Category Archives: Q&A

See an overdose? Call 911 immediately

With Canada’s fatal overdose crisis still surging, the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network, in collaboration with the Waterloo Region Crime Prevention Council, issued 50,000 wallet-size cards with vital information about the 2017 Good Samaritan Drug Overdose Act. The cards and an accompanying fact sheet will be provided to people who use drugs, service providers and volunteer […]

Also posted in Advocacy, Drug policy, English, Featured Publications, French, Info Sheets, Publications | Publication Topics: | Comments closed

Reducing stigma and discrimination through the protection of privacy and confidentiality

This resource explains the important role of privacy and confidentiality in reducing stigma and discrimination related to STBBIs, and offers frontline health and social service providers several strategies they can use to deal with issues related to privacy, confidentiality, the criminalization of HIV non-disclosure and stigma reduction.

Also posted in Discrimination, English, French, Our Work, Privacy, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Reports | Publication Topics: , , | Comments closed

Harm Reduction Services for Indigenous People Who Use Drugs: Questions and Answers

In Canada, Indigenous people experience higher rates of injection drug use and less access to health care than non-Indigenous people. For many Indigenous people, drug use offers a means of coping with traumatic life circumstances, including those related to their experiences with the residential school and child welfare systems in Canada, legacies of colonialism and […]

Also posted in Booklets, Drug policy, English, French, Indigenous Communities, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: , | Comments closed

Know Your Rights: A Guide for Child and Family Service Providers Serving People Living with HIV

This guide was written for child and family service providers who provide support and assistance to people living with or affected by HIV.

Also posted in Booklets, English, French, Our Work, Privacy, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Testing | Publication Topics: , | Comments closed

Know Your Rights: Guide for Parents Living with HIV

This resource was produced for parents or prospective parents living with HIV, including women, transgender men and non-binary people. Its aim is to provide practical information and to foster knowledge about some of the main areas of concern that parents living with or affected by HIV may have. Also available in Spanish and Swahili.

Also posted in Booklets, English, French, Our Work, Privacy, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Women’s Rights | Publication Topics: , | Comments closed

Privacy and Disclosure for Youth Living with HIV or Hep C: Questions and Answers

This guide is for youth between the ages of 15 and 29 and focuses on some of the factors at play when young people living with HIV or hepatitis C (Hep C) are thinking about telling others about their HIV or Hep C status.

Also posted in Booklets, English, Featured Publications, French, HIV Criminalization, Our Work, Privacy, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: , , | Comments closed

An Injection of Reason: Critical Analysis of the Respect for Communities Act (Q&A)

The Respect for Communities Act undermines the rights of people who use drugs to access life-saving and health-protecting services. Read more about supervised consumption services in Canada and internationally, and their positive impact on individuals and communities. Related Publications Respect for Communities Act: The Case for Repeal

Also posted in Drug policy, English, French, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: | Comments closed

Indigenous Communities and HIV Disclosure to Sexual Partners: Questions and Answers

While the criminal law is a blunt instrument to deal with complex issues such as disclosure or the root causes for HIV in Indigenous communities, it is the law in Canada, and it is important for you to know about it so you can make informed decisions about your sexual life. This brochure has been […]

Also posted in Booklets, English, Featured Publications, French, HIV Criminalization, Indigenous Communities, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: | Comments closed

Women living with HIV and intimate partner violence: Questions & Answers

This guide is for women, including trans women, who are living with HIV and who experience or are at risk of experiencing violence from their intimate partner. Intimate partner violence can be physical, emotional, psychological or sexual abuse from someone with whom you have or had an intimate relationship. Abuse by an intimate partner is not […]

Also posted in English, French, HIV Criminalization, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Women’s Rights | Publication Topics: | Comments closed

Constitutional challenge to Jamaica’s anti-sodomy law: Questions & Answers

Jamaican human rights activist Maurice Tomlinson has filed a claim in the Jamaican Supreme Court of Judicature, challenging the country’s laws criminalizing “buggery” and other consensual sex between men as violating numerous rights guaranteed in Jamaica’s constitution. This backgrounder answers some key questions related to this constitutional challenge. Related news release: Jamaican Gay Activist Launches Constitutional […]

Also posted in English, French, LGBTI Rights, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: | Comments closed

Archives de la catégorie : Questions-réponses — Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network

Archives de la catégorie : Questions-réponses

Action internationale contestant les lois barbadiennes qui criminalisent les personnes LGBTQ : questions et réponses

Trois personnes de la Barbade – une femme trans, une femme lesbienne et un homme gai – ont déposé une requête à la Commission interaméricaine des droits de l’homme pour contester des lois de la Barbade qui criminalisent la « sodomie » [c.-à-d. la pénétration anale – désignée par le terme buggery en anglais dans […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, LGBTQI Rights, Our Work, Les Caraïbes | Commentaires fermés

