, lawyers, anti-violence advocates, researchers, graduate students, people living with HIV, and other members of the feminist and HIV communities participated in a series of panels and roundtables. This report […]

No Comments

HIV stigma and Charlie Sheen’s outing: things to remember

November 17, 2015 In a television interview this week, actor Charlie Sheen revealed he is living with HIV, claiming that part of his reason for doing so is to put an end to years of rumours as well as extortion through threats of revealing his status. His revelation has prompted a flurry of media attention […]

No Comments

HIV Disclosure to Sexual Partners: Questions and answers for newcomers

This brochure — in five languages — will help newcomers to Canada make informed decisions about disclosing to sexual partners. 

No Comments

Consent: HIV Non-Disclosure and Sexual Assault Law

A new documentary film on HIV non-disclosure and sexual assault law — produced by the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network and Goldelox Productions

No Comments

Bringing Science to Justice: Beyond the Canadian Consensus Statement on HIV and its Transmission in the Context of Criminal Law

May 7, 2015 On April 30, the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network co-hosted this ancillary event at the Annual Canadian Conference on HIV/AIDS Research (CAHR), along with the Canadian Experts on HIV and Transmission Team, and HIV & AIDS Legal Clinic Ontario (HALCO). In 2012, the Supreme Court of Canada took a step in the wrong […]

No Comments

R. v. W.: HIV non-disclosure back at the Supreme Court — but with a twist

On December 8, 2014, the Supreme Court of Canada heard R. v. W., an HIV non-disclosure case in which the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network the HIV & AIDS Legal Clinic Ontario (HALCO) and COCQ-SIDA (the provincial network of HIV organizations in Quebec) intervened. In this case, a man living with HIV was appealing his conviction […]

No Comments

Punishing condition: Richard Elliott and Michael Orsini on why the criminalization of HIV non-disclosure is a step backwards

The following op-ed was published in the November 24, 2014 edition of the Winnipeg Free Press. Michael Orsini is director of the Institute of Feminist and Gender Studies and associate professor in the School of Political Studies at the University of Ottawa. Richard Elliott is executive director of the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network. We’ve made great […]

No Comments

Stay informed: The Legal Network’s new resources on criminalization of HIV non-disclosure

Blog by Cécile Kazatchkine, Senior Policy Analyst The overly broad criminalization of HIV is not a uniquely Canadian problem. In many countries around the world, a person living with HIV can be prosecuted, convicted and sent to prison for not disclosing their status, exposing someone to HIV or transmitting the virus. The situation in Canada is particularly infuriating at this juncture […]

No Comments

Criminal Law & HIV Non-Disclosure in Canada

This is a series of three info sheets on the criminalization of HIV non-disclosure in Canada: The obligation to disclose HIV-positive status under Canadian criminal law The criminalization of HIV non-disclosure in Canada and internationally Criminalization, public policy and community responses

No Comments

Sex, criminal law and HIV non-disclosure (video)

This short, two-part video series addresses the urgent, pressing legal issue of criminalization of HIV non-disclosure in Canada,

No Comments

Criminalization of HIV Non-Disclosure in Canada (webinar)

A series of 23 short videos on the criminalization of HIV non-disclosure in Canada, produced in July 2014 by the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network. Cécile Kazatchkine, Senior Policy Analyst at the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network, answers questions for people living with HIV about disclosure and the criminal law in Canada. We recommend that you watch […]

No Comments

Judging the epidemic: A judicial handbook on HIV, human rights and the law

Judging the epidemic has been prepared as a resource to help judges, magistrates, arbitrators and other judicial officers throughout the world adjudicate cases involving HIV-related issues. This handbook may also be used by judicial trainers and ministries of justice to deliver educational programmes to judges and magistrates on legal issues related to HIV and human […]

No Comments

HIV non-disclosure and criminal law: Implications of recent Supreme Court of Canada decisions for people living with HIV

On October 5, 2012, the Supreme Court of Canada released its decisions in the cases of Mabior and D.C. The Court decided that people living with HIV have a legal duty, under the criminal law, to disclose their HIV-positive status to sexual partners before having sex that poses a “realistic possibility” of HIV transmission. Not […]

