Category Archives: HIV/AIDS Policy & Law Review

Adequately funding Canada’s federal HIV strategy

An open letter, sent on December 20, 2016 to Prime Minister Trudeau, Finance Minister Bill Morneau and then Health Minister Jane Philpott to draw attention to a serious, ongoing challenge to the HIV response in Canada. Over the last decade, there has been a very substantial loss of federal funds that were to have been […]

Also posted in Advocacy, English | Publication Topics: | Comments closed

HIV/AIDS Policy & Law Review 16 – May 2012

FEATURES – TREATMENT AS PREVENTION: ASSESSING THE HUMAN RIGHTS AND ETHICAL IMPLICATIONS Human rights in an era of treatment as prevention The ethical implications of “treatment as prevention” in the United States British Columbia’s “seek and treat” strategy: a cautionary tale on privacy rights and informed consent for HIV testing CANADIAN DEVELOPMENTS Federal government’s omnibus […]

Also posted in English, French, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , , | Comments closed

HIV/AIDS Policy & Law Review 15(3) October 2011

FEATURE Bedford v. Canada: a paradigmatic case toward ensuring the human and health rights of sex workers A tale of two cases: urging caution in the prosecution of HIV non-disclosure CANADIAN DEVELOPMENTS Senate stalling derails bill to fix Canada’s law on affordable generic medicines for developing countries Ontario: study documents access and quality of care […]

Also posted in English, French, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , , | Comments closed

HIV/AIDS Policy & Law Review 15(2) April 2011

FEATURE Legislative and policy analysis of HIV prevention, treatment and care for people who use drugs and incarcerated people in Central Asia and Azerbaijan CANADIAN DEVELOPMENTS Supervised injection sites in Quebec: one step closer to reality Correctional Investigator highlights pending adverse impacts of the government’s “tough on crime” agenda In brief Ottawa police changes policy […]

Also posted in English, French, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , , , | Comments closed

HIV/AIDS Policy & Law Review 15(1) October 2010

FEATURE Redoubling global efforts to support HIV/AIDS and human rights CANADIAN DEVELOPMENTS HIV prevalence in prison is 15 times greater than in the community as a whole New study puts forth HIV treatment as prevention Keeping a common bawdy house becomes a “serious offence” under Criminal Code Vaccine initiative money reallocated; emphasis placed on research […]

Also posted in English, French, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , | Comments closed

HIV/AIDS Policy & Law Review 14(3) June 2010

FEATURES Criminalizing HIV transmission or exposure: the context of francophone West and Central Africa MSM law in francophone Africa and the fight against AIDS: the hypocrisy of certain countries CANADIAN DEVELOPMENTS British Columbia project seeks to improve access to HIV treatment and care among hard-to-reach populations Multi-million dollar AIDS vaccine project cancelled Surveys in Quebec […]

Also posted in English, French, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , | Comments closed

HIV/AIDS Policy & Law Review 14(2) December 2009

FEATURE Clean switch: the case for prison needle and syringe programs CANADIAN DEVELOPMENTS Quebec’s funding cut endangers study on alternative treatment for people addicted to heroin Constitutionality of gay blood donor ban challenged in court In brief Report: Cancelled prison tattoo initiative had potential to reduce disease transmission Municipal support on Vancouver Island for access […]

Also posted in English, French, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , | Comments closed

HIV/AIDS Policy & Law Review 14(1) May 2009

FEATURE Criminalization confusion and concerns: the decade since the Cuerrier decision CANADIAN DEVELOPMENTS B.C. medical officers of health seek more supervised injection facilities Human rights complaint filed against Ontario College of Physicians and Surgeons over methadone program More money for Vancouver drug court, but future funding for all drug courts uncertain Survey reveals need to […]

Also posted in English, French, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , , | Comments closed

HIV/AIDS Policy & Law Review 13(2/3) December 2008

FEATURE Legislation contagion: building resistance CANADIAN DEVELOPMENTS Results of the first North American prescription heroin study are promising New excessive demand policy for immigration applicants British Columbia adopts E-Health Act (Most) political parties respond to questionnaire on AIDS issues during federal election Immigration and Refugee Protection Act amended In brief Federal Government announces new strategy […]

Also posted in English, French, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , , | Comments closed

HIV/AIDS Policy & Law Review 13(1) July 2008

FEATURES Delivery past due: global precedent set under Canada’s Access to Medicines Regime Developing guidance for HIV prosecutions: an example of harm reduction? Access to condoms in U.S. prisons CANADIAN DEVELOPMENTS Legislation imposing mandatory minimum sentences for drug offences passes second reading Manitoba legislation would authorize testing for HIV without informed consent Organ donation regulations […]

