Andrew Beckerman

Andrew joined the Legal Network’s board of directors in 2014.

He is an HIV+ gay man who was infected in 1980. Trained as an architect at University of California Berkeley, his architectural career included numerous community-based design services, the last of which provided home modifications for people with physical challenges. He has designed and constructed homes since 1971, when he convinced a Berkeley savings and loan to give a near-penniless graduate student a mortgage.

Andrew served on the Board of Trustees for United Way of the Bay Area (UWBA) where he received a “Volunteer of the Year” award. He was one of the initiators of the removal of the Boy Scouts of America as a funded agency due to their discrimination towards gay men and youth, a clear violation of UWBA’s non-discrimination policy. He later moved to Santa Fe, New Mexico, where he served on the boards of both Big Brothers/Big Sisters and United Way of Santa Fe County (UWSF). In 2002, he received UWSF’s first “Humanitarian of the Year” award for his community service. He was a founding co-chair of the Santa Fe Community Foundation’s “Lesbian and Gay Funding Partnership” (now the “Envision Fund”).

Immigrating to Victoria, B.C. in 2005, he became a front-desk volunteer and public educator for AIDS Vancouver Island (AVI). Soon after, he joined AVI’s board of directors and has served as co-chair, chair and currently as “past” chair. He also serves as a board member of the Pacific Aids Network and volunteers for United way of Greater Victoria. His work at AVI, in conjunction with a shared client list at the Cool Aid Society, brings him in daily contact with fellow clients whose lives exist at the intersection of infection, mental and physical health challenges, drug and alcohol use, long-term or intermittent homelessness, early childhood emotional, physical or sexual abuse, and multiple layers of discrimination. It is through contact with his fellow clients and working with his colleagues that Andrew has received his brilliant Canadian education.

This entry was posted in Board Member. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Andrew Beckerman — Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network

Andrew Beckerman

Andrew s’est joint au conseil d’administration du Réseau juridique en 2014.

Homme gai séropositif, Andrew a contracté le VIH en 1980. Diplômé en architecture de l’Université de Californie à Berkeley, il a travaillé dans sa carrière architecturale à de nombreux designs communautaires – les plus récents étant des modifications à des résidences pour personnes ayant des handicaps physiques. Il a commencé à concevoir et à bâtir des maisons en 1971, après avoir convaincu une association d’épargne de Berkeley d’accorder une hypothèque à un étudiant des cycles supérieurs pratiquement sans le sou.

Andrew a siégé au conseil d’administration d’United Way of the Bay Area (UWBA), où il a reçu un prix de « Bénévole de l’année ». Il y a été l’un des instigateurs du retrait du financement à l’organisme Boy Scouts of America en raison de ses pratiques discriminatoires à l’égard des hommes gais et des jeunes – une infraction claire à la politique de non-discrimination d’UWBA. Il a ensuite déménagé à Santa Fe, Nouveau-Mexique, où il a siégé aux conseils d’administration de Big Brothers/Big Sisters et d’United Way of Santa Fe County (UWSF). En 2002, il s’est vu décerner le prix inaugural de l’action humanitaire d’UWSF pour son service communautaire. Il a été coprésident fondateur du Partenariat de financement pour les lesbiennes et les gais (devenu le « Envision Fund ») de la Santa Fe Community Foundation.

Déménagé à Victoria, Colombie-Britannique, en 2005, il est devenu bénévole à la réception et éducateur public pour AIDS Vancouver Island (AVI). Peu après, il s’est joint au conseil d’administration de l’organisme, dont il a été coprésident et président, et auquel il siège à présent en tant qu’« ancien » président. Il est également membre du conseil d’administration du Pacific Aids Network et bénévole à United way of Greater Victoria. Son travail pour AVI, combiné à un bassin partagé de clients à la Cool Aid Society, le met en contact quotidien avec des pairs à l’intersection de l’infection, des défis de santé mentale et physique, de la consommation de drogue et d’alcool, de l’itinérance de longue durée ou intermittente, des abus émotionnels, physiques ou sexuels au cours de la petite enfance, et des multiples degrés de la discrimination. C’est dans l’interaction avec ses pairs clients et par la collaboration avec ses collègues qu’Andrew a reçu sa formidable éducation canadienne.

Cet article a été publié dans Board Member. Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.