No Comments

HIV non-disclosure and the criminal law: A summary of two recent decisions of the Supreme Court of Canada

On October 5, 2012, the Supreme Court of Canada released important decisions in two cases of HIV non-disclosure; namely, R. v. Mabior and R. v. D.C. Mabior is a man who had sex with several women without disclosing his HIV-positive status. D.C. is a woman who had sex with her abusive former partner once before […]

No Comments

HIV Disclosure and the Law: A Resource Kit for Service Providers

This Resource Kit is intended to provide both people living with HIV and service providers with useful information and tools to make informed and empowered choices about how to respond to the criminalization of HIV non-disclosure.

No Comments

Women and HIV – “Women and the Criminalization of HIV Non-Disclosure”

This is one in a series of four info sheets on the human rights of women living with or vulnerable to HIV in Canada.

No Comments

Section 3: Useful case law and guidance (international) (Lawyers’ Resource Kit)

This is Section 3 of Responding to the Criminalization of HIV Transmission or Exposure: Resources for lawyers and advocates. Access the full kit at aidslaw.ca/lawyers-kit. The context of criminal prosecutions related to HIV varies widely from jurisdiction to jurisdiction. This section highlights some important and useful case law internationally, guidelines for prosecutors which limit the […]

No Comments

Section 2: Learning about the law (Canada and other countries) (Lawyers’ Resource Kit)

This is Section 2 of Responding to the Criminalization of HIV Transmission or Exposure: Resources for lawyers and advocates. Access the full kit at aidslaw.ca/lawyers-kit. This section provides detailed descriptions of the applicable national laws on HIV transmission and/or exposure, key decisions from national courts (some also included below in section 3), as well as […]

No Comments

Section 1: Understanding your client and your case (Lawyers’ Resource Kit)

This is Section 1 of Responding to the Criminalization of HIV Transmission or Exposure: Resources for lawyers and advocates. Access the full kit at aidslaw.ca/lawyers-kit. Some lawyers and service providers have lots of experience with HIV, while others may not have as much. There are a lot of common misconceptions about HIV — and left […]

No Comments

Section 6: The case against overcriminalization (Lawyers’ Resource Kit)

This is Section 6 of Responding to the Criminalization of HIV Transmission or Exposure: Resources for lawyers and advocates. Access the full kit at aidslaw.ca/lawyers-kit. This section provides information about the criminalization of HIV non-disclosure, exposure and/or transmission across the world as well as actions taken to reduce inappropriate use of the criminal law against […]

No Comments

Section 5: International recommendations (Lawyers’ Resource Kit)

This is Section 5 of Responding to the Criminalization of HIV Transmission or Exposure: Resources for lawyers and advocates. Access the full kit at aidslaw.ca/lawyers-kit. This section provides international recommendations on the use of criminal law in cases of HIV non-disclosure, transmission and/or exposure. UN Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, General comment No. […]

No Comments

Section 4: Understanding the science (Lawyers’ Resource Kit)

This is Section 4 of Responding to the Criminalization of HIV Transmission or Exposure: Resources for lawyers and advocates. Access the full kit at aidslaw.ca/lawyers-kit. This section provides a detailed and fully referenced compilation of the latest scientific evidence and materials regarding treatment, per-act risks of HIV transmission and proving actual HIV transmission from one […]

No Comments

Responding to the Criminalization of HIV Transmission or Exposure: Resources for lawyers and advocates

In response to the increasing use of criminal law internationally, as well as to the great need to develop tools for lawyers representing people living with HIV, this resource kit provides both informative documentation to support lawyers in the preparation of their cases and selected publications that can ultimately be presented in court.

