Category Archives: Booklets

Harm Reduction Services for Indigenous People Who Use Drugs: Questions and Answers

In Canada, Indigenous people experience higher rates of injection drug use and less access to health care than non-Indigenous people. For many Indigenous people, drug use offers a means of coping with traumatic life circumstances, including those related to their experiences with the residential school and child welfare systems in Canada, legacies of colonialism and […]

Also posted in Drug policy, English, French, Indigenous Communities, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Q&A | Publication Topics: , | Comments closed

Know Your Rights: A Guide for Child and Family Service Providers Serving People Living with HIV

This guide was written for child and family service providers who provide support and assistance to people living with or affected by HIV.

Also posted in English, French, Our Work, Privacy, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Q&A, Testing | Publication Topics: , | Comments closed

Know Your Rights: Guide for Parents Living with HIV

This resource was produced for parents or prospective parents living with HIV, including women, transgender men and non-binary people. Its aim is to provide practical information and to foster knowledge about some of the main areas of concern that parents living with or affected by HIV may have. Also available in Spanish and Swahili.

Also posted in English, French, Our Work, Privacy, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Q&A, Women’s Rights | Publication Topics: , | Comments closed

Indigenous Communities and HIV and HCV in Federal Prisons: Questions and Answers

This ‘Question and Answer’ booklet is for prisoners who identify as First Nations, Inuit and Métis, and who are imprisoned in a federal prison or healing lodge run by the Correctional Service of Canada (CSC).

Also posted in English, French, Indigenous Communities, Our Work, Prisons, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: , | Comments closed

Indigenous communities: HIV, privacy and confidentiality

Knowing your rights and responsibilities when it comes to HIV disclosure, privacy and confidentiality is an important way to protect your privacy. This guide provides answers to common questions on disclosure, privacy and confidentiality in the health care settings, workplaces, post-secondary institutions and other settings — places where many Indigenous people living with HIV have […]

Also posted in English, French, Indigenous Communities, Our Work, Privacy, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: , | Comments closed

Privacy and Disclosure for Youth Living with HIV or Hep C: Questions and Answers

This guide is for youth between the ages of 15 and 29 and focuses on some of the factors at play when young people living with HIV or hepatitis C (Hep C) are thinking about telling others about their HIV or Hep C status.

Also posted in English, Featured Publications, French, HIV Criminalization, Our Work, Privacy, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Q&A | Publication Topics: , , | Comments closed

Indigenous Communities and HIV Disclosure to Sexual Partners: Questions and Answers

While the criminal law is a blunt instrument to deal with complex issues such as disclosure or the root causes for HIV in Indigenous communities, it is the law in Canada, and it is important for you to know about it so you can make informed decisions about your sexual life. This brochure has been […]

Also posted in English, Featured Publications, French, HIV Criminalization, Indigenous Communities, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Q&A | Publication Topics: | Comments closed

Consent: Community engagement discussion guide

This Discussion Guide was created for people who want to use the film Consent: HIV non-disclosure and sexual assault law to engage colleagues, clients, students and communities on the use of sexual assault law to criminalize HIV non-disclosure in Canada. It is meant to be used as a companion piece to the film. To watch Consent online, […]

Also posted in English, French, HIV Criminalization, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Women’s Rights | Publication Topics: , | Comments closed

Know Your Rights, Use Your Laws

This handbook was written by a team of legal experts and reviewed by community activists working for improving the human rights situation of people with HIV and key populations most at risk of HIV. It is intended for people with HIV, people who are at higher risk of HIV, as well as their partners and […]

Also posted in English, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Russia and Rights | Publication Topics: | Comments closed

Undue Force: An Overview of Provincial Legislation on Forced Testing for HIV

This booklet looks at existing provincial legislation in Ontario, Alberta, Nova Scotia, Saskatchewan and Manitoba allowing forced testing for blood-borne diseases such as HIV. We conclude with a commentary on why forced testing is unjustified and unnecessary, and what measures are really needed to deal with workplace exposure to HIV.

Also posted in English, French, Publications, Testing | Publication Topics: | Comments closed

Archives de la catégorie : Livrets

Services de réduction des méfaits pour les personnes autochtones qui consomment des drogues : questions et réponses

Au Canada, les taux d’injection de drogue parmi les personnes autochtones sont plus élevés et l’accès aux soins de santé est plus limité que chez les non-autochtones. Pour bon nombre d’Autochtones, la consommation de drogues est un moyen de composer avec des circonstances de vie traumatisantes, notamment des expériences liées aux systèmes de pensionnats et […]

Également publié dans Politiques sur les drogues, Anglais, Français, Communautés autochtones, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Questions-réponses | Publication Topics: , | Commentaires fermés

Connaître ses droits : Un guide pour les fournisseurs de services à l’enfance et à la famille qui servent des personnes vivant avec le VIH

Ce guide est écrit pour les fournisseurs de services à l’enfance et à la famille qui offrent du soutien et de l’assistance à des personnes vivant avec le VIH/sida ou affectées par celui-ci.

