Media Statement: Civil Society Organizations Renew Call for Drug Decriminalization

Civil Society Organizations Renew Call for Drug Decriminalization

The Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police now recognizes harms of criminalization

The following statement is issued by the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network, the Canadian Drug Policy Coalition, and Pivot Legal Society.

 

July 10, 2020 — Yesterday, the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police (CACP) released a report calling for an end to the criminalization of simple drug possession (i.e. possession for personal use). Police chiefs across the country “agree the evidence suggests, and numerous Canadian health leaders support, decriminalization for simple possession as an effective way to reduce the public health and public safety harms associated with substance use.” The report affirms that a “compelling case” has been made for “transformative change” to Canada’s current approach to drug possession. We welcome this important acknowledgement by law enforcement and urge the federal government to decriminalize now.

 

Support for change is growing. Public health experts and civil society organizations across the country have long called for drug decriminalization. Now the CACP has publicly added its voice to the call to end the criminalization of simple possession.

The way forward is clear: We need full decriminalization that leaves behind any and all criminal sanctions and other penalties for the offence of possession.

Our current system of criminalization causes myriad harms to public health and to racialized communities, including the over policing and prosecution of Black and Indigenous communities. Criminalization is rooted in, and also drives, stigma and racism. This is wrong and must end.

In Canada, there is a simple and immediate remedy to the harms of punitive drug policy. Federal Minister of Health Patty Hajdu can effectively decriminalize simple drug possession by granting a nation-wide exemption from this offence under section 56 of the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act. There is no need, nor any excuse, for delay, particularly amid unprecedented overdose deaths. We call for greater investment in health services, including culturally sensitive harm reduction and treatment options, and for action to ensure a safer supply of drugs than the toxic illegal market. But these measures must happen in addition to — not instead of — immediate decriminalization. We can and must remove all penalties, whether criminal, administrative, or other, for simple drug possession now.

-30-

Interviews

We have legal and drug policy experts available for interview in both English and French. See contact details below.

 

More Information:

Our recent open letter to the federal government has been co-signed by more than 160 organizations nationwide, representing thousands of Canadians. It outlines the depth of support for decriminalization of simple drug possession and solutions that the federal government can take immediately.

 

Contact

Janet Butler-McPhee, Director Communications and Advocacy

Mobile: +1 647 295 0861    Email: jbutler@aidslaw.ca

This entry was posted in Drug policy, English, French, News, Our Work, Pub Language and tagged . Publication Topics: . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
Author
Topics
Language

DÉCLARATION : DES ORGANISMES DE LA SOCIÉTÉ CIVILE RÉITÈRENT LEUR APPEL À DÉCRIMINALISER LES DROGUES

Des organismes de la société civile réitèrent leur appel à décriminaliser les drogues

L’Association canadienne des chefs de police (ACCP) reconnaît à présent les préjudices liés à la criminalisation

La présente déclaration est publiée conjointement par le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida,
la Coalition canadienne des politiques sur les drogues et la Pivot Legal Society.

 

10 juillet 2020 — L’Association canadienne des chefs de police (ACCP) a publié hier un rapport appelant à mettre fin à la criminalisation de la possession de drogues pour usage personnel. Les chefs de police de l’ensemble du pays « conviennent, à l’instar de nombreux leaders canadiens en santé, des preuves selon lesquelles la décriminalisation de la possession de drogues pour un usage personnel est un moyen efficace de réduire les préjudices à la santé publique et à la sécurité publique associés à la consommation de substances » [trad.]. Le rapport affirme que des « arguments convaincants » appuient un « changement transformatif » à l’approche actuelle du Canada en matière de possession de drogues. Nous accueillons favorablement cette importante reconnaissance de la part des forces de l’ordre et exhortons le gouvernement à décriminaliser immédiatement les drogues.

 

L’appui à ce changement est croissant. Des expert-es en santé publique et des organismes de la société civile des quatre coins du pays réclament depuis longtemps la décriminalisation. L’ACCP ajoute à présent sa voix à cet appel pour mettre fin à la criminalisation de la possession de drogues pour usage personnel.

La voie à suivre est claire : nous avons besoin d’une décriminalisation complète qui supprime toutes les sanctions pénales et autres peines pour l’infraction de possession.

Notre système actuel de criminalisation cause une myriade de préjudices à la santé publique et aux communautés racisées, notamment la surveillance et les poursuites excessives à l’endroit des communautés noires et autochtones. La criminalisation s’enracine dans la stigmatisation et le racisme, dont elle est le moteur. Ceci est inacceptable et doit cesser.

Au Canada, il existe une solution simple et immédiate aux préjudices des politiques punitives en matière de drogues. La ministre fédérale de la Santé Patty Hajdu peut effectivement décriminaliser la possession de drogues pour usage personnel en accordant une exemption nationale de cette infraction en vertu de l’article 56 de la Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances. Aucun délai n’est requis ou justifié, particulièrement dans le contexte d’un nombre sans précédent de décès par surdose. Nous demandons un investissement accru dans les services de santé, y compris dans des options de réduction des méfaits et de traitement sensibles à la culture, de même que des mesures pour assurer un approvisionnement en drogues qui soit plus sécuritaire que le marché illégal toxique. Mais ces mesures doivent s’ajouter – et non se substituer – à une décriminalisation immédiate. Nous pouvons et devons supprimer dès maintenant toutes les sanctions liées à la possession de drogues pour usage personnel, qu’elles soient pénales, administratives ou autres.

-30-

Interviews

Nos expert-es en droit et en politiques sur les drogues se tiennent à votre disposition pour des interviews en anglais et en français. Voir les coordonnées ci-dessous.

 

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Notre récente lettre ouverte au gouvernement fédéral a été signée par plus de 160 organismes à travers le pays, représentant des milliers de Canadien-nes. Elle démontre l’ampleur de l’appui à la décriminalisation de la possession de drogues pour usage personnel et signale des solutions que le gouvernement fédéral peut adopter dès maintenant.

 

Contact

Janet Butler-McPhee, directrice des communications et du plaidoyer

Cellulaire : +1 647 295 0861             Courriel : jbutler@aidslaw.ca

Cet article a été publié dans Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Français, News, Our Work, Pub Language avec les mots-clefs . Publication Topics: . Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.
Auteur
Sujet
Langue