Category Archives: Privacy

Submission to the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada Regarding its Draft Position on Online Reputation

This submission is made jointly by the HIV & AIDS Legal Clinic Ontario (HALCO) and the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network in response to the call for comments from the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada on its Draft Position on Online Reputation. The rapid proliferation of personal information online, driven by the monetization of […]

Also posted in Advocacy, Briefing Papers, Discrimination, English, Our Work, Reports | Comments closed

Reducing stigma and discrimination through the protection of privacy and confidentiality

This resource explains the important role of privacy and confidentiality in reducing stigma and discrimination related to STBBIs, and offers frontline health and social service providers several strategies they can use to deal with issues related to privacy, confidentiality, the criminalization of HIV non-disclosure and stigma reduction.

Also posted in Discrimination, English, French, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Q&A, Reports | Publication Topics: , , | Comments closed

Sex Offender Registries: Fact Sheet

This fact sheet discusses common questions regarding sex offender registries in Canada in the context of the criminal law and HIV non-disclosure. This is general legal information and not legal advice. If you want legal advice specific to your situation, you should talk to a lawyer.

Also posted in English, French, HIV Criminalization, Info Sheets, Our Work, Prisons, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: , | Comments closed

Know Your Rights: A Guide for Child and Family Service Providers Serving People Living with HIV

This guide was written for child and family service providers who provide support and assistance to people living with or affected by HIV.

Also posted in Booklets, English, French, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Q&A, Testing | Publication Topics: , | Comments closed

Know Your Rights: Guide for Parents Living with HIV

This resource was produced for parents or prospective parents living with HIV, including women, transgender men and non-binary people. Its aim is to provide practical information and to foster knowledge about some of the main areas of concern that parents living with or affected by HIV may have. Also available in Spanish and Swahili.

Also posted in Booklets, English, French, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Q&A, Women’s Rights | Publication Topics: , | Comments closed

Indigenous communities: HIV, privacy and confidentiality

Knowing your rights and responsibilities when it comes to HIV disclosure, privacy and confidentiality is an important way to protect your privacy. This guide provides answers to common questions on disclosure, privacy and confidentiality in the health care settings, workplaces, post-secondary institutions and other settings — places where many Indigenous people living with HIV have […]

Also posted in Booklets, English, French, Indigenous Communities, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: , | Comments closed

Privacy and Disclosure for Youth Living with HIV or Hep C: Questions and Answers

This guide is for youth between the ages of 15 and 29 and focuses on some of the factors at play when young people living with HIV or hepatitis C (Hep C) are thinking about telling others about their HIV or Hep C status.

Also posted in Booklets, English, Featured Publications, French, HIV Criminalization, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Q&A | Publication Topics: , , | Comments closed

Know Your Rights

This series of 8 brochures (now available in 7 languages, including Arabic, Chinese and Spanish) addresses the privacy rights and disclosure obligations of people living with HIV in a variety of day-to-day contexts.

Also posted in Discrimination, English, Featured Publications, French, Our Work, Testing, Uncategorized | Comments closed

Privacy and disclosure: questions and answers on HIV-related privacy and disclosure issues for women’s service providers

This document addresses some common HIV-related legal questions of agencies that provide services to women in Canada. The information will help service providers inform and refer the women with whom they work to appropriate legal information and support when necessary. It will also present them with guidance about their responsibilities with respect to HIV-related information. […]

Also posted in English, French, Publications, Q&A, Women’s Rights | Publication Topics: , , , | Comments closed

Archives de la catégorie : Vie privée

Le politique est personnel : Rapport annuel 2018-2019

Un résumé de nos travaux au Canada et dans le monde, entre le 1er avril 2018et le 31 mars 2019.

