HIV/AIDS and Discrimination: A Discussion Paper

The Discussion Paper reviews:

  • definitions of discrimination that are current in Canada and internationally;
  • the nature of stigma, discrimination, and vulnerability in the context of the HIV epidemic;
  • stigma and discrimination that people with HIV/AIDS currently experience in their families and communities, at work, in housing, in health care settings, in obtaining insurance coverage or benefits (particularly private medical and disability insurance), and in policies restricting travel or immigration;
  • specific patterns of stigma and discrimination that populations affected by HIV/AIDS experience, and the impact of stigma and discrimination on their health and well-being in the context of the HIV/AIDS epidemic; and
  • various ways to respond to stigma and discrimination, including education (public education, professional education, and focused education), redress (human rights law, the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, and other forms of legal or procedural redress), and advocacy.
This entry was posted in English, French, Publications, Reports. Publication Topics: , , . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
Author
Topics
Doc Type
Language

VIH/sida et discrimination : un document de travail

Dans ce document, on examine:

  • les définitions de la discrimination qui ont actuellement cours au Canada et dans le monde;
  • la nature du stigmate, de la discrimination et de la vulnérabilité dans le contexte de l’épidémie de VIH;
  • l’opprobre et la discrimination que rencontrent actuellement les personnes qui vivent avec le VIH/sida, dans leurs familles et communautés, au travail, dans le domaine du logement, dans le domaine des soins de santé, dans le domaine de l’assurance ou des prestations (particulièrement l’assurance-santé et l’assurance-invalidité privées) et dans les politiques restrictives en matière de séjour et d’immigration;
  • les schémas particuliers de stigmatisation et de discrimination à l’égard des populations affectées par le VIH/sida, et l’impact de ce problème sur leur santé et leur bien-être dans le contexte de cette épidémie;
  • les diverses manières de réagir à la stigmatisation et à la discrimination, notamment par l’éducation (éducation du public, éducation des professionnels et éducation ciblée), les réparations (lois sur les droits de la personne, Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et autres formes de recours juridiques ou administratifs) et la promotion et la défense des intérêts.


Cet article a été publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications, Rapports. Publication Topics: , , . Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.
Auteur
Sujet
Type de document
Langue