Election 2015: Bill C-2 and supervised consumption services — Canada’s major federal parties respond

This is the sixth and last in a series of blog posts being published by the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network ahead of Election Day on October 19, 2015.

Recently, we sent a questionnaire to the five major federal parties, asking their position on key questions related to HIV and human rights. Four out of five parties responded. Their responses are shared here, along with our comments. See www.aidslaw.ca/election2015 for more information.


October 13, 2015

Earlier this year, the federal government passed Bill C-2, the so-called Respect for Communities Act, establishing excessive and unreasonable requirements for health authorities and community agencies who wish to open or continue operating supervised consumption services for people who use drugs, including directing the federal health minister to grant exceptions only in “exceptional circumstances” — in flagrant disregard for the Supreme Court of Canada’s 2011 decision affirming the life-saving benefits of Insite, Vancouver’s supervised injection site.

Supervised consumption services (SCS) are health services that provide a safe, hygienic environment where people can use pre-obtained drugs under the supervision of trained staff. SCS are part of a broader harm reduction approach to substance use and have numerous health and social benefits. Among other health benefits, SCS have proven to be effective in reducing deaths from overdose and decreasing the sharing of drug injection equipment, thus reducing the risk of spreading blood-borne infections such as HIV and hepatitis C among people who inject drugs.

Yet the clients and staff of such health services risk criminal prosecution for drug possession unless the premises receive an exemption from the federal health minister — now, thanks to Bill C-2, a complicated and onerous process that creates an unacceptable barrier to access. We asked major political parties whether they would repeal Bill C-2 and facilitate access to SCS in Canada. Here is what they said.

All four of the parties who responded indicated they support supervised consumption services as effective harm reduction tools.

  • The Liberal Party said it is committed to “replacing this flawed Conservative legislation with an evidence-based drug policy,” adding that SCS are “an integral part of a broader, evidence-based national drug policy.” 
  • The New Democratic Party noted that its MPs fought Bill C-2 in Parliament, and stated that it is committed to “reversing the negative impact of a range of Harper legislation that is lacking a scientific evidence base.” As a follow-up to its original response, the NDP later sent an update, stressing that it would “restore the voices of scientists in Canada.” Namely, the NDP promised to create a Scientific Advisory Council to the Prime Minister, restore the mandatory long-form census, and establish the Office of the Parliamentary Science Officer “to ensure parliamentarians have the best possible access to science-based analysis.” 
  • The Green Party similarly mentioned their opposition to Bill C-2 in the House of Commons, and declared that “[t]he scientific evidence, social policy research, and public health results prove unequivocally that supervised consumption sites save lives and make all Canadians safer.” It stated clearly its intention to immediately repeal Bill C-2 and to “boost funding for safe injection sites and treatment facilities.” 
  • The Bloc Québécois responded by sharing an August 2015 news release expressing its support for a Montreal organization’s plan to open a SCS. It made no mention specifically of Bill C-2.

The Conservative Party of Canada did not respond to the questionnaire.


For more information:

This entry was posted in Blog, Drug policy, Our Work. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Élections 2015 : Le Projet de loi C-2 et les services de consommation supervisée — Réponses des principaux partis fédéraux du Canada

Cet article de blogue est le sixième et dernier d’une série publiée par le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida avant l’élection du 19 octobre 2015.

Nous avons récemment envoyé aux cinq principaux partis fédéraux un questionnaire pour connaître leur position sur des questions clés liées au VIH et aux droits humains. Quatre partis sur cinq nous ont répondu. Nous partageons ici leurs réponses et nos commentaires. Voir www.aidslaw.ca/elections2015 pour en savoir plus.

Plus tôt cette année, le gouvernement fédéral a adopté le Projet de loi C-2, soi-disant Loi sur le respect des collectivités, qui impose des exigences excessives et déraisonnables aux autorités de la santé et aux organismes communautaires qui souhaitent établir ou maintenir des services de consommation supervisée pour les personnes qui font usage de drogues, et qui contraint la ministre fédérale de la Santé à n’accorder des exemptions que dans des « circonstances exceptionnelles » — ce qui contrevient de manière flagrante à la décision de 2011 de la Cour suprême du Canada affirmant les bienfaits salvateurs de l’Insite, le site d’injection supervisée de Vancouver.

Les services de consommation supervisée (SCS) sont des services de santé qui offrent à leurs clients un lieu sécuritaire et hygiénique où ils peuvent consommer, sous la supervision d’un personnel formé, des drogues qu’ils se sont préalablement procurées. Faisant partie d’une vaste approche de réduction des méfaits à la consommation de substances, les PSP comportent de nombreux bienfaits sociaux et de santé. Entre autres bienfaits de santé, ils sont efficaces pour réduire les décès par surdose et le partage de matériel d’injection de drogue, ce qui réduit le risque de propagation d’infections hématogènes comme le VIH et l’hépatite C parmi les personnes qui s’injectent des drogues.

Or les personnes qui consomment des drogues ou les employés de tels services de santé s’exposent à des poursuites criminelles pour possession de drogue, sauf si le lieu fait l’objet d’une exemption de la ministre fédérale de la Santé — ce qui nécessite à présent (avec le Projet de loi C-2) un processus complexe et onéreux qui crée un obstacle inacceptable à l’accès. Nous avons demandé aux principaux partis politiques s’ils allaient abroger le Projet de loi C-2 et faciliter l’accès aux SCS au Canada. Voici ce qu’ils nous ont répondu.

Tous les partis qui nous ont répondu étaient favorables aux services de consommation supervisée en tant qu’outil efficace de réduction des méfaits.

  • Le Parti libéral s’engage à « remplacer cette loi bancale par une politique

relative aux drogues qui sera basée sur des faits », ajoutant que les SCS « font partie d’une politique nationale globale relative aux drogues, une politique fondée sur des données probantes ».

 

  • Le Nouveau Parti démocratique note que ses députés se sont battus contre le Projet de loi C-2 au Parlement, et se dit engagé à « renverser les répercussions négatives des nombreuses lois conservatrices qui n’ont aucun fondement scientifique ». Pour faire suite à sa réponse initiale, le NPD nous a transmis une mise à jour signalant qu’il allait « redonner leur place aux scientifiques canadiens ». Notamment, le NPD promet de créer Conseil consultatif scientifique du premier ministre, de rétablir la version longue du recensement obligatoire et de créer le Bureau du directeur parlementaire des sciences « afin de veiller à ce que les parlementaires aient le meilleur accès possible à des analyses factuelles ».

 

  • Le Parti vert mentionne lui aussi s’être opposé au Projet de loi C-2 à la Chambre des communes, et déclare que « [l]es données scientifiques, la recherche en politique sociale et les résultats dans le domaine de la santé publique prouvent sans équivoque que les lieux de consommation supervisée sauvent des vies et protègent tous les Canadiens ». Il affirme clairement son intention d’abroger immédiatement le Projet de loi C-2 et affirme qu’il « augmentera les fonds alloués aux centres d’injection supervisée et établissements de traitement ».

 

  • Le Bloc Québécois a répondu en partageant un communiqué d’août 2015 exprimant son appui au projet d’un organisme montréalais d’ouvrir un SCS. Il ne mentionne pas spécifiquement le Projet de loi C-2.

Le Parti conservateur du Canada n’a pas répondu à notre questionnaire.

Pour plus d’information :

Cet article a été publié dans Blog, Politiques sur les drogues, Our Work. Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.