Category Archives: Featured Publications

Respect, Protect, Fulfill: A human rights response to HIV: Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network Strategic Plan 2017–2022

In 2016, we undertook a planning process to set our strategic directions for the next five years (2017–2022), including seeking the input of our members, key partners and supporters. This is a summary of the Legal Network’s 2017–2022 strategic plan.

Also posted in English, French, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Reports | Publication Topics: , , , , | Comments closed

RETHINKING JUSTICE: 7th Symposium on HIV, Law and Human Rights: Report

Since 2009, the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network has organized a number of symposia on HIV, Law and Human Rights. The issue of criminalization of HIV non-disclosure has been and remains an ongoing issue of concern to people living with HIV, community organizations, service providers and human rights advocates; therefore, it has been the subject of […]

Also posted in English, French, HIV Criminalization, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Reports | Publication Topics: | Comments closed

Harm Reduction in Canada: What Governments Need to Do Now

Canada is in urgent need of comprehensive harm reduction policy that jettisons the failed, costly model of drug prohibition that has ravaged so many lives, from fueling the spread of HIV and hepatitis C virus (HCV), to contributing to over-incarceration, to creating conditions for the ongoing epidemic of overdose fatalities. A harm reduction approach must […]

Also posted in Advocacy, Drug policy, English, French, Info Sheets, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: | Comments closed

Privacy and Disclosure for Youth Living with HIV or Hep C: Questions and Answers

This guide is for youth between the ages of 15 and 29 and focuses on some of the factors at play when young people living with HIV or hepatitis C (Hep C) are thinking about telling others about their HIV or Hep C status.

Also posted in Booklets, English, French, HIV Criminalization, Our Work, Privacy, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Q&A | Publication Topics: , , | Comments closed

HIV Criminalization in Canada: Key Trends and Patterns

As part of an effort to contribute to an informed public dialogue on the issue, this short report provides a snapshot of the temporal and demographic patterns of HIV criminalization in Canada from 1989 to 2016. It also updates information on the outcomes of HIV non-disclosure criminal cases.

Also posted in English, French, HIV Criminalization, Info Sheets, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Reports | Publication Topics: | Comments closed

HIV CRIMINALIZATION IN CANADA: Current Context & Advocacy

A two-page document briefly describing the current legal landscape of the criminalization of HIV non-disclosure in Canada, why the current use of the criminal law is problematic, and what the Legal Network and its partners have been doing to resist the overly broad use of the criminal law against people living with HIV.

Also posted in English, French, HIV Criminalization, Info Sheets, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: | Comments closed

Civil Society Statement to the National Opioid Summit

Canada is in the midst of an opioid overdose crisis. This statement outlines concerns that civil society organizations have about the emerging federal, provincial and territorial response to this crisis and proposes a collaborative way forward to end the crisis.  

Also posted in Advocacy, Drug policy, English, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: | Comments closed

Indigenous Communities and HIV Disclosure to Sexual Partners: Questions and Answers

While the criminal law is a blunt instrument to deal with complex issues such as disclosure or the root causes for HIV in Indigenous communities, it is the law in Canada, and it is important for you to know about it so you can make informed decisions about your sexual life. This brochure has been […]

Also posted in Booklets, English, French, HIV Criminalization, Indigenous Communities, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Q&A | Publication Topics: | Comments closed

Cannabis Regulation and the UN Drug Treaties: Strategies for reform

As jurisdictions enact reforms creating legal access to cannabis for purposes other than exclusively “medical and scientific,” tensions surrounding the existing UN drug treaties and evolving law and practice in Member States continue to grow. How might governments and the UN system address these growing tensions in ways that acknowledge the policy shifts underway and […]

Also posted in Briefing Papers, Drug policy, English, French, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: | Comments closed

Action Required: five key HIV-related issues facing Canada’s federal government

It is time for Canada to re-commit to the global project of ending HIV, including by basing our response on sound scientific evidence and fundamental human rights principles.

Also posted in Access to Medicines, Briefing Papers, Drug policy, English, French, Home Feature, LGBTI Rights, Our Work, Prisons, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Sex work | Publication Topics: , , , , | Comments closed

Archives de la catégorie : Featured Publications — Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network

Archives de la catégorie : Featured Publications

Le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida dans les Caraïbes

Pourquoi les Caraïbes? Et pourquoi les droits des LGBTI? Les Caraïbes ont le deuxième plus haut taux de prévalence du VIH au monde, après l’Afrique sub-saharienne. Selon l’ONUSIDA et les agences régionales et nationales, l’homophobie est un des facteurs contributifs de cette statistique troublante. Dans de nombreux pays, surtout les Antilles du Commonwealth, la criminalisation […]

