Category Archives: Uncategorized

Federal Election 2019

On October 21, 2019, Canadians will head to the polls for a federal election. This is our chance to decide what kind of government we want — and at the Legal Network we’re hoping for one that upholds and actively promotes health and human rights. On this page you’ll find resources related to the election […]

Also posted in Advocacy, Drug policy, English, French, HIV Criminalization, Prisons, Sex work | Comments closed

Emma Riach

  Campaigns and Communications Officer Emma joined the Legal Network staff in April 2019. At the Legal Network, Emma is the key liaison with national and international journalists, devises and implements creative advocacy and government relations campaigns, leads community outreach, and provides strategic communications advice. In addition, she supports fundraising efforts and undertakes writing and […]

Also posted in English, French | Comments closed

UNGASS 2016: Recommendations to Canada for Promoting Smart Policy on Drugs

In February 2016, the National UNGASS Working Group (supported by the Canadian Drug Policy Coalition and Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network) delivered a brief to Canada’s federal government, outlining 10 priority recommendations to inform the ongoing negotiations at the UN in the lead-up to the UNGASS in April. This will include negotiations at the upcoming session […]

Also posted in Advocacy, Briefing Papers, Drug policy, English, French, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Publications | Publication Topics: | Comments closed

We’re launching a challenge to Jamaica’s anti-sodomy law

Last Thursday, international Human Rights Day (December 10), senior policy analyst Maurice Tomlinson publicly launched a legal challenge to Jamaica’s anti-sodomy law, arguing that it violates the constitutional rights of LGBTI people. It has made news across the country — including an endorsement from the Jamaica Gleaner, the country’s most influential newspaper — and around the world, with stories appearing in The New […]

Also posted in English, French | Comments closed

Know Your Rights

This series of 8 brochures (now available in 7 languages, including Arabic, Chinese and Spanish) addresses the privacy rights and disclosure obligations of people living with HIV in a variety of day-to-day contexts.

Also posted in Discrimination, English, Featured Publications, French, Our Work, Privacy, Testing | Comments closed

Annual Report 2012–2013

Our latest annual report highlights our work between April 1, 2012 and March 31, 2013.

Also posted in Annual Reports, English, French, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , | Comments closed

Archives de la catégorie : Uncategorized

Élection Fédérale de 2019

Le 21 octobre 2019, les Canadien-nes se rendront aux urnes pour une élection fédérale. Nous avons donc l’occasion de décider quel genre de gouvernement nous désirons – et au Réseau juridique, nous espérons que le gouvernement élu en sera un qui respecte et qui promeut activement la santé et les droits humains. Sur la présente […]

Également publié dans Plaidoyer, Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Français, Criminalisation du VIH, Prisons, Travail du sexe | Commentaires fermés

Emma Riach

Agente des communications et des campagnes Emma s’est jointe au personnel du Réseau juridique en avril 2019. Au Réseau juridique, Emma assure la liaison avec les journalistes nationaux et internationaux; élabore et met en œuvre des campagnes créatives de plaidoyer et de relations gouvernementales; dirige le rayonnement communautaire; et fournit des conseils en matière de communications […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français | Commentaires fermés

UNGASS 2016 : recommandations adressées au Canada pour promouvoir des politiques sensées sur les drogues

En février 2016, le Groupe de travail canadien sur l’UNGASS (soutenu par la Coalition canadienne des politiques sur les drogues et le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida) a transmis un mémoire au gouvernement fédéral du Canada, offrant 10 recommandations prioritaires afin d’éclairer les négociations en cours aux Nations Unies d’ici l’UNGASS d’avril. Ce processus inclut des […]

Également publié dans Plaidoyer, Documents d'information, Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Français, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Publications | Publication Topics: | Commentaires fermés

Nous lançons une contestation de la loi anti-sodomie de la Jamaïque

Jeudi dernier, Journée [internationale] des droits de l’homme (10 décembre), notre analyste principal des politiques Maurice Tomlinson a donné publiquement* le coup d’envoi à une contestation judiciaire de la loi jamaïcaine anti-sodomie, au motif qu’elle viole les droits constitutionnels des personnes LGBTI. L’événement a fait l’objet d’une vaste couverture médiatique en Jamaïque* – notamment par le Jamaica Gleaner*, le […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français | Commentaires fermés

Connaître ses droits

Cette série de brochures (disponible en 7 langues, y compris l’arabe, le chinois et l’espagnol) traite des droits en matière de vie privée et de confidentialité ainsi que des obligations de dévoilement, dans divers contextes du quotidien, pour les personnes qui vivent avec le VIH.

Également publié dans Discrimination, Anglais, Featured Publications, Français, Our Work, Vie privée, Test | Commentaires fermés

Rapport annuel 2012–2013

Un résumé de nos travaux au Canada et dans le monde, entre le 1er avril 2012 et le 31 mars 2013.

Également publié dans Rapport annuel, Anglais, Français, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , | Commentaires fermés