Letter to Attorney General of Ontario Yasir Naqvi re: HIV and Criminal Law

“On behalf of the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network, I am writing to you because we are deeply concerned about Ontario’s approach to prosecuting allegations of HIV non-disclosure. We request that you immediately undertake the following actions to put an end to unjust and harmful prosecutions of people living with HIV:

1. Impose an immediate moratorium on all HIV non-disclosure prosecutions, unless there is alleged intentional transmission of HIV, while law reform options are being explored and sound prosecutorial guidelines are being developed — in conjunction with the community — to limit the current misuse and overextension of the criminal law.

2. Publicly state that the Ministry of the Attorney General (MAG) is committed to ending the overly broad application of the criminal law in cases of alleged HIV non-disclosure and to reviewing Ontario’s approach to these prosecutions.

3. Engage in meaningful dialogue with the Ontario Working Group on Criminal Law and HIV Exposure (CLHE) as well as people living with HIV and scientific experts when developing prosecutorial guidelines and other responses to this issue.”

This entry was posted in Advocacy, English, French, HIV Criminalization, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications. Publication Topics: . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
Author
Topics
Doc Type
Language

Lettre au Procureur général de l’Ontario Yasir Naqvi sur le VIH et le droit criminel

« Je vous adresse la présente au nom du Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida en raison de profondes préoccupations concernant l’approche de l’Ontario à l’égard des poursuites pour des allégations de non-divulgation du VIH. Nous vous demandons de prendre immédiatement les mesures suivantes afin d’arrêter les poursuites injustes et néfastes à l’encontre des personnes vivant avec le VIH :

1. Décréter un moratoire immédiat sur toutes les poursuites pour non-divulgation du VIH, à moins qu’il y ait allégation de transmission intentionnelle du VIH et ce, le temps d’explorer les options de réforme du droit et de développer, avec la communauté, des lignes directrices pour les procureurs pour limiter le mésusage actuel du droit criminel et son utilisation excessive.
2. Déclarer publiquement que le ministère du procureur général de l’Ontario (MPG) s’engage à mettre fin à l’application excessive du droit criminel en cas de non-divulgation alléguée du VIH, et à réviser l’approche de l’Ontario à l’égard de ces poursuites.
3. Instaurer un véritable dialogue avec le Groupe de travail ontarien sur le droit criminel et l’exposition au VIH (CLHE), de même qu’avec les personnes vivant avec le VIH et des experts scientifiques, dans le cadre du développement de lignes directrices pour les procureurs ainsi que d’autres réponses à ce problème. »

Cet article a été publié dans Plaidoyer, Anglais, Français, Criminalisation du VIH, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications. Publication Topics: . Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.
Auteur
Sujet
Type de document
Langue