Find a lawyer

Join the Lawyers’ Referral Database

Join the Lawyers' Referral Database

National Lawyers’ Referral Database

Overview

“I want a lawyer who understands the complexity of the challenges I face. When there’s so much ignorance about HIV out there, and so many prejudices about people like me, it helps to have someone who ‘gets it’ when I need to deal with legal issues on top of everything else.”

— Member, AIDS Committee of Toronto’s Positive Youth Outreach

Each year, the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network receives hundreds of inquiries from people living with HIV or AIDS (PHAs) and from front-line workers in community agencies about a range of legal issues.  Often, people need not only basic information but also legal advice or services specific to their particular situation.

The Legal Network does community legal education and provides information when we can, but we are unable to provide direct legal services to individual clients. In response to the need for these services, the Legal Network is building a national referral list of lawyers who are able and willing to handle HIV-related cases.  This will help AIDS service organizations and people living with HIV/AIDS find the right lawyers in their communities when they need help.

How it works

The database connects lawyers with potential clients; in some cases, it also connects lawyers with other experts in the field who can assist in handling a client’s case. We use this list when we receive a call from an individual or organization seeking legal advice or services that we can’t provide.

Our policy analysts determine the nature of the legal inquiry and the type of lawyer needed, then provide the contact information for the lawyer(s) from the appropriate area(s) of practice who have signed up for the referral list. It’s up to the lawyer and the client to make arrangements about the services needed and any fees involved. We can often also assist lawyers providing these services by equipping them with additional information and resources about HIV and specific legal issues related to HIV.

If you’re a lawyer in Canada who is supportive of people living with HIV and would like to be of assistance, including sometimes providing help pro bono or for reduced fees, please register here to be included in the National Lawyers’ Referral Database:

If you’re looking for a lawyer in Canada who is supportive of the rights of people living with HIV and affected communities, contact us with the details of your inquiry at info@aidslaw.ca or by phone at +1 416 595-1666.

Trouvez un avocat

Inscrivez-vous à la Liste de références à des avocats

Inscrivez-vous à la Liste de références à des avocats

Liste nationale de références à des avocats

Aperçu

« Je veux un avocat qui comprend la complexité des défis que je vis. Il y a tant d’ignorance à propos du VIH, et de préjugés envers les gens comme moi, c’est pratique d’avoir quelqu’un qui comprend, lorsque j’ai un problème légal en plus de tout le reste. »

— Membre, Positive Youth Outreach, AIDS Committee of Toronto

Chaque année, nous recevons des centaines de requêtes de personnes vivant avec le VIH/sida (PVVIH/sida) et d’employés d’organismes communautaires de première ligne, à propos de divers enjeux juridiques. Souvent, ces personnes n’ont pas seulement besoin d’information élémentaire, mais aussi d’avis ou de services juridiques spécifiques à leur situation.

Le Réseau juridique offre de l’éducation et de l’information juridique dans la mesure du possible, mais il ne peut fournir de services juridiques directs à des particuliers. En réponse à ce besoin, nous avons créé la Liste nationale de références à des avocats — une liste de références d’avocats disposés et aptes à s’occuper de dossiers liés au VIH. Cela aide des organismes de lutte contre le VIH/sida et des PVVIH/sida à trouver un avocat compétent dans leur communauté, lorsqu’ils en ont besoin.

Fonctionnement

La liste nationale de références met en contact des avocats avec de potentiels clients; dans certains cas, elle relie aussi ces avocats à d’autres experts qui pourraient les aider dans un dossier particulier. Nous utilisons cette liste lorsque nous recevons un appel d’un individu ou d’un organisme ayant besoin d’un avis juridique ou de services que nous ne pouvons fournir.

Nos analystes des politiques déterminent la nature de la requête juridique et le type d’avocat nécessaire, puis ils fournissent au client les coordonnées du ou des avocats du champ de pratique concerné qui sont inscrits sur la Liste de références. Il appartient à l’avocat et au client de convenir des services requis et des honoraires. Souvent, nous pouvons aussi aider des avocats à offrir ces services en leur fournissant des informations et des ressources additionnelles sur le VIH et des enjeux juridiques connexes.

Si vous êtes avocat-e au Canada, si vous appuyez les droits des personnes vivant avec le VIH et si vous voulez aider, notamment en offrant à l’occasion des services pro bono ou à honoraires réduits, inscrivez-vous à la Liste nationale de références à des avocats, ici :

Si vous êtes à la recherche d’un-e avocat-e, au Canada, qui appuie les droits des personnes vivant avec le VIH et des communautés affectées, communiquez-nous les détails de votre requête à info@aidslaw.ca ou au +1 416 595-1666.