Témoin d’une surdose? Appelez le 911 immédiatement

Alors que la crise de surdoses mortelles continue de battre son plein, au Canada, le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida en collaboration avec le Waterloo Region Crime Prevention Council a imprimé 50 000 cartes de format portefeuille offrant de l’information cruciale au sujet de la Loi sur les bons samaritains secourant les victimes de surdose de […]

Également publié dans Plaidoyer, Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Featured Publications, Français, Feuillets d'information, Publications | Publication Topics: | Commentaires fermés

Réduire la stigmatisation et la discrimination par la protection de la vie privée et de la confidentialité

Cette ressource explique l’importance de protéger la vie privée et la confidentialité pour réduire la stigmatisation et la discrimination liées aux ITSS et propose aux dispensateurs de services sociaux et de santé de première ligne plusieurs stratégies qu’ils peuvent utiliser pour composer avec les enjeux liés à la vie privée, à la confidentialité, à la […]

Également publié dans Discrimination, Anglais, Français, Our Work, Vie privée, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Rapports | Publication Topics: , , | Commentaires fermés

Services de réduction des méfaits pour les personnes autochtones qui consomment des drogues : questions et réponses

Au Canada, les taux d’injection de drogue parmi les personnes autochtones sont plus élevés et l’accès aux soins de santé est plus limité que chez les non-autochtones. Pour bon nombre d’Autochtones, la consommation de drogues est un moyen de composer avec des circonstances de vie traumatisantes, notamment des expériences liées aux systèmes de pensionnats et […]

Également publié dans Livrets, Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Français, Communautés autochtones, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: , | Commentaires fermés

Connaître ses droits : Un guide pour les fournisseurs de services à l’enfance et à la famille qui servent des personnes vivant avec le VIH

Ce guide est écrit pour les fournisseurs de services à l’enfance et à la famille qui offrent du soutien et de l’assistance à des personnes vivant avec le VIH/sida ou affectées par celui-ci.

Également publié dans Livrets, Anglais, Français, Our Work, Vie privée, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Test | Publication Topics: , | Commentaires fermés

Connaître ses droits: Guide pour les parents vivant avec le VIH

Cette ressource s’adresse aux parents ou futurs parents vivant avec le VIH, y compris les femmes, les hommes transgenres et les personnes non binaires quant au genre. Elle vise à fournir des informations pratiques et à promouvoir les connaissances sur certaines préoccupations clés que peuvent avoir les parents vivant avec le VIH ou affectés par […]

Également publié dans Livrets, Anglais, Français, Our Work, Vie privée, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Droits des femmes | Publication Topics: , | Commentaires fermés

La confidentialité et le dévoilement pour les jeunes vivant avec le VIH ou l’hépatite C : Questions et réponses

Ce guide s’adresse aux jeunes de 15 à 29 ans; il explique certains facteurs à considérer lorsque des jeunes vivant avec le VIH ou le virus de l’hépatite C (VHC) envisagent de révéler leur statut VIH ou VHC à d’autres personnes.

Également publié dans Livrets, Anglais, Featured Publications, Français, Criminalisation du VIH, Our Work, Vie privée, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: , , | Commentaires fermés

Une injection de raison – Analyse critique de la Loi sur le respect des collectivités (Q&R)

La Loi sur le respect des collectivités porte atteinte aux droits des personnes qui consomment des drogues d’avoir accès à des services qui sauvent des vies et qui protègent la santé. Lisez plus d’information à propos des services de consommation supervisée, au Canada et dans le monde, et sur leur effet positif pour les individus […]

Également publié dans Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Français, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: | Commentaires fermés

Les communautés autochtones et la divulgation du VIH aux partenaires sexuels : Questions et réponses

Le droit criminel n’est pas un instrument efficace pour composer avec des enjeux complexes comme la divulgation ou les causes profondes du VIH dans les communautés autochtones – mais c’est la loi, au Canada. Il est donc important que vous soyez renseigné pour prendre des décisions éclairées concernant votre vie sexuelle. Cette brochure a été […]

Également publié dans Livrets, Anglais, Featured Publications, Français, Criminalisation du VIH, Communautés autochtones, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: | Commentaires fermés

Femmes vivant avec le VIH et violence au sein d’une relation intime : Questions et réponses

Ce guide s’adresse aux femmes, y compris les femmes transgenres, qui vivent avec le VIH et qui subissent la violence d’un partenaire intime ou sont à risque d’en subir. La violence peut être d’ordre physique, émotionnel, psychologique ou sexuel. La violence d’un partenaire intime n’est pas seulement répréhensible, elle est également illégale. Aussi disponible en Espagnol et […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Criminalisation du VIH, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Droits des femmes | Publication Topics: | Commentaires fermés