Janet Butler-McPhee

Janet

Director of Communications and Advocacy

Janet joined the Legal Network staff in December 2010.

At the Legal Network, Janet manages the Communications Team, including all strategic communications programming and work plans. She has authored publications for diverse audiences on many of the Legal Network’s issues, and oversees all public-facing communications for the organization. She works closely with the Research and Policy Team to coordinate joint advocacy interventions, and is also responsible for media relations, event planning and brand management, among others. She was also co-producer on the Legal Network’s documentaries, Positive Women: Exposing Injustice and Consent: HIV Non-Disclosure and Sexual Assault Law.

Previously, she worked as the Communications Director for the Reproductive Health Access, Information, and Services in Emergencies (RAISE) Initiative and the Averting Maternal Death and Disability Program, both multi-level international programs at the Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health in New York City. Her work focused on public health advocacy and behaviour change communications in support of reproductive rights and health care in development and humanitarian contexts.

Prior to living and working in New York, Janet held progressive communications positions within Environment Canada, most recently serving as a National Director of Communications, based in Ottawa.

Janet holds a First Class Honours Bachelor of Arts degree in English from Saint Francis Xavier University, a Post Baccalaureate Diploma in Communication from Simon Fraser University and an Honours Master of Science degree in Strategic Communications from Columbia University.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Janet Butler-McPhee

Janet

Directrice des communications et du plaidoyer

Janet s’est jointe au personnel du Réseau juridique en décembre 2010.

Au Réseau juridique, Janet gère l’équipe des communications, y compris tous les programmes et plans de communications stratégiques. Auteure de publications sur plusieurs enjeux du Réseau juridique pour des auditoires diversifiés, elle supervise l’ensemble des communications publiques de l’organisme. Elle collabore étroitement avec l’Équipe de la recherche et des politiques à coordonner des interventions de plaidoyer conjoint, en plus de s’occuper des relations médiatiques, de la planification d’événements et de la gestion de la marque, entre autres. Elle a également coproduit les films documentaires du Réseau juridique Femmes et séropositives : Dénonçons l’injustice et Consentement : La non-divulgation du VIH et la loi sur l’agression sexuelle.

Son parcours antérieur a inclus le poste de directrice des communications pour l’initiative Reproductive Health Access, Information, and Services in Emergencies (RAISE) et pour le programme Averting Maternal Death and Disability [Éviter les décès et invalidités maternels], deux programmes internationaux multiniveaux à la Mailman School of Public Health de l’Université Columbia, à New York. Son travail concernait le plaidoyer pour la santé publique et les communications en matière de changement comportemental, à l’appui des droits génésiques et des soins de santé dans le contexte du développement et de l’aide humanitaire.

Avant cet épisode à New York, Janet a rempli des fonctions progressistes, aux communications pour Environnement Canada, culminant dans le poste de directrice nationale des communications, à Ottawa.

Elle détient un baccalauréat en Arts avec mention très honorable en études anglaises, de l’Université Saint Francis Xavier, un diplôme post-baccalauréat en Communications de l’Université Simon Fraser, et une maîtrise en Science avec distinction, spécialité communications stratégiques, de l’Université Columbia.

Cet article a été publié dans Uncategorized. Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.