Election 2015: Bill C-398 and access to medicines — Canada’s major federal parties respond

This is the second in a series of blog posts being published by the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network ahead of Election Day on October 19, 2015.

Recently, we sent a questionnaire to the five major federal parties, asking their position on key questions related to HIV and human rights. Four out of five parties responded. Their responses are shared here, along with our comments. See www.aidslaw.ca/election2015 for more information.


October 6, 2015

Too many people in developing countries are dying because medicines are not available at prices they can afford and health agencies have limited budgets to pay high prices for brand-name drugs. Unnecessarily restrictive rules on patents and other aspects of intellectual property, including those embedded in international trade agreements, are a significant part of the problem affecting access to medicines for HIV and other health needs.

In 2004, Parliament unanimously enacted Canada’s Access to Medicines Regime (CAMR), a law that was supposed to make it easier to manufacture and export lower-cost, generic versions of medicines to address public health problems faced by many developing countries. But the regime was (and is) flawed, delivering but a single licence to supply one HIV medicine to one country. The last Parliament had before it a key remedy: Bill C-398 that would have streamlined CAMR. Despite overwhelming support from civil society, religious and community leaders, scientists and other medical professionals, and widespread support in Parliament, including from MPs belonging to all federal parties, Bill C-398 was staunchly opposed by the government and defeated by a small handful of votes in the House of Commons in 2012. (Click here for a record of MPs’ final votes on the bill.)

To make matters worse, yesterday Canada and other Pacific Rim countries announced the conclusion of long and secret negotiations for a new trade agreement, the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP). The US government and multinational pharmaceutical companies had pushed for even more stringent rules on intellectual property — which remained one of the sticking points right until the end of negotiations in Atlanta last week. Leaked text of several chapters confirm the fears of health advocates that the TPP will pose a major new threat to access to medicines, both in developing countries and in participating high-income countries such as Canada. Indeed, international humanitarian organization Médecins Sans Frontières has described the TPP as “the worst trade agreement for access to medicines in developing countries” in history to date.

We asked major parties in Canada whether their party would

  1. support the reforms to fix CAMR that were previously before Parliament in Bill C-398; and
  2. with respect to the TPP, refuse to sign and ratify any agreement that includes intellectual property standards exceeding those already adopted at the World Trade Organization.

All the parties that responded were behind the proposed reforms to CAMR and supported Bill C-398.

  • The New Democratic Party recalled that NDP MPs sponsored the initiative in successive parliaments. 
  • The Green Party said it voted in favour of the bill. 
  • The Liberal Party recalled that it supported Bill C-398 in Parliament and would continue to do so. 
  • The Bloc Québécois said it “supports, and intends to continue to support, the bill concerning Canada’s Access to Medicines Regime (CAMR).” 

There was general agreement on getting low-cost medicines to those in need. In particular, the Liberal Party “believes that the government should commit itself to the procurement of quality medicines wherever they are available to help those countries most in need roll back the advance of devastating diseases like HIV/AIDs, malaria, and tuberculosis,” while the NDP promised to “remove bureaucratic red tape and enable Canadian pharmaceutical companies to export generic versions of life-saving medicine for people suffering from HIV/AIDS, TB, malaria and other diseases in the developing world.”

On the issue of the Trans-Pacific Partnership, the responses were more varied:

  • The Green Party explicitly stood opposed to the TPP, calling it a “poorly negotiated agreement,” and pointing out that it is the only federal party in Canada standing against the agreement. The Greens concluded their response by stating their position on such issues in general: “The Green Party does not support deals like the TPP, which are negotiated in secret and allow corporations to sue governments over laws that reduce their profits such as environmental, labour and consumer regulations. Greens will refuse to sign and ratify any agreement that elevates corporate interest over public interest, and establishes intellectual property standards that deny the poor access to lifesaving medications.” 
  • Though the New Democratic Party identified the TPP as an opportunity “to build stronger, sustainable trade linkages with Asia and with Asian-Pacific countries,” the party was concerned about the secrecy and absence of “meaningful public consultations,” and affirmed that “[a]n NDP government will closely scrutinize the text of any proposed trade deal.” 
  • The Liberal Party supported the TPP “in principle.” It went on to say: “The TPP stands to remove trade barriers, widely expand free trade for Canada, and increase opportunities for our middle class. This is why Canada must be at the negotiating table. However, the federal government must also keep its word and defend Canadian interests, including supply management, during these negotiations.” 
  • The Bloc Québécois made no comment on the TPP.

The Conservative Party of Canada did not respond to the questionnaire.


For more information:

This entry was posted in Access to Medicines, Blog, Our Work. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Élections 2015 : Le Projet de loi C-398 et l’accès aux médicaments — Réponses des principaux partis fédéraux du Canada — Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network

Élections 2015 : Le Projet de loi C-398 et l’accès aux médicaments — Réponses des principaux partis fédéraux du Canada

Cet article de blogue est le deuxième d’une série publiée par le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida avant l’élection du 19 octobre 2015.

Nous avons récemment envoyé aux cinq principaux partis fédéraux un questionnaire pour connaître leur position sur des questions clés liées au VIH et aux droits humains. Quatre partis sur cinq nous ont répondu. Nous partageons ici leurs réponses et nos commentaires. Voir www.aidslaw.ca/elections2015 pour en savoir plus.


6 octobre 2015

Trop de personnes meurent, dans les pays en développement, parce que des médicaments ne leur sont pas accessibles à prix abordable; les organismes de santé ont des budgets limités pour l’achat de médicaments de marque à prix élevés. Les règles inutilement restrictives concernant les brevets et d’autres aspects de la propriété intellectuelle, y compris celles enchâssées dans des accords commerciaux internationaux, constituent une importante partie du problème d’accès aux médicaments pour le VIH et d’autres besoins de santé.

