Natasha Potvin

Natasha Potvin joined the Legal Network’s board of directors in 2017.

She has been involved in the sex industry for over two decades. For the last ten years, she has been actively working to advance the human rights of people who are living with HIV, people who use drugs, and people who are involved in the sex industry. She has advocated at international, national and local levels for the safety, social inclusion and the rights of sex workers. Natasha has been focusing her energies on Canadian laws that impact sex work, particularly Bill C-36. In June of 2014, she was invited to share her perspective as a sex worker during the hearings on Bill C-36 held at the House of Commons.

Natasha currently works at AIDS Vancouver Island in Victoria, B.C., as a support worker for the organization’s drop-in centre and overdose prevention room. She has served as a board member of Peers Victoria, a resource for people who are involved in the sex industry, and has been a consultant for the Advisory Group of the Global Coalition on Women and AIDS.

In 2013, she worked as a bilingual research coordinator on “Gender, Violence and Health: Contexts of vulnerabilities, resiliencies and care among people in the sex industry,” a project funded by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research that included multiple researchers located in various sites across Canada.

This entry was posted in Board Member. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Natasha Potvin

Natasha Potvin s’est jointe au conseil d’administration du Réseau juridique en 2017.

Elle participe à l’industrie du sexe depuis plus de deux décennies. Depuis dix ans, elle travaille activement à l’avancement des droits humains des personnes qui vivent avec le VIH/sida, des personnes qui consomment des drogues et des personnes qui sont impliquées dans l’industrie du sexe. Elle milite aux paliers international, national et local pour la sécurité, l’inclusion sociale et les droits des travailleuses du sexe. Elle a consacré ses énergies aux lois canadiennes qui affectent le travail du sexe, en l’occurrence le Projet de loi C-36. En juin 2014, elle a été invitée à partager sa perspective en tant que travailleuse du sexe lors des audiences de la Chambre des communes sur ce projet de loi.

Natasha est actuellement intervenante de soutien au centre sans rendez-vous d’AIDS Vancouver Island (AVI) et dans sa salle de prévention des surdoses. Elle a siégé au conseil d’administration de Peers Victoria, une ressource pour les personnes impliquées dans l’industrie du sexe, et a été consultante auprès du Groupe consultatif de la Coalition mondiale sur les femmes et le sida. 

En 2013, elle a travaillé comme coordonnatrice bilingue de la recherche « Gender, Violence and Health: Contexts of vulnerabilities, resiliencies and care among people in the sex industry », un projet financé par les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, qui incluait de multiples chercheuses et sites d’un bout à l’autre du pays.

Cet article a été publié dans Board Member. Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.