Indigenous Communities and HIV: Resilience, strength and solidarity

June 21, 2017

Today, National Aboriginal Day, we recognize not only the cultures and contributions of First Nation, Inuit and Métis people in Canada, but also the resilience and strength of these communities. Many Indigenous Peoples have had to cope with traumatic life circumstances, including those related to experiences with the residential school and child welfare systems in Canada, legacies of colonialism and racism, and childhood traumas. And while government-funded services and supports exist, particularly when it comes to HIV treatment, care and support, there remains a lack of culturally relevant programs and services in many Indigenous communities.

For Indigenous Peoples living with HIV, limited access to culturally relevant health care, few guarantees of confidentiality relating to a diagnosis, and experiences of stigma and discrimination are just a few of the barriers to effective HIV treatment, care and support. Not all communities in Canada have equal access to HIV treatment and care, and a lack of consistent access to HIV treatment means it may be difficult to achieve an “undetectable” viral load — which is one way people living with HIV can reduce the risk of prosecution. The ongoing threat of criminal charges for HIV non-disclosure is a concern all those living with HIV face.

In fact, Indigenous Peoples are more likely than non-Indigenous people to be charged with crimes related to HIV non-disclosure. Despite accounting for only four per cent of Canada’s population, Indigenous people account for six per cent of those charged for HIV non-disclosure since 1989. Of the women charged between 1989 and 2016 whose ethnicities were known, 42 per cent were Indigenous. This disproportionate use of the criminal law against Indigenous women is particularly troubling given the connection between gender-based violence and HIV. Indigenous women face higher rates of violence, and many women do not feel that they can safely disclose their HIV status for fear of intimate partner violence.

The ways in which the criminal law against HIV non-disclosure is applied against Indigenous people living with HIV are at odds with the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s calls to action, which underscore the need to fulfill the rights to health of Indigenous people (recommendation #18) and the importance of eliminating the overrepresentation of Indigenous people in the criminal justice system (recommendation #30). If Canada is to uphold the human rights of Indigenous Peoples and fulfill the Commission’s calls to action, it must reform the overly broad and unjust use of criminal law in cases of HIV non-disclosure and engage in meaningful consultation with Indigenous Peoples living with HIV in the law reform process.

On this National Aboriginal Day, we are reminded of the work that must be done to respect, protect and fulfill the human rights of Indigenous Peoples in a manner that is culturally relevant and in partnership with Indigenous communities, organizations and individuals. We are inspired by the leadership of our Indigenous colleagues and the demonstration of solidarity and empowerment within Indigenous communities particularly in the struggle for human rights of people living with HIV. The Legal Network continues to tackle unjust laws and challenge stigma and discrimination to protect the health and human rights of Indigenous people living with HIV.

P.S. The Legal Network in partnership with the Canadian Aboriginal AIDS Network recently produced a series of legal information resources for Indigenous communities living with or affected by HIV. These publications are available online in English and French:

Indigenous Communities and HIV Disclosure to Sexual Partners: Questions and Answers

A brochure for Indigenous communities with important information about the law in Canada as it relates to HIV disclosure.

Harm Reduction Services for Indigenous People Who Use Drugs: Questions and Answers

A guide for Indigenous Peoples with information related to harm reduction services such as needle and syringe programs, safer drug consumption services, opioid substitution therapy (e.g., methadone) and naloxone.

Indigenous Communities and HIV and HCV in Federal Prisons: Questions and Answers

A booklet for prisoners who identify as First Nations, Inuit and Métis, and who are imprisoned in a federal prison or healing lodge run by the Correctional Service of Canada (CSC).

Indigenous Communities: HIV, Privacy And Confidentiality

A guide that provides answers to common questions on disclosure, privacy and confidentiality in the health care settings, workplaces, post-secondary institutions and other settings — places where many Indigenous people living with HIV have expressed concerns about their privacy.

This entry was posted in Blog, English, French, Indigenous Communities, Our Work. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Les communautés autochtones et le VIH : résilience, force et solidarité

21 juin 2017

En cette Journée nationale des Autochtones, nous reconnaissons non seulement les cultures et contributions des personnes des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis du Canada, mais également la résilience et la force de ces communautés. Plusieurs personnes autochtones doivent composer avec des circonstances de vie traumatisantes, notamment des expériences liées aux systèmes des pensionnats et de protection de l’enfance du Canada, les héritages du colonialisme et du racisme, et des traumatismes d’enfance. Malgré l’existence de services et de soutiens financés par le gouvernement, il persiste dans plusieurs communautés autochtones un manque de programmes et de services culturellement pertinents, particulièrement en ce qui a trait aux traitements, aux soins et au soutien pour le VIH.

