Category Archives: HIV/AIDS Policy & Law Review

HIV/AIDS Policy and Law Review 12(2/3) December 2007

FEATURES Legislation contagion: the spread of problematic new HIV laws in Western Africa Drug treatment courts in Canada: an evidence-based review Use of soft law to address HIV/AIDS in Southeast Asia CANADIAN DEVELOPMENTS Supervised injection facility granted another temporary extension; legal action launched First test of WTO mechanism for procuring generic medicines under compulsory licence, […]

Also posted in English, French, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , , , | Comments closed

HIV/AIDS Policy and Law Review 12(1) May 2007

FEATURES Male circumcision and HIV prevention: a human rights and public health challenge Commentary: Engendering bold leadership against HIV/AIDS CANADIAN DEVELOPMENTS Subcommittee fails to recommend legal reforms needed to promote human rights of sex workers Conservative government ends funding for research on Insite Draft evaluation suggests pilot safer tattooing program had potential to reduce disease […]

Also posted in English, French, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , , | Comments closed

HIV/AIDS Policy and Law Review 11(2/3) December 2006

FEATURES Canada’s 2003 renewed drug strategy — an evidence-based review Will they deliver treatment access?: WTO rules and Canada’s law on generic medicine exports The CDC’s routine HIV testing recommendation: legally, not so routine CANADIAN DEVELOPMENTS Supervised injection facility granted time-limited extension Federal prison guards call for power to test prisoners for HIV Sex workers: […]

Also posted in English, French, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , , , , | Comments closed

HIV/AIDS Policy and Law Review 11(1) April 2006

FEATURE Scaling up HIV testing: human rights and hidden costs CANADIAN DEVELOPMENTS Health Canada authorizes access to experimental HIV drugs, but only after a long struggle Question period: how will Canada’s new minority government approach HIV/AIDS? HIV-positive woman suing police, man who allegedly infected her and his family Medical marijuana users continue to experience legal […]

Also posted in English, French, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , | Comments closed

HIV/AIDS Policy and Law Review 10(3) December 2005

FEATURES Injection drug use, HIV/AIDS and incarceration: evidence from the Vancouver Injection Drug Users Study Legal Network report calls for decriminalization of prostitution in Canada CANADIAN DEVELOPMENTS Report calls for changes to the law to improve safety, security and well-being of sex workers Toronto: Report calls for more harm reduction measures for drug users Saskatchewan […]

Also posted in English, French, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , | Comments closed

HIV/AIDS Policy and Law Review 10(2) August 2005

FEATURES The criminalization of HIV transmission in England and Wales: questions of law and policy CANADIAN DEVELOPMENTS HIV disclosure no longer required on application form for temporary resident visa Safer tattooing piloted in six federal prisons Ottawa: City Council approves distribution of crack kits Bill to export generic drugs comes into force Recommendations published concerning […]

Also posted in English, French, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , , , | Comments closed

HIV/AIDS Policy and Law Review 10(1) April 2005

FEATURES HIV/AIDS and human rights: we’ve only just begun A long way from there to here: human rights approaches to HIV/AIDS in a local setting Protection against discrimination based on HIV/AIDS status in Canada: the legal framework EDITORIAL AIDS, drugs, and terrorism: do I have your attention? CANADIAN DEVELOPMENTS Legal Network launches Plan of Action […]

Also posted in English, French, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , | Comments closed

HIV/AIDS Policy and Law Review 9(3) December 2004

FEATURES Still underground: searching for progress in realizing the human rights of women in prostitution Steps forward, backward, and sideways: Canada’s bill on exporting generic pharmaceuticals EDITORIAL High time to vastly scale up action on human rights CANADIAN NEWS Ontario: Police disclose HIV status of accused under Police Services Act BC: Campaign launched to protect […]

Also posted in English, French, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , , , , , | Comments closed

HIV/AIDS Policy and Law Review 9(2) August 2004

FEATURES Human rights and HIV/AIDS in the context of 3 by 5: time for new directions? Harm-reduction activism: a case study of an unsanctioned user-run safe injection site CANADIAN NEWS Canada announces new funding for domestic and global fight against AIDS Reports call for end to harms caused by Criminal Code prohibitions surrounding prostitution Nova […]

Also posted in English, French, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , | Comments closed

HIV/AIDS Policy and Law Review 9(1) April 2004

FEATURE HIV treatments, vaccines, and microbicides: toward coordinated advocacy CANADIAN NEWS Québec: An outbreak of HIV/AIDS-related stigma and discrimination Alberta: New bill will allow for mandatory HIV testing in emergency situations Media frenzy greets release of Newfoundland man from prison Health Canada makes marijuana available for medical use AIDS in the workplace: a program that’s […]

