Taking stock, taking action

5th Symposium and 2013 AGM

LN_symp_en-sm_002

5th Symposium on HIV, Law and Human Rights and 2013 Annual General Meeting

Thursday, June 13 – Friday, June 14, 2013, Toronto


Agenda

Download agenda for printing

N.B.: All events except “A conversation with Frank Mugisha” will take place at:

Courtyard by Marriott Hotel
475 Yonge St. (between Wood St. and Alexander St.), Toronto


Thursday, June 13, 2013

  • 12:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.
    Annual General Meeting of the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network
  • 2:30 – 4:30 p.m.
    WORKSHOP | Judged wanting: next steps after the Supreme Court rulings on HIV criminalization

In February 2012, two cases about HIV non-disclosure represented a unique opportunity for the Supreme Court of Canada to clarify and limit the criminal law based on the latest scientific evidence about the risks of HIV transmission. Seven AIDS organizations, led by the Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network, jointly intervened in the hope that the court would make the right decision. Instead, in October 2012, the SCC took a major step backwards and made the law even harsher for people living with HIV. In this session, people living with HIV, service providers, lawyers and other community members will discuss strategies and actions for limiting the negative impact of the rulings and, in the longer term, achieving much-needed legal change.

Speakers:

    • Jolene Donatelli — Canadian Treatment Action Council
    • Evelyne Fleury — Quebec Ministry of Health and Social Services
    • Tim McCaskell — AIDS Action Now!
    • Cécile Kazatchkine — Ontario Working Group on Criminal Law & HIV Exposure, Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network
    • Alison Symington — Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network
    • Eric Mykhalovskiy — York University
  • 7:00 – 8:30 p.m.
    A conversation with Frank Mugisha, led by veteran CBC journalist Ron Charles

Note that this event will take place at the Bram and Bluma Appel Salon — Toronto Reference Library, 789 Yonge St. For details, see below.

Friday, June 14, 2013

  • 9:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.
    WORKSHOP | “Cleanse themselves of undesirables”: municipal bylaws and marginalized communities

This panel will consider the impact of various municipal bylaws on the human rights of people who use drugs and sex workers, including their impact on access to harm reduction and other health services. Speakers from British Columbia, New Brunswick and Ontario will discuss the rationales underlying these bylaws, their serious ramifications, and steps that can or are being taken to protect health and human rights.

Speakers:

    • Raffi Balian — Toronto Drug Users’ Union
    • Scott Bernstein — Pivot Legal Society
    • Walter Cavalieri — Canadian Harm Reduction Network
    • Julie Dingwell — AIDS Saint John
    • Barbara Hall — Ontario Human Rights Commission (TBC)
    • Jim Watkin — London Harm Reduction Coalition
  • 11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
    WORKSHOP | Freedom is a work in progress: LGBT rights in Canada and abroad

The past year saw important developments in the ongoing struggle for basic equality and freedom for lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans (LGBT) people, both in Canada and internationally. Important global reports called attention to the ongoing criminalization and abuse of LGBT people around the world, which obstruct their right to the highest attainable standard of health and seriously undermine an effective response to HIV. Meanwhile, activists in Uganda and the Caribbean continue to fight horrific laws in the legislatures and the courts. In Canada, Ontario explicitly prohibited discrimination based on gender identity or expression, and at the federal level, a similar bill passed the House of Commons by a narrow margin (though it must still pass the Senate). A dynamic panel of international and Canadian LGBT rights activists will explore how bad laws and policies endanger the LGBT community and increase vulnerability to HIV — and what kind of community organizing is needed.

Speakers:

    • Susan Gapka — Trans Lobby Group
    • Betty Iglesias — Action Santé Travesties et Transsexuelles du Québec
    • Frank Mugisha — Sexual Minorities Uganda (SMUG)
    • Maurice Tomlinson — AIDS Free World
  • 12:30 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.
    Lunch
  • 1:30 – 3:00 p.m.
    WORKSHOP | Bedford and beyond: sex, work, rights and the criminal law

On the day of this year’s Symposium, the Supreme Court of Canada will hear arguments in the Bedford case, in which sex workers and their allies are challenging Canada’s prostitution laws as unconstitutional for the harm they do to sex workers’ health and safety. Panelists, including Canadian and international sex workers’ rights activists, will discuss the case and related advocacy strategies, including the pros and cons of litigation. Panelists will also consider the ongoing, critical advocacy work ahead — beyond decriminalization — to ensure that other laws and policies respect, protect and fulfill the human rights of sex workers.

