HIV treatments, vaccines, and microbicides: toward coordinated advocacy – HIV/AIDS Policy and Law Review 9(1), April 2004

In November 2003, the Legal Network convened a meeting in Montréal of global experts working in the fields of treatments, vaccines, and microbicides.The meeting was historic in that it was the first occasion on which advocates from the three fields had the opportunity to meet and exchange views on policy priorities. In this article, John Godwin provides a summary of the background paper produced for that meeting and of the key outcomes of the meeting.

The article describes the reasons why developing a joint advocacy agenda has emerged as a priority for advocacy organizations from the three fields, despite their differing histories and the fact that they have often been positioned as competitors rather than collaborators.The role of a human rights approach in informing joint advocacy and the relevance of the prevention–care–treatment continuum are considered.

The article then examines possible areas for joint advocacy, including funding, clinical trials, public private partnerships, tax credits, liability issues, equity pricing, bulk procurement, regulatory issues, manufacture, delivery, and national plans. The article concludes by noting upcoming opportunities for joint advocacy efforts, and outlining the next steps to be taken by the Legal Network to support coordinated advocacy.


This entry was posted in English, French, Journal Articles, Publications. Publication Topics: . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
Author
Topics
Doc Type
Language

Microbicides, traitements et vaccins anti-VIH : vers un plaidoyer coordonné – Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques 9(1), avril 2004

En novembre 2003, le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida a organisé une rencontre internationale d’experts en matière de traitements, de vaccins et de microbicides, à Montréal. Le rassemblement marquait un important jalon : c’était la première rencontre et occasion d’échange sur les priorités de politiques entre les militants de ces trois domaines. Dans le présent article, John Godwin résume un document de fond préparé pour l’occasion ainsi que les principaux résultats de la rencontre.

Il explique pourquoi l’élaboration d’un ordre du jour commun est devenue prioritaire pour les organismes de promotion des intérêts de ces trois domaines, en dépit de leurs historiques différents et du fait qu’ils ont souvent été en position de concurrence plutôt que de collaboration. Il examine l’apport d’une approche de droits humains de même que la pertinence du continuum prévention-soins-traitements pour un plaidoyer commun.

Il envisage des domaines possibles d’action conjointe — notamment le financement, les essais cliniques, les partenariats entre les secteurs public et privé, les crédits d’impôt, les questions de responsabilité, les prix équitables, l’approvisionnement en grande quantité, les questions de réglementation, la fabrication, la distribution et les plans nationaux. En conclusion, il identifie de futures occasions d’efforts communs de plaidoyer et il décrit les prochaines étapes qu’envisage le Réseau juridique pour en soutenir la coordination.


Cet article a été publié dans Anglais, Français, Articles de périodiques, Publications. Publication Topics: . Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.
Auteur
Sujet
Type de document
Langue