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Our Work, Vie privée, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Questions-réponses, Test | Publication Topics: , | Commentaires fermés

Connaître ses droits: Guide pour les parents vivant avec le VIH

Cette ressource s’adresse aux parents ou futurs parents vivant avec le VIH, y compris les femmes, les hommes transgenres et les personnes non binaires quant au genre. Elle vise à fournir des informations pratiques et à promouvoir les connaissances sur certaines préoccupations clés que peuvent avoir les parents vivant avec le VIH ou affectés par […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Our Work, Vie privée, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Questions-réponses, Droits des femmes | Publication Topics: , | Commentaires fermés

Les Communautés Autochtones, le VIH et le VHC dans les prisons fédérales : Questions et réponses

Ce livret de questions et réponses s’adresse aux détenus qui s’identifient comme appartenant aux communautés des Premières Nations ou comme Inuits et Métis, et qui sont incarcérés dans une prison fédérale ou un pavillon de ressourcement géré par le Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC).  

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Communautés autochtones, Our Work, Prisons, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: , | Commentaires fermés

Communautés autochtones : VIH, vie privée et confidentialité

Connaître vos droits et vos responsabilités concernant le dévoilement du VIH, la vie privée et la confidentialité est une importante façon de protéger votre vie privée. Ce guide offre des réponses à des questions courantes sur le dévoilement, la vie privée et la confidentialité dans le système de soins de santé, le milieu de travail, […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Communautés autochtones, Our Work, Vie privée, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications | Publication Topics: , | Commentaires fermés

La confidentialité et le dévoilement pour les jeunes vivant avec le VIH ou l’hépatite C : Questions et réponses

Ce guide s’adresse aux jeunes de 15 à 29 ans; il explique certains facteurs à considérer lorsque des jeunes vivant avec le VIH ou le virus de l’hépatite C (VHC) envisagent de révéler leur statut VIH ou VHC à d’autres personnes.

Également publié dans Anglais, Featured Publications, Français, Criminalisation du VIH, Our Work, Vie privée, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Questions-réponses | Publication Topics: , , | Commentaires fermés

Les communautés autochtones et la divulgation du VIH aux partenaires sexuels : Questions et réponses

Le droit criminel n’est pas un instrument efficace pour composer avec des enjeux complexes comme la divulgation ou les causes profondes du VIH dans les communautés autochtones – mais c’est la loi, au Canada. Il est donc important que vous soyez renseigné pour prendre des décisions éclairées concernant votre vie sexuelle. Cette brochure a été […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Featured Publications, Français, Criminalisation du VIH, Communautés autochtones, Our Work, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Questions-réponses | Publication Topics: | Commentaires fermés

Consentement: Guide de discussion communautaire

Ce guide a été créé pour les personnes qui veulent utiliser le film Consentement: La non-divulgation du VIH et la loi sur l’agression sexuelle pour stimuler des échanges avec leurs collègues, leurs clients, leurs étudiants et leurs communautés. Le guide est utile à l’organisation de projections du film Consentement. Regardez Consentement en ligne : www.consentfilm.org/fr.

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Criminalisation du VIH, Pub Document Type, Pub Language, Publications, Droits des femmes | Publication Topics: , | Commentaires fermés

Force excessive : survol de la législation provinciale sur le dépistage obligatoire du VIH

La présente brochure examine les textes de loi, en vigueur ou à l’étude en Ontario, en Alberta, en Nouvelle-Écosse, en Saskatchewan et au Manitoba, qui autorisent les tests obligatoires pour des maladies transmissibles par le sang comme le VIH. En conclusion, nous expliquons pourquoi le test obligatoire n’est ni justifié, ni nécessaire, et décrivons les […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications, Test | Publication Topics: | Commentaires fermés

Les droits humains et le VIH/sida : aujourd’hui plus que jamais

Lors de la Rencontre de haut niveau sur le VIH/sida, en 2006, les leaders mondiaux ont réaffirmé que « la réalisation pleine et universelle des droits de l’homme et des libertés fondamentales est un élément essentiel de l’action mondiale contre l’épidémie de VIH/sida ». Or, 25 ans après le début de l’épidémie du sida, cet […]

Également publié dans Anglais, Français, Publications | Publication Topics: , , , , , , , , | Commentaires fermés