En 2004, le Parlement a adopté à l’unanimité le Régime canadien d’accès aux médicaments (RCAM), une loi qui devait faciliter la fabrication et l’exportation de versions génériques de médicaments moins coûteuses pour répondre aux problèmes de santé publique que rencontrent plusieurs pays en développement. Mais ce régime est inefficace; il n’a permis l’octroi que d’une seule licence pour la fourniture d’un médicament contre le VIH à un pays. La dernière législature avait devant elle une solution clé : le Projet de loi C-398, qui aurait simplifié le RCAM. Malgré un appui massif de la société civile, de leaders religieux et communautaires, de scientifiques et d’autres professionnels médicaux, et un vaste appui au sein du Parlement, y compris de députés de tous les partis fédéraux, le Projet de loi C-398 s’est heurté à une ferme opposition du gouvernement et a été défait par quelques votes seulement, à la Chambre des communes, en 2012. (Cliquez ici pour un registre des votes finaux des députés sur le projet de loi.)

Pour aggraver les choses, le Canada et d’autres pays côtiers du Pacifique ont annoncé hier la conclusion de longues négociations secrètes sur un nouvel accord commercial, le Partenariat Trans-Pacifique (PTP). Le Gouvernement des États-Unis et des multinationales pharmaceutiques faisaient pression pour des règles de propriété intellectuelle encore plus strictes — qui sont demeurées l’un des principaux points de friction jusqu’à la fin des négociations à Atlanta la semaine dernière. Des fuites du texte de divers chapitres confirment les craintes des militants pour la santé, selon lesquelles le PTP constituera une nouvelle menace majeure pour l’accès aux médicaments dans les pays en développement et dans les pays participants à revenu élevé comme le Canada. De fait, l’organisme humanitaire international Médecins Sans Frontières qualifie le PTP de « pire accord commercial pour l’accès aux médicaments dans les pays en développement » de l’histoire.

Nous avons demandé aux principaux partis politiques s’ils allaient :

  1. appuyer les réformes antérieurement proposées au Parlement dans le Projet de loi C-398 pour rectifier le Régime canadien d’accès aux médicaments; et
  2. refuser, en ce qui concerne le PTP, de signer et de ratifier tout accord qui inclurait des normes de propriété intellectuelle excédant celles déjà adoptées à l’Organisation mondiale du commerce.

Tous les partis qui nous ont répondu étaient favorables aux réformes proposées au RCAM et appuyaient le Projet de loi C-398.

  • Le Nouveau Parti démocratique rappelle que des députés néodémocrates ont parrainé l’initiative au cours de législatures consécutives. 
  • Le Parti vert signale avoir voté en faveur du projet de loi. 
  • Le Parti libéral rappelle qu’il a appuyé le Projet de loi C-398 au Parlement et qu’il continuera de le faire. 
  • Le Bloc Québécois affirme qu’il « a appuyé et a toujours l’intention d’appuyer le projet de loi touchant le Régime canadien d’accès aux médicaments (RCAM) ». 

Les partis s’entendent généralement sur la nécessité de fournir des médicaments moins coûteux aux personnes qui en ont besoin. En particulier, le Parti libéral « croit que le gouvernement devrait s’engager à faciliter l’accès aux médicaments de qualité, là où ils sont disponibles, aux pays qui en ont le plus besoin afin de ralentir la progression des maladies dévastatrices comme le VIH/sida, la malaria et la tuberculose », alors que le NPD promet de « lever les obstacles bureaucratiques actuels pour que les sociétés pharmaceutiques canadiennes puissent exporter des médicaments génériques vers les pays en développement, ce qui permettra de prévenir des décès liés au VIH/sida, à la tuberculose, à la malaria ou à d’autres maladies ».

En ce qui concerne le Partenariat Trans-Pacifique, les réponses sont plus variées :

  • Le Parti vert s’oppose explicitement au PTP, le qualifiant d’« entente mal négociée », et signalant qu’il est le seul parti fédéral du Canada à s’y opposer. Les Verts concluent en exprimant leur position sur ces enjeux en général : « Le Parti vert ne soutient pas des ententes comme le PTP, lesquelles sont négociées en secret et permettent aux entreprises de poursuivre les gouvernements au sujet de lois qui réduisent leurs profits, telles que les réglementations environnementales, les législations du travail et la réglementation de protection des consommateurs. Les verts refuseront de signer et de ratifier toute entente qui contribue à rehausser les intérêts des sociétés aux dépens des intérêts du public et qui établit des normes de propriété intellectuelle qui privent les pauvres de l’accès à des médicaments qui pourraient leur sauver la vie. » 
  • Bien que le Nouveau Parti démocratique considère le PTP comme une occasion « de renforcer nos liens commerciaux avec les pays asiatiques », il se dit préoccupé par le silence et l’absence de « véritables consultations publiques », et affirme qu’« un gouvernement du NPD étudiera avec grand soin le texte de tout accord commercial potentiel ». 
  • Le Parti libéral appuie « le principe » du PTP. Il affirme : « Le partenariat transpacifique supprimera les barrières commerciales, élargira considérablement le libre-échange au Canada, et augmentera les possibilités offertes à la classe moyenne. Voilà pourquoi le Canada doit être présent à la table des négociations. Le gouvernement fédéral doit tenir sa parole et défendre les intérêts du Canada lors de ces négociations, notamment en ce qui concerne la gestion de l’offre. » 
  • Le Bloc Québécois n’a pas commenté le PTP.

Le Parti conservateur du Canada n’a pas répondu à notre questionnaire.


Pour plus d’information :

Cet article a été publié dans Accès aux médicaments, Blog, Our Work. Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.