Also posted in English, French, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , , | Comments closed

Archives de la catégorie : Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques

Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques 16 – mai 2012

DOSSIERS Les droits de la personne à l’époque du traitement comme outil de prévention Les implications éthiques du « traitement comme outil de prévention » aux États-Unis La stratégie « chercher et traiter » de la Colombie-Britannique : un exemple qui incite à la prudence, concernant les droits à la vie privée et le consentement […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , , | Commentaires fermés

Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques 15(3) octobre 2011

DOSSIERS Bedford v. Canada : une affaire paradigmatique visant à garantir les droits humains des travailleuses et travailleurs sexuels et leur droit à la santé Parcours de deux affaires — Prudence requise dans les poursuites pour non-divulgation de la séropositivité au VIH DÉVELOPPEMENTS AU CANADA Un blocage au Sénat déraille un projet de loi pour […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , , | Commentaires fermés

Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques 15(2) avril 2011

DOSSIER Analyse des lois et politiques sur la prévention, le traitement et les soins en matière de VIH, pour les personnes qui font usage de drogue et les personnes incarcérées en Asie centrale et en Azerbaïdjan DÉVELOPPEMENTS AU CANADA Vers la mise en place de sites d’injection supervisée au Québec L’enquêteur correctionnel décrit les répercussions […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , , , | Commentaires fermés

Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques 15(1) octobre 2010

DOSSIER Redoubler d’efforts contre le sida et pour les droits humains DÉVELOPPEMENTS AU CANADA La prévalence du VIH en prison est 15 fois plus élevée que dans la communauté générale Une nouvelle étude prône le traitement anti-VIH comme méthode de prévention Tenir une maison de débauche devient une « infraction grave » en vertu du […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , | Commentaires fermés

Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques 14(3) juin 2010

DOSSIERS La pénalisation de l’exposition au VIH ou de sa transmission dans le contexte de l’Afrique de l’Ouest et Centrale francophone Droit des HRSH en Afrique francophone et lutte contre le sida : l’hypocrisie de certains États DÉVELOPPEMENTS AU CANADA Colombie-Britannique — Un projet vise à améliorer l’accès aux traitements et aux soins pour le […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , | Commentaires fermés

Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques 14(2) décembre 2009

DOSSIER Pour changer net : argumentaire en faveur de programmes d’échange de seringues en prison DÉVELOPPEMENTS AU CANADA Coupe financière au Québec : une recherche sur un traitement alternative pour héroïnomanes est compromise La constitutionnalité de l’exclusion des hommes gais donneurs de sang est contestée en cour En bref Un rapport révèle que l’initiative abandonnée […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , | Commentaires fermés

Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques 14(1) mai 2009

DOSSIER Confusion et inquiétudes liées à la criminalisation – Une décennie depuis l’arrêt Cuerrier DÉVELOPPEMENTS AU CANADA C.-B. – Les médecins-hygiénistes demandent d’autres lieux supervisés pour l’injection Plainte contre le Collège des médecins de l’Ontario pour les droits de la personne en lien avec la méthadone Nouvel octroi à Vancouver, mais incertitude financière en vue […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , , | Commentaires fermés

Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques 13(2/3) décembre 2008

DOSSIER Contagion législative : bâtir la résistance DÉVELOPPEMENTS AU CANADA Résultats prometteurs de la première étude nord-américaine sur la prescription d’héroïne Nouvelle politique relative au fardeau excessif, pour les demandes d’immigration La Colombie-Britannique adopte sa E-Health Act Élections fédérales – La plupart des partis politiques répondent à un questionnaire sur le sida Amendement à la […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , , | Commentaires fermés

Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques 13(1) juillet 2008

DOSSIERS Livraison tardive – Première mondiale par le Régime canadien d’accès aux médicaments Élaborer des lignes directrices sur les poursuites judiciaires liées au VIH : une forme de réduction des méfaits? L’accès aux condoms en prison aux États-Unis DÉVELOPPEMENTS AU CANADA Une loi prévoyant des peines minimales obligatoires pour des infractions liées à la drogue […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , , | Commentaires fermés

Revue VIH/sida, droit et politiques 12(2/3) décembre 2007

DOSSIERS Contagion législative : propagation de nouvelles lois problématiques sur le VIH en Afrique occidentale Les tribunaux de traitement de la toxicomanie au Canada – Examen basé sur les données Le recours au droit mou comme réponse au VIH/sida en Asie du Sud-Est DÉVELOPPEMENTS AU CANADA Le lieu sécuritaire pour l’injection reçoit une autre extension […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , , , | Commentaires fermés