Pour les personnes autochtones vivant avec le VIH, l’accès limité à des soins de santé culturellement pertinents, le peu de garanties de confidentialité liée au diagnostic ainsi que des expériences de stigmatisation et de discrimination ne sont que quelques-uns des obstacles à des services efficaces de traitement, de soins et de soutien en matière de VIH. Les communautés canadiennes n’ont pas toutes un accès égal aux traitements et aux soins pour le VIH; un accès irrégulier au traitement du VIH signifie qu’il peut être difficile d’atteindre une charge virale « indétectable » – l’une des façons par lesquelles les personnes vivant avec le VIH peuvent réduire leur risque de poursuites. La menace constante d’accusations criminelles pour non-divulgation est une préoccupation qui concerne toutes les personnes vivant avec le VIH.

De fait, les personnes autochtones sont plus susceptibles que les non autochtones d’être accusées de crimes liés à la non-divulgation du VIH. Même si elles ne forment que quatre pour cent de la population canadienne, les personnes autochtones représentent six pour cent des personnes accusées de non-divulgation du VIH depuis 1989. Parmi les femmes accusées entre 1989 et 2016 et d’origine ethnique connue, 42 pour cent étaient des Autochtones. Ce recours disproportionné au droit criminel à l’encontre des femmes autochtones est particulièrement troublant compte tenu du lien entre la violence sexospécifique et le VIH. Les femmes autochtones ont des taux accrus de violence, et plusieurs ne se sentent pas en sécurité de divulguer leur statut VIH par peur de violence de la part d’un partenaire intime.

Le droit criminel ciblant la non-divulgation du VIH, tel qu’il est appliqué aux personnes autochtones vivant avec le VIH, est contraire aux appels à l’action de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada qui mettent en relief la nécessité de réaliser le droit à la santé des personnes autochtones (recommandation #18) et l’importance d’éliminer leur surreprésentation dans le système de justice criminelle (recommandation #30). Pour respecter les droits humains des personnes autochtones et réaliser les appels à l’action de la Commission, le Canada doit réformer l’utilisation excessivement large et injuste du droit criminel dans les cas de non-divulgation du VIH et mener des consultations significatives auprès des personnes autochtones vivant avec le VIH dans le cadre de la réforme du droit.

Cette Journée nationale des Autochtones nous rappelle le travail à faire pour respecter, protéger et réaliser les droits humains des personnes autochtones d’une manière qui soit culturellement pertinente et en partenariat avec des communautés, organismes et individus autochtones. Nous sommes inspirés par le leadership de nos collègues autochtones et par la démonstration de solidarité et d’habilitation au sein des communautés autochtones, en particulier pour défendre les droits humains des personnes vivant avec le VIH. Le Réseau juridique continue de lutter contre les lois injustes, la stigmatisation et la discrimination afin de protéger la santé et les droits humains des personnes autochtones vivant avec le VIH.

P.S. Le Réseau juridique en partenariat avec le Réseau canadien autochtone du sida a récemment publié une série de ressources d’information juridique pour les communautés autochtones vivant avec le VIH ou affectées par lui. Ces publications sont disponibles en français et en anglais :

Les communautés autochtones et la divulgation du VIH aux partenaires sexuels : questions et réponses

Cette brochure pour les communautés autochtones offre de l’information importante au sujet du droit en lien avec la divulgation du VIH au Canada.

Services de réduction des méfaits pour les personnes autochtones qui consomment des drogues : questions et réponses

Un guide pour les communautés autochtones qui fournit des informations sur les services de réduction des méfaits comme les programmes de seringues, les services de consommation plus sécuritaire, la thérapie de substitution aux opioïdes (p. ex., la méthadone) et la naloxone.

Les communautés autochtones, le VIH et le VHC dans les prisons fédérales : questions et réponses

Un livret de questions et réponses destiné aux détenus qui s’identifient comme appartenant aux communautés des Premières Nations ou comme Inuits et Métis, et qui sont incarcérés dans une prison fédérale ou un pavillon de ressourcement géré par le Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC).

Communautés autochtones : VIH, vie privée et confidentialité

Un guide qui offre des réponses à des questions courantes sur le dévoilement, la vie privée et la confidentialité dans le système de soins de santé, le milieu de travail, les établissements postsecondaires et d’autres lieux en lien avec lesquels plusieurs personnes autochtones vivant avec le VIH ont signalé des préoccupations liées à leur vie privée.

Cet article a été publié dans Blog, Anglais, Français, Communautés autochtones, Our Work. Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.