No Comments

Criminalisation du VIH

Criminalisation du VIH

aidslaw.ca/criminalisation

Criminalization | Criminalisation

Aperçu

Dans plusieurs pays, dont le Canada, des personnes vivant avec le VIH ont été déclarées coupables de graves infractions criminelles et condamnées à des peines d’emprisonnement considérables, pour n’avoir pas divulgué leur séropositivité au VIH — même lorsqu’il n’y a pas eu transmission et qu’elles ont pris des précautions très efficaces pour réduire le risque de transmission à un niveau très minime. Dans d’autres cas, des personnes font l’objet d’accusations discriminatoires encore plus graves, simplement parce qu’elles ont le VIH — même en l’absence de risque de transmission.

Plus

Ce mésusage du droit criminel est souvent exercé en invoquant la santé publique. Pourtant, il n’y a pas de données probantes démontrant l’efficacité de la criminalisation de la non-divulgation de la séropositivité au VIH et des personnes vivant avec le VIH pour prévenir la transmission de l’infection. En fait, la criminalisation du VIH :

  • entrave des initiatives de santé publique efficaces comme le test du VIH, le counselling, le soutien et la notification des partenaires;
  • engendre un faux sentiment de sécurité, en faisant croire à des gens que la loi peut les protéger contre le VIH;
  • nuit au message selon lequel chaque personne est responsable de sa propre santé sexuelle; et
  • entraîne des violations de droits de la personne en intensifiant la stigmatisation et la discrimination à l’égard des personnes vivant avec le VIH.

Nous travaillons à limiter les conséquences néfastes de la criminalisation du VIH :

  • en intervenant dans des affaires devant des tribunaux canadiens et en fournissant du soutien aux avocats de la défense et aux personnes vivant avec le VIH;
  • en impliquant les responsables de politiques pertinents dans le développement d’orientations éclairées par des données probantes, à l’intention des forces policières et des procureurs;
  • en aidant des organismes communautaires de lutte contre le VIH à comprendre le contexte juridique; et
  • en fournissant des commentaires et une assistance aux journalistes qui traitent de la question.

Moins

red-ribbon

La divulgation du VIH aux partenaires sexuels : Questions et réponses pour les nouveaux arrivants

Cette brochure — en cinq langues — aidera les nouveaux arrivants au Canada à prendre des décisions éclairées en matière de divulgation aux partenaires sexuels.

En savoir plus

lawyers-kit

Faire face à la criminalisation de l’exposition au VIH ou de sa transmission : Ressources pour avocats et militants

Cette trousse contient de la documentation à teneur informative pour aider les avocats dans la préparation de leurs dossiers; elle renferme aussi une sélection de publications qui pourraient être présentées en cour.

En savoir plus

document-green

Énoncé de consensus canadien sur le VIH et sa transmission dans le contexte du droit criminel

Une équipe de six experts médicaux canadiens du VIH et de sa transmission a élaboré un énoncé de consensus sur la transmission sexuelle du VIH.

En savoir plus


Consentement: Guide de discussion communautaire

Ce guide a été créé pour les personnes qui veulent utiliser le film Consentement: La non-divulgation du VIH et la loi sur l’agression sexuelle pour stimuler des échanges avec leurs collègues, leurs clients, leurs étudiants et leurs communautés. Le guide est utile à l’organisation de projections du film Consentement. Regardez Consentement en ligne : www.consentfilm.org/fr.

Pas de commentaire

Que signifie réellement « CONSENTIR »? Repenser la non-divulgation du VIH et l’agression sexuelle

En avril 2014, le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida a organisé un atelier sans précédent, intitulé Rethinking HIV Non-Disclosure and Sexual Assault: A Feminist Dialogue [Repenser la non-divulgation du VIH et l’agression sexuelle : un dialogue féministe]. Approximativement 30 invité-es – des érudits du domaine sociojuridique, criminologues, militants antiviolence, chercheurs, étudiants de cycles supérieurs, personnes vivant […]

Pas de commentaire

La stigmatisation liée au VIH et la sortie publique de Charlie Sheen : choses à retenir

17 novembre 2015 En entrevue télévisée cette semaine, l’acteur Charlie Sheen a révélé qu’il vivait avec le VIH. Il explique avoir fait cette annonce en partie pour mettre fin à des années de rumeurs et d’extorsions par lesquelles on le menaçait de dévoiler son état. Sa révélation a soulevé un tourbillon d’attention médiatique ainsi que […]