Également publié dans Documents d'information, Anglais, Français, LGBTQI Rights, Our Work, Publications, Les Caraïbes | Publication Topics: | Commentaires fermés

Témoin d’une surdose? Appelez le 911 immédiatement

Alors que la crise de surdoses mortelles continue de battre son plein, au Canada, le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida en collaboration avec le Waterloo Region Crime Prevention Council a imprimé 50 000 cartes de format portefeuille offrant de l’information cruciale au sujet de la Loi sur les bons samaritains secourant les victimes de surdose de […]

Également publié dans Plaidoyer, Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Français, Feuillets d'information, Publications, Questions-réponses | Publication Topics: | Commentaires fermés

Respecter, protéger et appliquer : une réponse de droits humains au VIH : Plan stratégique 2017-2022 du Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida

En 2016, nous avons entrepris un processus de planification pour établir nos orientations stratégiques des cinq années suivantes (2017–2022), notamment en invitant les points de vue de nos membres, partenaires clés et supporteurs. Voice le plan stratégique 2017-2022 du Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida.

Également publié dans Rapport annuel, Anglais, Français, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Rapports | Publication Topics: , , , , | Commentaires fermés

REPENSER LA JUSTICE : 7e Symposium sur le VIH, le droit et les droits de la personne : Un compte rendu

Depuis 2009, le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida a présenté plusieurs symposiums consacrés au VIH, au droit et aux droits humains. La question de la criminalisation de la non-divulgation du VIH a été et demeure un enjeu de préoccupation continuelle pour les personnes vivant avec le VIH, les organismes communautaires, les fournisseurs de services et les […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Criminalisation du VIH, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Rapports | Publication Topics: | Commentaires fermés

La réduction des méfaits au Canada – Actions immédiates requises des gouvernements

Le Canada a urgemment besoin de politiques complètes sur la réduction des méfaits et de se débarrasser du modèle raté et coûteux de la prohibition des drogues qui a ravagé tant de vies en catalysant la propagation du VIH et du virus de l’hépatite C (VHC), en stimulant un recours trop fréquent à l’incarcération et […]

Également publié dans Plaidoyer, Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Français, Feuillets d'information, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: | Commentaires fermés

La confidentialité et le dévoilement pour les jeunes vivant avec le VIH ou l’hépatite C : Questions et réponses

Ce guide s’adresse aux jeunes de 15 à 29 ans; il explique certains facteurs à considérer lorsque des jeunes vivant avec le VIH ou le virus de l’hépatite C (VHC) envisagent de révéler leur statut VIH ou VHC à d’autres personnes.

Également publié dans Livrets, Anglais, Français, Criminalisation du VIH, Our Work, Vie privée, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Questions-réponses | Publication Topics: , , | Commentaires fermés

La Criminalisation du VIH au Canada : tendances clés et particularités

Afin de contribuer à un dialogue public éclairé sur le sujet, ce bref rapport offre un instantané de particularités temporelles et démographiques de la criminalisation du VIH au Canada de 1989 à 2016. Il fournit également une mise à jour de l’information sur les conclusions des affaires criminelles relatives à la non-divulgation du VIH.

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Criminalisation du VIH, Feuillets d'information, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Rapports | Publication Topics: | Commentaires fermés

LA CRIMINALISATION DU VIH AU CANADA : Contexte actuel et plaidoyer

Un document de deux pages qui décrit brièvement le paysage juridique actuel concernant la criminalisation de la non-divulgation du VIH au Canada; les raisons pour lesquelles le recours actuel au droit criminel pose des problèmes; et ce que le Réseau juridique et ses partenaires font afin de contrer le recours excessif au droit criminel à […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Criminalisation du VIH, Feuillets d'information, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: | Commentaires fermés

Les communautés autochtones et la divulgation du VIH aux partenaires sexuels : Questions et réponses

Le droit criminel n’est pas un instrument efficace pour composer avec des enjeux complexes comme la divulgation ou les causes profondes du VIH dans les communautés autochtones – mais c’est la loi, au Canada. Il est donc important que vous soyez renseigné pour prendre des décisions éclairées concernant votre vie sexuelle. Cette brochure a été […]

Également publié dans Livrets, Anglais, Français, Criminalisation du VIH, Communautés autochtones, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Questions-réponses | Publication Topics: | Commentaires fermés

La Réglementation du cannabis et les traités de l’ONU sur les drogues: Stratégies de réforme

Alors que des législatures adoptent des réformes établissant l’accès légal au cannabis pour des fins autres qu’exclusivement « médicales et scientifiques », les tensions entourant les traités actuels des Nations Unies en matière de drogues et l’évolution des lois et pratiques des États membres continuent de s’intensifier. Comment les gouvernements et les systèmes onusiens pourraient-ils […]

Également publié dans Documents d'information, Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Français, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: | Commentaires fermés