Speakers:

    • Catherine Healy — New Zealand Prostitutes’ Collective
    • Sandra Ka Hon Chu — Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network
    • “Jane Doe” — feminist coalition in support of sex work
    • Cynthia Petersen — counsel for the POWER/Maggie’s/Stella (PMS) coalition
    • Tara Santini — Stella Montréal and PMS coalition
    • Keisha Scott — Maggie’s

Back to top


Keynote Event: A conversation with Frank Mugisha

  • Thursday, June 13, 2013 — 7:00 – 8:30 p.m.
    Bram and Bluma Appel Salon — Toronto Reference Library
    789 Yonge St. (north of Bloor St.)

Join us for a conversation with Frank Mugisha, one of Uganda’s leading activists in the struggle for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) rights. While the insidious “Kill the Gays” bill continues to be debated in Uganda’s parliament, and hateful groups seek to publicly “out” members of LGBT communities, Frank’s group, Sexual Minorities Uganda (SMUG), is a powerful voice of hope at a critical and dangerous time for the basic human rights of LGBT people in his native country.

Back to top


Video

This entry was posted in English, Events, French. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Faire le point et agir

5e Symposium et A.g.a. 2013

LN_symp_en-sm_002

5e Symposium sur le VIH, le droit et les droits de la personne et Assemblée générale annuelle 2013

Jeudi 13 juin – vendredi 14 juin 2013


Ordre du jour

Télécharger l’order du jour (pour imprimer)

Tous les événements sauf « Un entretien avec Frank Mugisha » auront lieu à :
Hôtel Courtyard by Marriott
475, rue Yonge (entre les rues Wood et Alexander), Toronto

Jeudi 13 juin 2013

  • 12 h 00 – 14 h 00
    Assemblée générale annuelle du Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida 
  • 14 h 30 – 16 h 30
    ATELIER | Jugé inadéquat : après les arrêts de la Cour suprême sur la criminalisation du VIH, les mesures envisagées
    En février 2012, deux affaires concernant la non-divulgation de la séropositivité au VIH offraient à la Cour suprême du Canada une occasion unique de clarifier et de limiter le droit criminel en tenant compte des plus récentes données scientifiques sur les risques de transmission du VIH. Sept organismes de lutte contre le sida, dirigés par le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida, sont intervenus conjointement dans l’espoir que la cour prenne la bonne décision. Toutefois, en octobre 2012, la CSC a marqué un énorme recul en rendant la loi encore plus sévère à l’égard des personnes vivant avec le VIH. Lors de cette séance, des personnes vivant avec le VIH, des fournisseurs de services, des avocats et d’autres membres de la communauté discuteront de stratégies et d’actions pour limiter l’impact néfaste de ces arrêts et pour réaliser à plus long terme le changement juridique longuement attendu.

Conférencier(ère)s:

    • Tim McCaskell — AIDS Action Now!
    • Jolene Donatelli — Conseil canadien de surveillance et d’accès aux traitements
    • Evelyne Fleury — Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec
    • Cécile Kazatchkine — Groupe de travail ontarien sur le droit pénal et l’exposition au VIH, Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida
    • Alison Symington — Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida
    • Eric Mykhalovskiy — York University

 

  • 19 h 00 – 20 h 30
    Un entretien avec Frank Mugisha
    À noter: cet événement aura lieu au Salon Bram and Bluma Appel — Toronto Reference Library, 789 rue Yonge (au nord de la rue Bloor). Voir détails ci-dessous.

Vendredi 14 juin 2013

  • 9 h 00 – 10 h 30
    ATELIER | « Se défaire des indésirables »: les règlements municipaux et les communautés marginalisées
    Ce panel examinera l’impact de divers règlements municipaux sur les droits humains des personnes qui utilisent des drogues et des travailleuses et travailleurs sexuels, et en particulier sur l’accès à la réduction des méfaits et à d’autres services de santé. Des conférencier(ère)s de la Colombie-Britannique, du Nouveau-Brunswick et de l’Ontario discuteront des bases de ces règlements, de leurs ramifications sérieuses et des mesures qui peuvent être prises, ou qui le sont déjà, pour protéger la santé et les droits des individus concernés.