Pas de commentaire

La divulgation du VIH aux partenaires sexuels : Questions et réponses pour les nouveaux arrivants

Cette brochure — en 5 langues — aidera les nouveaux arrivants à prendre des décisions éclairées en matière de divulgation à vos partenaires sexuels. Elle offre de l’information importante au sujet du droit criminel au Canada, au sujet de la santé publique ainsi que sur les implications particulières pour les nouveaux arrivants, y compris les […]

Pas de commentaire

Consentement : La non-divulgation du VIH et la loi sur l’agression sexuelle

Un nouveau film documentaire au sujet de la non-divulgation du VIH et la loi sur l’agression sexuelle, et produit par le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida et Goldelox Productions

Pas de commentaire

La justice par la science : Au-delà de l’Énoncé de consensus canadien sur le VIH et sa transmission dans le contexte du droit criminel

7 mai 2015 Le 30 avril, le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida a coparrainé cet événement connexe au Congrès annuel canadien de recherche sur le VIH/sida (ACRV 2015), en collaboration avec l’Équipe d’experts canadiens du VIH et de sa transmission, et la HIV & AIDS Legal Clinic Ontario (HALCO). En 2012, la Cour suprême du Canada […]

Pas de commentaire

R. c. W. : La non-divulgation du VIH de retour à la Cour suprême, mais avec une variante

Le 8 décembre 2014, la Cour suprême du Canada a entendu R. c. W., une affaire relative à la non-divulgation du VIH dans laquelle le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida est intervenu avec le HIV & AIDS Legal Clinic Ontario (HALCO) et la COCQ-SIDA (la coalitions des organismes communautaires québécois  de lutte contre le VIH/Sida). Dans […]

Pas de commentaire

(English) Punishing condition: Richard Elliott and Michael Orsini on why the criminalization of HIV non-disclosure is a step backwards

Désolé, cet article est seulement disponible en anglais canadien.

Pas de commentaire

Informez-vous: les nouvelles ressources sur la criminalisation de la non-divulgation du VIH

Blogue par Cécile Kazatchkine, analyste principale des politiques La criminalisation du VIH n’est pas un problème proprement canadien. Dans de nombreux pays du monde, une personne vivant avec le VIH peut être poursuivie, condamnée et envoyée en prison pour ne pas avoir dévoilé sa séropositivité, pour avoir exposé quelqu’un au VIH ou transmis le virus. Mais tandis que […]

Pas de commentaire

Le droit criminel et la non-divulgation du VIH au Canada

Voici une série de trois feuillets d’information portant sur le droit criminel et la non-divulgation du VIH au Canada : L’obligation de divulguer sa séropositivité au VIH en droit criminel canadien La criminalisation de la non-divulgation de la séropositivité au VIH, au Canada et dans le monde La criminalisation, les politiques publiques et les réponses […]

Pas de commentaire

Droit criminel, sexe et non-divulgation du VIH (vidéo)

Cette courte série de vidéos à deux parties répond aux questions des personnes vivant avec le VIH sur le droit criminel

Pas de commentaire

Criminalisation et non-divulgation du VIH au Canada (webinaire)

Une série de 21 vidéos sur la criminalisation de la non-divulgation du VIH au Canada. Cette série a été réalisée en juillet 2014 par le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida. Cécile Kazatchkine, Analyste principale des politiques au Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida, répond aux questions des personnes vivant avec le VIH sur le droit criminel et la […]

Pas de commentaire

(English) Judging the epidemic: A judicial handbook on HIV, human rights and the law

Désolé, cet article est seulement disponible en anglais canadien.