Also posted in English, French, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , | Comments closed

Archives de la catégorie : Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques

Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques 12(1) mai 2007

DOSSIER Circoncision et prévention du VIH : un défi de droits humains et de santé publique Commentaire : Susciter un solide leadership contre le VIH/sida DÉVELOPPEMENTS AU CANADA Un sous-comité échoue à recommander les réformes législatives nécessaires à la promotion des droits humains des travailleuses et travailleurs sexuels Le gouvernement conservateur abolit le financement de […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , , | Commentaires fermés

Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques 11(2/3) décembre 2006

DOSSIERS La Stratégie canadienne antidrogue renouvelée en 2003 – Examen basé sur les données Propices à l’accès aux traitements? Les règles de l’OMC et la loi canadienne sur l’exportation de médicaments génériques Les recommandations des CDC sur le test de routine pour le VIH : légalement, pas si routinières DÉVELOPPEMENTS AU CANADA Le LSI de […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , , , , | Commentaires fermés

Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques 11(1) avril 2006

DOSSIER Expansion du test du VIH : les droits humains et les coûts cachés DÉVELOPPEMENTS AU CANADA Santé Canada autorise l’accès à des médicaments expérimentaux, au terme d’une longue lutte Période de questions : comment le nouveau gouvernement minoritaire du Canada abordera-t-il le VIH/sida? Une femme poursuit en justice l’homme qui lui aurait transmis le […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , | Commentaires fermés

Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques 10(3) décembre 2005

DOSSIERS Injection de drogue, VIH/sida et incarcération : données de la Vancouver Injection Drug Users Study Un rapport du Réseau juridique exhorte à décriminaliser la prostitution au Canada DÉVELOPPEMENTS AU CANADA Un rapport prône des changements à la loi, pour améliorer la sécurité et le bien-être des travailleuses et travailleurs sexuels Toronto – Un rapport […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , | Commentaires fermés

Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques 10(2) août 2005

DOSSIER Criminalisation de la transmission du VIH en Angleterre et au Pays de Galles : questions juridiques et de politiques DÉVELOPPEMENTS AU CANADA Plus besoin de déclarer la séropositivité au VIH sur le formulaire de demande de visa Projets pilotes de tatouage sécuritaire dans six prisons fédérales Ottawa – Le conseil municipal approuve la distribution […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , , , | Commentaires fermés

Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques 10(1) avril 2005

DOSSIERS VIH/sida et droits humains : ce n’est qu’un début Bien loin, de là jusqu’ici : l’approche des droits humains au palier local devant le VIH/sida Protection contre la discrimination au motif de l’infection à VIH ou du sida : le cadre juridique au Canada ÉDITORIAL Sida, drogue et terrorisme — Ai-je capté votre attention? […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , | Commentaires fermés

Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques 9(3) décembre 2004

DOSSIERS Sortir de l’ombre : la quête de progrès dans la réalisation des droits humains des travailleuses sexuelles Des pas en avant, en arrière et de côté – La loi canadienne sur l’exportation de produits pharmaceutiques génériques ÉDITORIAL Grand temps d’amplifier considérablement l’action pour les droits humains NOUVELLES CANADIENNES Ontario – La police divulgue la […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , , , , , | Commentaires fermés

Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques 9(2) août 2004

DOSSIERS Droits humains et VIH/sida dans le cadre de l’Initiative 3 x 5 : de nouvelles orientations s’imposent-elles? Activisme pour la réduction des méfaits : étude de cas d’un lieu sécuritaire pour l’injection non autorisé, dirigé par des utilisateurs NOUVELLES CANADIENNES Le Canada annonce des fonds additionnels pour la lutte domestique et mondiale contre le […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , | Commentaires fermés

Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques 9(1) avril 2004

DOSSIER Microbicides, traitements et vaccins anti-VIH : vers un plaidoyer coordonné NOUVELLES CANADIENNES Québec – Torrent de stigmate et de discrimination liés au VIH/sida Alberta – Nouveau projet de loi pour autoriser le test obligatoire du VIH en situation d’urgence Frénésie médiatique devant la remise en liberté d’un Terre-neuvien Santé Canada rend de la marijuana […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , | Commentaires fermés

Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques 8(3) décembre 2003

DOSSIERS De Doha à Cancún … via Ottawa : les élans mondiaux pour l’accès aux traitements et le projet de loi canadien C-56 Adoption de la Déclaration de Varsovie sur le VIH/sida et l’injection de drogue NOUVELLES CANADIENNES Le premier lieu sécuritaire pour l’injection en Amérique s’ouvre à Vancouver Ontario — On peut à présent […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , | Commentaires fermés