Conférencier(ère)s:

    • Raffi Balian — Toronto Drug Users’ Union
    • Scott Bernstein — Pivot Legal Society
    • Walter Cavalieri — Canadian Harm Reduction Network
    • Julie Dingwell— AIDS Saint John
    • Barbara Hall — Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne
    • Jim Watkin — London Harm Reduction Coalition

 

  • 11 h 00 – 12 h 30
    ATELIER | La liberté, une quête continue: les droits des LGBT au Canada et ailleurs
    Au cours de la dernière année, des développements majeurs sont survenus dans la lutte continue pour l’égalité et la liberté des personnes lesbiennes, gaies, bisexuelles et trans (LGBT), au Canada et à l’échelle internationale. D’importants rapports mondiaux ont attiré l’attention sur la criminalisation et les abus persistants à l’endroit de personnes LGBT, dans le monde, qui violent leur droit au meilleur état de santé susceptible d’être atteint et nuisent gravement à une riposte efficace au VIH. Entre-temps, en Ouganda et dans la Caraïbe, des activistes continuent de contester des lois horribles devant des législatures et des tribunaux. Au Canada, l’Ontario a explicitement interdit la discrimination fondée sur l’identité ou l’expression de genre; au palier fédéral, un projet de loi similaire a été adopté par une mince majorité de la Chambre des communes (mais il devra être adopté au Sénat). Un panel dynamique de militants canadiens et internationaux pour les droits des personnes LGBT examinera comment des lois et des politiques malavisées menacent la communauté LGBT et accroissent la vulnérabilité au VIH — et quel type d’organisation de la communauté est requis.

Conférencier(ère)s:

    • Susan Gapka  — Trans Lobby Group
    • Betty Iglesias — Action Santé Travesties et Transsexuelles du Québec
    • Frank Mugisha — Sexual Minorities Uganda (SMUG)
    • Maurice Tomlinson — AIDS Free World
  • 12 h 30 – 13 h 30
    DÎNER
  • 13 h 30 – 15 h 00
    ATELIER | Bedford et au-delà: sexe, travail, droits et droit criminel
    Le jour du Symposium de cette année, la Cour suprême du Canada entendra des plaidoiries dans l’affaire Bedford, intentée par des travailleuses sexuelles et leurs alliés qui contestent les lois du Canada sur la prostitution, les considérant comme inconstitutionnelles en raison des préjudices qu’elles occasionnent en matière de santé et de sécurité des travailleuses et travailleurs sexuels. Des panélistes, notamment des militantes canadiennes et internationales pour les droits des travailleuses et travailleurs sexuels, discuteront de l’affaire et de stratégies de plaidoyer connexes, y compris les avantages et les inconvénients du recours aux tribunaux. On abordera aussi les efforts cruciaux de plaidoyer à venir — au-delà de la décriminalisation — pour faire en sorte que d’autres lois et politiques respectent, protègent et réalisent les droits humains des travailleuses et travailleurs sexuels.

Conférencier(ère)s:

    • Sandra Ka Hon Chu — Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida
    • « Jane Doe » — coalition féministe au soutien du travail sexuel
    • Catherine Healy — New Zealand Prostitutes’ Collective
    • Cynthia Petersen — avocate pour la coalition POWER/Maggie’s/Stella (PMS)
    • Tara Santini — Stella Montréal et coalition PMS
    • Keisha Scott — Maggie’s

Haut de page


Événement spécial — Un entretien avec Frank Mugisha, animé par Ron Charles, journaliste vétéran à la CBC

  • Jeudi 13 juin 2013 — 19 h 00 – 20 h 30
    Salon Bram et Bluma Appel — Toronto Reference Library
    789, rue Yonge (au nord de la rue Bloor)
    Soyez des nôtres pour une conversation avec Frank Mugisha, l’un des principaux militants pour les droits des lesbiennes, des gais ainsi que des personnes bisexuelles et transgenres (LGBT) en Ouganda. Alors que l’insidieux projet de loi pour «Tuer les gais» est encore un sujet de débats du parlement ougandais, et que des groupes haineux cherchent à exposer des membres des communautés LGBT, l’organisme que Frank dirige, Sexual Minorities Uganda (SMUG), est une forte voix d’espoir, en ces temps critiques et dangereux pour les droits humains fondamentaux des gais, des lesbiennes et des personnes bisexuelles et transgenres, dans son pays.

Haut de page


Vidéo

Cet article a été publié dans Anglais, Participez à un événement, Français. Bookmarker le permalien. Les commentaires et les trackbacks sont fermés.