Également publié dans Accès aux médicaments, Rapport annuel, Discrimination, Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Français, Criminalisation du VIH, Home Feature, Immigration et séjour, Sécurité du revenu, Communautés autochtones, LGBTQ Rights, Our Work, Technologies de prévention, Prisons, Publications, La Russie et les droits, Travail du sexe, Test, Les Caraïbes, Droits des femmes | Mots-clefs : | Commentaires fermés

Réduire la stigmatisation et la discrimination par la protection de la vie privée et de la confidentialité

Cette ressource explique l’importance de protéger la vie privée et la confidentialité pour réduire la stigmatisation et la discrimination liées aux ITSS et propose aux dispensateurs de services sociaux et de santé de première ligne plusieurs stratégies qu’ils peuvent utiliser pour composer avec les enjeux liés à la vie privée, à la confidentialité, à la […]

Également publié dans Discrimination, Anglais, Français, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Questions-réponses, Rapports | Publication Topics: , , | Commentaires fermés

Les registres des délinquants sexuels : feuillet d’information

Ce feuillet d’information répond à des questions courantes concernant les registres des délinquants sexuels dans le contexte du droit criminel et de la non-divulgation du VIH au Canada. Il offre des informations juridiques générales, et non un avis juridique. Si vous avez besoin d’un avis juridique spécifique à votre situation, veuillez consulter un avocat.

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Criminalisation du VIH, Feuillets d'information, Our Work, Prisons, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: , | Commentaires fermés

Connaître ses droits : Un guide pour les fournisseurs de services à l’enfance et à la famille qui servent des personnes vivant avec le VIH

Ce guide est écrit pour les fournisseurs de services à l’enfance et à la famille qui offrent du soutien et de l’assistance à des personnes vivant avec le VIH/sida ou affectées par celui-ci.

Également publié dans Livrets, Anglais, Français, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Questions-réponses, Test | Publication Topics: , | Commentaires fermés

Connaître ses droits: Guide pour les parents vivant avec le VIH

Cette ressource s’adresse aux parents ou futurs parents vivant avec le VIH, y compris les femmes, les hommes transgenres et les personnes non binaires quant au genre. Elle vise à fournir des informations pratiques et à promouvoir les connaissances sur certaines préoccupations clés que peuvent avoir les parents vivant avec le VIH ou affectés par […]

Également publié dans Livrets, Anglais, Français, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Questions-réponses, Droits des femmes | Publication Topics: , | Commentaires fermés

Communautés autochtones : VIH, vie privée et confidentialité

Connaître vos droits et vos responsabilités concernant le dévoilement du VIH, la vie privée et la confidentialité est une importante façon de protéger votre vie privée. Ce guide offre des réponses à des questions courantes sur le dévoilement, la vie privée et la confidentialité dans le système de soins de santé, le milieu de travail, […]

Également publié dans Livrets, Anglais, Français, Communautés autochtones, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: , | Commentaires fermés

La confidentialité et le dévoilement pour les jeunes vivant avec le VIH ou l’hépatite C : Questions et réponses

Ce guide s’adresse aux jeunes de 15 à 29 ans; il explique certains facteurs à considérer lorsque des jeunes vivant avec le VIH ou le virus de l’hépatite C (VHC) envisagent de révéler leur statut VIH ou VHC à d’autres personnes.

Également publié dans Livrets, Anglais, Featured Publications, Français, Criminalisation du VIH, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Questions-réponses | Publication Topics: , , | Commentaires fermés

Connaître ses droits

Cette série de brochures (disponible en 7 langues, y compris l’arabe, le chinois et l’espagnol) traite des droits en matière de vie privée et de confidentialité ainsi que des obligations de dévoilement, dans divers contextes du quotidien, pour les personnes qui vivent avec le VIH.

Également publié dans Discrimination, Anglais, Featured Publications, Français, Our Work, Test, Uncategorized | Commentaires fermés

La confidentialité et la divulgation : questions et réponses en lien avec le VIH et les questions de divulgation, à l’intention des fournisseurs de services aux femmes

Le présent document aborde certaines questions juridiques qui sont courantes, en lien avec le VIH, pour les organismes de services aux femmes, au Canada. Il aidera les intervenants dans leur travail pour fournir des services aux femmes et les référer à  des réponses et, au besoin, à  du soutien. Il clarifie aussi les responsabilités des […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications, Questions-réponses, Droits des femmes | Publication Topics: , , , | Commentaires fermés