Getting the Regime Right – Brief to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology regarding Canada’s Access to Medicines Regime

Canada’s Access to Medicines Regime is not delivering on the country’s pledge to help developing countries get affordable medicines. The Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network recommends a number of changes that will help fix the current, flawed Regime.

Our central recommendation would replace the existing process for obtaining a compulsory licence with something considerably more streamlined and user-friendly — and hence more likely to be effective — while respecting Canada’s obligations as a member of the World Trade Organization (WTO).

We also recommend a number of additional reforms that would eliminate some of the unnecessary and counterproductive features currently hindering the efficacy of the Regime; some of these changes would be moot if the compulsory licensing mechanism we recommend were to be adopted, while others are relevant to whichever mechanism appears in Canada’s law.

This entry was posted in Advocacy, English, French, Publications. Publication Topics: . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
Author
Topics
Doc Type
Language

Rectifier le Régime – Mémoire présenté au Comité permanent de l’industrie, des sciences et de la technologie de la Chambre des communes, relativement au Régime canadien d’accès aux médicaments

Le Régime canadien d’accès aux médicaments ne remplit pas la promesse du Canada d’aider les pays en développement à obtenir des médicaments abordables. Le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida recommande un certain nombre de rectifications au Régime actuel.

Notre principale recommandation, ci-dessous, remplacerait le processus actuel d’obtention de licence obligatoire par une démarche beaucoup plus simple et conviviale – donc plus susceptible de fonctionner – tout en respectant les obligations du Canada en tant que membre de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC).

Nous recommandons aussi un certain nombre d’autres réformes qui élimineraient certaines des facettes superflues et contre-productives qui nuisent à l’efficacité du Régime; certains de ces changements ne seraient plus nécessaires si le mécanisme de licence obligatoire que nous recommandons était adopté, alors que d’autres conserveraient leur pertinence quel que soit le mécanisme retenu.

Cet article a été publié dans Plaidoyer, Anglais, Français, Publications. Publication Topics: . Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.
Auteur
Sujet
Type de document
Langue