Marilou Gagnon

Marilou Gagnon joined the Legal Network’s board of directors in 2013 for a first mandate and a second mandate in 2015. She currently serves as Chair of the Board.

Marilou is Associate Professor at the School of Nursing, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Ottawa and Director of the Unit for Critical Research in Health. Her work is underpinned by critical and sociopolitical approaches. Her fields of study include questions related to the body and technology, power and discourse, and social justice. As a member of the University Chair in Forensic Nursing, she is working on a number of projects on HIV criminalization, HIV-related stigma and discrimination in health care settings, and human rights.

Marilou served on the board of directors of the Canadian Association of Nurses in AIDS Care (CANAC) and was elected twice consecutively as Quebec representative (2009–2013). She also served on the board of the Bureau Régional d’Action Sida (BRAS) in Gatineau (2012-2014). She continues to work with CANAC as Expert Advisor: Policy, Research and Advocacy.

Marilou completed a Nursing degree at John Abbott College in 2002, a baccalaureate degree in Nursing at Université de Montréal in 2005, and transferred to the Ph.D. Nursing program at University of Ottawa in 2006. She completed a postdoctoral fellowship with Act Up-Paris and postdoctoral studies at the Simone de Beauvoir Institute, Concordia University, in 2010.

This entry was posted in Board Member. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Marilou Gagnon — Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network

Marilou Gagnon

Marilou Gagnon s’est jointe au conseil d’administration du Réseau juridique en 2013 pour un premier mandat et un deuxième mandat en 2015. Elle est présentement présidente du conseil.

Marilou est professeure agrégée à l’École des sciences infirmières de la Faculté des sciences de la santé, et directrice de l’Unité de recherches critiques en santé, à l’Université d’Ottawa. Son travail, fondé sur des approches sociopolitiques et critiques, concerne les questions du corps et de la technologie, du pouvoir et du discours, et de la justice sociale. En tant que membre de la Chaire de recherche universitaire en soins infirmiers médico-légaux, elle travaille à divers projets qui touchent la criminalisation du VIH, la stigmatisation et la discrimination associées au VIH dans le milieu des soins de santé, et les droits de la personne.

Marilou a siégé au conseil d’administration de l’Association canadienne des infirmières et infirmiers en sidologie (CANAC); elle y a complété deux mandats consécutifs à titre de représentante du Québec (2009–2013). Elle a aussi siégé sur le conseil d’administration du Bureau Régional d’Action Sida (BRAS) à Gatineau (2012-2014). Elle continue de travailler avec CANAC à titre d’Experte conseil : recherche, politiques et militantisme.

Marilou a obtenu un diplôme de soins infirmiers du Collège John Abbott en 2002, et un baccalauréat en soins infirmiers de l’Université de Montréal en 2005; elle a été transférée au programme de doctorat en soins infirmiers de l’Université d’Ottawa en 2006. Elle a effectué un stage de recherche postdoctorale chez Act Up-Paris et a complété des études postdoctorales à l’Institut Simone de Beauvoir de l’Université Concordia en 2010.

Cet article a été publié dans Board Member. Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.