Louis Letellier de St. Just

Louis Letellier de St. Just joined the Legal Network’s board of directors in 2010.

Louis is a practising lawyer whose focus since 1983 has been exclusively on the practice of health law with special emphasis on administrative law, as well as on human rights legal issues, particularly related to HIV/AIDS and mental health.

Since 1990, Louis has been a consultant for Quebec’s Ministry of Health and Social Services on HIV/AIDS issues related to harm reduction, discrimination, privacy, access to services and the protection of human rights.  He also serves as legal counsel for numerous agencies working on HIV/AIDS and harm reduction, including the Clinique médicale l’Actuel, one of Canada’s leading clinics for patients living with HIV/AIDS and other blood-borne infections.

He serves as board president for several health organizations, including Cactus-Montréal, a community action centre for intravenous drug users. He is also a member of the WHO expert committee on Mental Health and Human Rights.

Louis obtained a civil law degree from the University of Ottawa and was called to the Quebec Bar in 1983. He completed a Masters degree in health law from the University of Sherbrooke in 1984.  From 1985 to 1998, he was Professor and guest lecturer at the University of Montréal where he taught courses in health law and in science and law.

This entry was posted in Board Member. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Louis Letellier de St. Just

Louis Letellier de St. Just s’est joint au conseil d’administration du Réseau juridique en 2010.

Avocat actif, il se consacre depuis 1983 exclusivement au droit de la santé avec une emphase particulière sur le droit administratif, et aux enjeux juridiques de droits humains en lien avec le VIH/sida et la santé mentale.

Depuis 1990, il est consultant pour le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec, sur des enjeux liés au VIH/sida et à la réduction des méfaits, la discrimination, la vie privée, l’accès aux services et la protection des droits humains. Il est aussi conseiller juridique pour de nombreuses agences du domaine du VIH/sida et de la réduction des méfaits, comme la Clinique médicale l’Actuel, l’une des plus importantes cliniques au Canada pour les personnes vivant avec le VIH/sida et d’autres infections à transmission hématogène.

Il est président du conseil d’administration de divers organismes de santé, notamment Cactus-Montréal, un centre d’action communautaire pour les utilisateurs de drogue par injection. Il est également membre du Comité d’experts de l’OMS sur la santé mentale et les droits de l’homme.

Titulaire d’un diplôme en droit civil de l’Université d’Ottawa, il a été admis au Barreau du Québec en 1983. Il a complété une maîtrise en droit de la santé à l’Université de Sherbrooke en 1984.  De 1985 à 1998, il a été professeur et conférencier invité à l’Université de Montréal, où il donnait des cours sur le droit de la santé et sur la science et le droit.

Cet article a été publié dans Board Member. Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.