Pas de commentaire

La non-divulgation du VIH et le droit criminel : Implications pratiques des récentes décisions de la Cour suprême du Canada pour les personnes vivant avec le VIH

Le 5 octobre 2012, la Cour suprême du Canada a rendu ses décisions dans les affaires Mabior et D.C. La Cour a jugé que les personnes vivant avec le VIH ont l’obligation légale, en vertu du droit criminel, de divulguer leur séropositivité au VIH à leurs partenaires avant d’avoir des rapports sexuels comportant une « […]

Pas de commentaire

HIV non-disclosure and the criminal law: A summary of two recent decisions of the Supreme Court of Canada

On October 5, 2012, the Supreme Court of Canada released important decisions in two cases of HIV non-disclosure; namely, R. v. Mabior and R. v. D.C. Mabior is a man who had sex with several women without disclosing his HIV-positive status. D.C. is a woman who had sex with her abusive former partner once before […]

Pas de commentaire

La divulgation du VIH et le droit : Une trousse de ressources pour les fournisseurs de services

Cette

Pas de commentaire

Les femmes et le VIH – « Les femmes et la criminalisation de la non-divulgation de la séropositivité au VIH »

Ce feuillet fait partie d’une série de quatre, sur les droits humains des femmes qui vivent avec le VIH, ou qui y sont vulnérables, au Canada.

Pas de commentaire

Section 3 : Jurisprudence utile et conseils (international) (Ressources pour avocats)

Ceci est la Section 3 de Faire face à la criminalisation de l’exposition au VIH ou de sa transmission : Ressources pour avocats et militants. La trousse complète de ressources est accessible à aidslaw.ca/kit-avocats. Le contexte des poursuites criminelles relatives au VIH varie grandement d’une juridiction à l’autre. Cette section met en avant les décisions […]

Pas de commentaire

Section 2 : La situation du droit (Canada et autres pays) (Ressources pour avocats)

Ceci est la Section 2 de Faire face à la criminalisation de l’exposition au VIH ou de sa transmission : Ressources pour avocats et militants. La trousse complète de ressources est accessible à aidslaw.ca/kit-avocats. Cette section comprend des descriptions détaillées du droit applicable au niveau national en matière d’exposition au VIH ou de sa transmission, […]

Pas de commentaire

Section 1 : Vivre avec le VIH

Ceci est la Section 1 de Faire face à la criminalisation de l’exposition au VIH ou de sa transmission : Ressources pour avocats et militants. La trousse complète de ressources est accessible à aidslaw.ca/kit-avocats. Certains avocats et fournisseurs de services connaissent bien le VIH et les réalités de la vie avec le VIH. D’autres sont […]

Pas de commentaire

Section 6 : Lutter contre la surcriminalisation (Ressources pour avocats)

Ceci est la Section 6 de Faire face à la criminalisation de l’exposition au VIH ou de sa transmission : Ressources pour avocats et militants. La trousse complète de ressources est accessible à aidslaw.ca/kit-avocats. Cette section contient des informations sur la criminalisation de la non-divulgation, l’exposition et/ou la transmission du VIH à travers le monde […]

Pas de commentaire

Section 5 : Recommandations internationales (Ressources pour avocats)

Ceci est la Section 5 de Faire face à la criminalisation de l’exposition au VIH ou de sa transmission : Ressources pour avocats et militants. La trousse complète de ressources est accessible à aidslaw.ca/kit-avocats. Cette section présente les recommandations internationales sur le recours au droit pénal dans des affaires relatives à la non-divulgation, l’exposition ou […]

Pas de commentaire

Section 4 : Comprendre la science (Ressources pour avocats)

Ceci est la Section 4 de Faire face à la criminalisation de l’exposition au VIH ou de sa transmission : Ressources pour avocats et militants. La trousse complète de ressources est accessible à aidslaw.ca/kit-avocats. Cette section présente un recueil détaillé et des références complètes des données scientifiques les plus récentes sur les traitements, le degré […]

Pas de commentaire

Faire face à la criminalisation de l’exposition au VIH ou de sa transmission : Ressources pour avocats et militants

En réponse au recours croissant au droit pénal à l’échelle internationale et devant le besoin criant des avocats représentant des personnes vivant avec le VIH/sida d’être suffisamment outillés pour traiter ce type d’affaire, cette trousse contient de la documentation à teneur informative pour aider les avocats dans la préparation de leurs dossiers; elle renferme aussi […]

Pas de commentaire