Eric Mykhalovskiy

Eric Mykhalovskiy joined the Legal Network’s board of directors in 2017.

Eric is a full professor in the Sociology Department at York University.  He has been involved in the HIV response for over two decades as an activist, researcher and, in the early years of the epidemic, as a community worker. Eric’s research focuses on the role that various forms of expertise play in governing contemporary health care problems.  A recurring focus of his work is the biomedical and broader institutional and discursive response to the HIV epidemic in Canada.

Eric was the recipient of the Dean’s Award for Outstanding Research in the Faculty of Arts, York University, for 2006–2007.  In 2014, he received the Dorothy E. Smith Scholar-Activist Award conferred by the Society for the Study of Social Problems. In 2015, he received the inaugural Liberal Arts and Professional Studies Award for Distinction in Social Justice Research from York University. In 2017, he received the CAHR-CANFAR Excellence in Research Award for the Social Sciences.

 Eric is a Senior Editor of the Canadian Journal of Public Health and a member of the International Advisory Board of Critical Public Health. From 2011–2015, he served as board member of the HIV & AIDS Legal Clinic (Ontario). He has served as a steering committee member of AIDS ACTION NOW! since 2008 and was a founding member of the Ontario Working Group on Criminal Law and HIV Exposure, an organization in which he continues to play an active role. Over the past 10 years he has published widely on the topic of HIV criminalization in Canada.

This entry was posted in Board Member. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Eric Mykhalovskiy

Eric Mykhalovskiy s’est joint au conseil d’administration du Réseau juridique en 2017.

Eric est professeur titulaire au Département de sociologie de l’Université York. Il participe à la réponse au VIH depuis plus de deux décennies, en tant que militant, chercheur et, au cours des premières années de l’épidémie, en tant que travailleur communautaire. Sa recherche porte sur le rôle que diverses formes d’expertise jouent dans la gouvernance de problèmes contemporains liés aux soins de santé. Un point de mire récurrent dans son travail est la réponse biomédicale et la réponse institutionnelle et discursive plus large à l’épidémie du VIH au Canada.

Eric a reçu le Prix du doyen pour une recherche exceptionnelle à la Faculté des arts de l’Université York, en 2006-2007. En 2014, il a été lauréat du Dorothy E. Smith Scholar-Activist Award décerné par la Society for the Study of Social Problems. En 2015, il a été le premier lauréat du Prix de la Faculté des études professionnelles et des arts libéraux pour distinction en recherche sur la justice sociale, de l’Université York. En 2017, il a reçu le Prix d’excellence en recherche ACRV-CANFAR pour les sciences sociales.

Eric fait partie de l’équipe des rédacteurs principaux de la Revue canadienne de santé publique et siège au comité éditorial international de la revue Critical Public Health. De 2011 à 2015, il a siégé au conseil d’administration de la HIV & AIDS Legal Clinic (Ontario). Il siège au comité directeur d’AIDS ACTION NOW! depuis 2008; et a été membre fondateur du Groupe de travail ontarien sur le droit pénal et l’exposition au VIH, un organisme au sein duquel il est encore membre actif. Depuis dix ans, il a écrit de nombreuses publications sur la criminalisation du VIH au Canada.

Cet article a été publié dans Board Member. Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.