Alison Symington

Alison joined the Legal Network staff in September 2007.

At the Legal Network, Alison’s research, advocacy and education work focuses primarily on HIV-related women’s rights issues, privacy and discrimination, HIV testing, and the criminalization of HIV non-disclosure. She is co-producer of the Legal Network documentaries, Positive Women: Exposing Injustice and Consent: HIV Non-Disclosure and Sexual Assault Law, and she has led the development of a comprehensive judicial handbook on HIV, human rights and the law. She has authored numerous publications, including book chapters, journal articles, community resources, and legislative guidance on women’s rights in the context of HIV.

Previously, she was Manager of Research with the Association for Women’s Rights in Development (AWID), working on issues of human rights accountability, and international trade and aid policy, in collaboration with international human rights and gender equality advocates.

She has also served as a consultant for Amnesty International’s global Stop Violence Against Women campaign and as an intern for the U.K.—based International Centre for the Legal Protection of Human Rights (INTERIGHTS).

Alison holds an Honours Bachelor of Arts degree in International Development Studies from the University of Guelph, an LL.B. from the University of Toronto and an LL.M. in International Legal Studies from New York University.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Alison Symington

Alison s’est jointe au personnel du Réseau juridique en 2007.

Au Réseau juridique, ses travaux de recherche, de plaidoyer et d’éducation portent principalement sur des enjeux concernant les droits des femmes, la vie privée et la discrimination, le test du VIH et la criminalisation de la non-divulgation de la séropositivité au VIH. Elle est coproductrice des films documentaires du Réseau juridique, Femmes et séropositives : dénonçons l’injustice et Consentement : la non-divulgation du VIH et la loi sur l’agression sexuelle; et elle a dirigé l’élaboration d’un manuel juridique complet sur le VIH, les droits de la personne et le droit. Elle est l’auteure de nombreuses publications, notamment des chapitres de livres, des articles de revues, des ressources communautaires et des orientations législatives sur les droits des femmes dans le contexte du VIH.

Son expérience antérieure inclut le poste de directrice de la recherche à l’Association pour les droits des femmes dans le développement (AWID); ce travail a porté sur la reddition de comptes en matière de droits humains, et sur le commerce international et les politiques d’aide, en collaboration avec des militants pour les droits humains et l’égalité des sexes, à l’échelle internationale.

Alison a également été consultante auprès d’Amnistie internationale, pour la campagne mondiale Mettre fin à la violence contre les femmes; et elle fut stagiaire à l’International Centre for the Legal Protection of Human Rights (INTERIGHTS), établi au Royaume-Uni.

Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en Arts spécialisé en études sur le développement international de l’Université de Guelph; d’un baccalauréat en droit (LL.B.) de l’Université de Toronto; et de maîtrises en droit (LL.M.) et en études légales internationales, de l’Université de New York.

Cet article a été publié dans Uncategorized. Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.